Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Best lighting for at home and location shoots
Old 01-16-2006, 09:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 49522
Comments: 0

Wylde is offline IP: 24.213.69.229

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Hi gang, newbie here and just diggin my heels in [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
I recently purchased a Canon RebelXT, Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L, Canon 589ex flash. I do my own glamour/pinup photoshoots and recently upgraded to the Canon rig I have now. I also have a older Vivitar 283 and slave unit.
My question is regarding lighting. It would seem thats my weakest link right now and I've been leaning towards constant lighting as apposed to flash/strobes, though the Alien Bee stuff I hear is great.
The light rig I've been eyeing is by Photoflex and consists of 2-1000 watt soft box rigs.
Is this a good choice ?, is it portable ? ( since I do some location shoots )
I thought I'd start this route and later if I switch to strobes its not a total waste and still can be used easily ( I would think anyways )
Luv to hear your comments
Wylde
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Wylde Find More Posts by Wylde

Re: Best lighting for at home and location shoots
Old 01-16-2006, 09:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 35872
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 67.174.71.224

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Well the Photoflex Starlites are not very portable. They are fairly large and are very hot. They are also quite expensive. You can buy two Alien Bee heads for the price of one of the Starlites. There is a cheaper way to go on the Photoflex like lights with something like: