Photo Tips Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Hey, \'puter gurus, a question
Old 03-24-2003, 02:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35218
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 716
Comments: 0

Doug_Lester is offline IP: 66.245.9.120
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I've recently been burning more CDs of images and am having one heluva problem. Using a Mac, OS 9.1 and Toast Titanium, I've just gone through 6 CDs before I finally got one to work. Is it the nature of the beast, is it the software
(I thought Toast Titanium was among the best) or is it poor quality control in Cd manufacture? I've experienced the problem for quite a while, but am growing more and morefrustrated as I try to burn more CDs. I've tried a variety of CD brands and began with Toast then went to Toast Titanium. No improvement.

What hapens is that it goes through the copying process, then freezes my 'puter causing me to reboot. The CD ends up titled "packet disk", which is unreadable. Any suggestions? No, I'm not gonna go PC!

My frustrated place!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Doug_Lester Visit Doug_Lester's homepage! Find More Posts by Doug_Lester
 
That ain\'t normal.
Old 03-24-2003, 08:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
**DONOTDELETE**
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 165.95.207.169
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Sounds like a memory problem to me. If you don't have adequate ram and/or available virtual memory, your system will crash when doing any memory intensive work.

Since burning CD's can get tot be memory intensive, that is the most likely cause I can think of, although conflicts can also cause crashes.
 
 
Re: That ain\'t normal.
Old 03-24-2003, 12:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35254
Posts: 29
Comments: 0

delane_rouse is offline IP: 208.59.91.45
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I usaed Toast Ti with OS 9.1, 9.2, and now OSX, never made more than a few "coasters", i.e. bad disc. We'll need more info re: your setup (memory, processor, etc) before we can really help. Also...I've exclusively used Memorex CD-R media...and never had an issue that I can attribute to the media...as Memorex has really good quality control...

So...more info?

delane
  View Public Profile Send a private message to delane_rouse Visit delane_rouse's homepage! Find More Posts by delane_rouse
 
Thanks guys ....
Old 03-24-2003, 01:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35218
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 716
Comments: 0

Doug_Lester is offline IP: 216.175.65.178
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I'm using OS 9.1 with better than 20 gigs of free space and 384 megs of RAM. That should be plenty of memory? I've tried it with virtual memory both on and off with very little difference. The CD burner is internal and I assume it's an Apple product, which I'm beginning to suspect is defective.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Doug_Lester Visit Doug_Lester's homepage! Find More Posts by Doug_Lester
 
May have a software conflict.
Old 03-24-2003, 05:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
**DONOTDELETE**
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 165.95.207.169
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Since it is an internal drive, Apple has software in there to burn with, so you will need to determine if there's any conflict between the two applications.

Any particular reason you are still using OS 9? Jaguar is so good, it really is worth the upgrade. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
 
 
Re: Hey, \'puter gurus, a question
Old 03-24-2003, 05:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35679
Location: Escondido
Posts: 851
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to Soujrnr Send a message via Yahoo to Soujrnr

Soujrnr is offline IP: 64.223.224.82
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hi Doug,

I had similar problems and what I ended up doing was slowing down the write speed. My burner is a 24-10-40. I slowed the write down to 4x and I haven't had any trouble since. Just a thought.

Good day!

Mike
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Soujrnr Visit Soujrnr's homepage! Find More Posts by Soujrnr
 
Re: Hey, \'puter gurus, a question
Old 03-24-2003, 08:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35204
Location: Freehold
Posts: 59
Comments: 0

dksun is offline IP: 67.84.118.191
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Couple of suggestions in no particular order:
- Increase the cache size in Toast. (Try the "generous" setting.)
- Try a different brand of blanks. (Certain combinations of drives/blanks may work better together.)
- Defrag your hard drive. (If your source files are fragmented, your drive may not be able to pull data off quick enough for the selected burn speed.)
- Boot up with the minimum number of extentions needed for Toast to work and see if that helps. (You may have a conflict somewhere.)
- Try burning at a slower speed. (Mentioned already.)

Also, are you running any other programs while you are burning? Anything that may access your drive could cause a break in the flow of data to the burner (buffer underrun).

  View Public Profile Send a private message to dksun Visit dksun's homepage! Find More Posts by dksun
 
Problem solved thanks to Dennis
Old 03-24-2003, 09:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35218
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 716
Comments: 0

Doug_Lester is offline IP: 66.32.70.2
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Sometimes the grey cells just don't work right. As soon as I read DKs suggestion about cache size, I slapped myself on the forhead. That was, of course the problem. Why it never occured to me is best described by the technical term brain fart.

Anyway. thanks to all for the help and here's your reward!
Distinctive Images
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Doug_Lester Visit Doug_Lester's homepage! Find More Posts by Doug_Lester
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question For The Computer Gurus PhotoDave1 Tech Talk Forum 4 07-30-2007 08:43 PM
Another Question For The Photo Shoot Gurus PhotoDave1 Tech Talk Forum 3 07-14-2006 01:39 AM
A question For The PhotoShop Guru's PhotoDave1 Tech Talk Forum 4 07-04-2006 01:46 AM
question for you Nikon Guru's.... AGellert Tech Talk Forum 5 01-11-2006 01:14 AM
Answer to question on sensor size vs crop factor Brad Tech Talk Forum 17 01-02-2006 10:40 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93