Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
PS elements 4.0
Old 12-23-2005, 05:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Member GG#: 39367
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 220
Comments: 0

bruggemj is offline IP: 68.112.76.114
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I recently installed Elements 4.0 on my PC. It's an Emachines AMD64 2.0GHZ 512MB ram.

What is happening is it will shut down while working in Elements.
Mostly when I'm working on an adj. layer the computer will just shut down.

Without getting into a Mac/PC debate can someone give me some advise.
I'm not sure if it is a software problem or computer problem. I've looked at the Adobe site and they mention it could be how the MB processes data to the RAM.
I actually tryed opening Elements this morning and it said I needed to re-install it because files may be damaged. After re-installing it still shuts down.

I thought it may be related to a memory upgrade I tryed earlier in the week.
I installed another 512MB DDR ram from Emachines earlier and then it started shutting down.
I removed the chip and everything seemed fine until today.

Joe [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]

  View Public Profile Send a private message to bruggemj Visit bruggemj's homepage! Find More Posts by bruggemj
 
Re: PS elements 4.0
Old 12-23-2005, 06:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member GG#: 48325
Location: Wills Point, TX.
Posts: 1,188
Comments: 0

lobofw is offline IP: 66.82.9.59
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I never had the 4.0 version but what your describing happened to me on the 2.0 version. I was told by more than a few it was a memory issue. That was when I upgraded to 512 RAM and the Win. XP. Elements would still create a prob for me but not as often. When I went to the Photoshop CS version, I no longer have any problems, except when my files become over 90M. with all the layers and such.
I don't know if any of this helps, but this has been my experience. I've learned to flatten when I can and conserve space.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to lobofw Visit lobofw's homepage! Find More Posts by lobofw
 
The best thing. . .
Old 12-23-2005, 09:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35436
Location: Sunset
Posts: 500
Comments: 0

cclesue is offline IP: 67.177.23.11
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

anyone can do is stuff as much memory as you CAN'T afford into your box. If you are not running at least a gig and half you are cheating yourself. This is true especially if you have more than one application open at the same time. I run 3.5 gig and wish I had at least 2 more. But then often I run CS and/or Poser and Painter simultaneously.

"Troll Town Tavern Tango Time."



All models showed up on time!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to cclesue Visit cclesue's homepage! Find More Posts by cclesue
 
Re: PS elements 4.0
Old 12-23-2005, 10:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Evangelical Ne'er-do-well

 
ChipBulgin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42306
Location: Severna Park, MD
Posts: 482
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to ChipBulgin

ChipBulgin is offline IP: 69.250.21.33
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

This sounds like bad memory to me. When the computer attempts to use a particular memory address and it's bad, the thing pukes. It seems random, but if you could see which addresses are being used, I'll bet it happens everytime an address (or more likely a range of addresses) is accessed by the memory controller.

My guess is you have a bad DIMM. Less likely is that something on the motherboard went kaput, but it happens. Microsoft provides a memory tester utility on their website. You can find the program installer and instructions on how to use it here:

Microsoft Online Crash Analysis

Try that first and see if you can pinpoint the problem. If not, you might have to take the machine to where you purchased it and convince them that there's a hardware problem.

Good luck,

-Chip
  View Public Profile Send a private message to ChipBulgin Find More Posts by ChipBulgin
 
Re: PS elements 4.0
Old 12-24-2005, 01:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,660
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 67.174.71.224
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have found over the years that most people tend to have problems with Photoshop and now Elements when they have too little memory. 512mb is not enough memory to really fully use either Elements or Photoshop. If you only deal in small files and you don't load much of anything else, then you can get along for awhile, but you may need frequent reboots. I found that 1gb is about the minimum you need, and 2gb is better. My current understanding is that Photoshop will not be able to use anything beyond 2gb on most systems, so either 1gb or 2gb would be the best bet for a faster more reliable usage of the products. I have not found the emachines to be very reliable and all of them that I ever used had to be returned. But it sure sounds like what you are describing is a memory problem.
Cheers,
rfs
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: PS elements 4.0
Old 12-24-2005, 07:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member

 
isaiahbrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member GG#: 39216
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 1,180
Comments: 2
Send a message via MSN to isaiahbrink Send a message via Yahoo to isaiahbrink

isaiahbrink is offline IP: 69.110.91.245
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Sounds like you need some more memory, Ram that is. Windows likes to have some ram, and my mom is running a similar system and it needs a gb to run fine without using photoshop or elements. I would therefore recommend getting a total of at least 2 gigs of ram. Good luck.

Isaiah Brink
  View Public Profile Send a private message to isaiahbrink Find More Posts by isaiahbrink
 
Re: PS elements 4.0
Old 12-24-2005, 10:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vic Naumann
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member GG#: 40216
Location: Germantown
Posts: 733
Comments: 37
My Mood:

Jagdoc is offline IP: 69.138.20.39
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I had a similar problem running CS2 last month. P4 processor with 2 gigs of ram, and the system would just click off when adjusting large files.

Turned out to be a weak power supply. Replaced it and no problems since.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Jagdoc Find More Posts by Jagdoc
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attn Elements Users - Upgrade path to CS4 Fred Gerhart Main Community Forum 0 08-15-2009 12:12 PM
Amputation with elements Titan Digital Darkroom 7 07-18-2007 06:04 AM
PS Elements 3 chucklyman Tech Talk Forum 7 06-20-2005 04:59 PM
Elements or Photoshop cs ? That_Look_Photography Tech Talk Forum 9 01-20-2005 09:51 PM
Adobe PS7 or Adobe Elements help wanted.... AGellert Tech Talk Forum 4 04-29-2004 09:18 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93