Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Another silly laptop question for the geeks
Old 01-08-2006, 03:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

Member GG#: 35977
Comments: 0

Andy_Pearlman is offline IP: 72.25.123.52

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

OK, so I still haven't solved the other question (I'll be calling Sony on that one I guess), but here's something I know they're going to tell me isn't their problem. I've never used wireless before (my home systems are hard-wire networked and I'm fine with that, I only plan on using wireless on the road). Obviously, not having a wireless network at home, and not having a laptop until now, I've had no need to learn about wireless, so I took my laptop to a friend's house in Las Vegas for a little test drive. He has an Airlink wireless router (attached at the end of a couple other routers - he has a lot of computers in his house) and his assistant uses it all the time. They said all they did was plug it in, turned on the laptop (a MAC ibook I think) and it found the signal and worked from the get-go. My experience was not so good.

First, I couldn't find the physical "switch" to turn on the wireless device, then I did an it almost immediately sensed the network, and said my signal strength was excellent (5 out of 5 bars), but no matter what we tried, I could not get any browser or email client to actually work with it, I kept getting an error message saying (I wish I'd written this down) something about the DNS not being recognized. I ran a repair utility, I turned off firewalls, and security and everything. We even tried plugging the ethernet cable that was feeding the Airlink, directly into my laptop, which did work fine.