Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
What Could It Be?
Old 12-19-2005, 12:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

 
editbay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member GG#: 38680
Location: Orlando
Posts: 11
Comments: 0

editbay is offline IP: 24.27.207.22
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hello,
Maybe some of you could help me. I have had may camera do this twice .
Has anyone had this happen to them? Could it be my memory card or is it the camera?
Nikon d100

btw. This site is awsome, I have learned a lot watching all of you.
Thanks,
Robert
  View Public Profile Send a private message to editbay Visit editbay's homepage! Find More Posts by editbay
 
Re: What Could It Be?
Old 12-19-2005, 12:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member GG#: 48382
Location: Cairns
Posts: 153
Comments: 0

MikeInOz is offline IP: 203.171.95.79
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

That happens when you try to get one picture too many off a roll of film. The sprockets strip and ... [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]

Ahh.. Digital. That's weird. If it's not doing it all the time. Are you shooting JPEG or NEF? The D100 doesn't have a double exposure mode does it? I know my D70s doesn't.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to MikeInOz Find More Posts by MikeInOz
 
Re: What Could It Be?
Old 12-19-2005, 07:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41110
Location: Col-Spgs
Posts: 36
Comments: 0

jakfoto is offline IP: 207.109.175.164
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have had this type of exposure happen once with my 10d. I assumed a memory card as I had a number of other issues at the time as well. Pictures with what I can only describe as a single pin sized scrambled data strip going across the entire photo. Anyway, I changed to a new Lexar CF card and have not had any repeats.

JK
  View Public Profile Send a private message to jakfoto Find More Posts by jakfoto
 
Re: What Could It Be?
Old 12-19-2005, 07:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member GG#: 45608
Location: Tampa
Posts: 587
Comments: 3

Brad is offline IP: 70.119.153.110
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Your camera is set for multiple exposers.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Brad Visit Brad's homepage! Find More Posts by Brad
 
Re: What Could It Be?
Old 12-19-2005, 08:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member

 
hgwest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member GG#: 39907
Location: Muskegon
Posts: 43
Comments: 0

hgwest is offline IP: 67.164.235.126
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I'm in with Brad either your set for double exposure oorrr if you are shooting under extremely low light and your camera is set for slow curtain sync this could be the problem as well ie. movement after the shutter is released & before the shot is captured by the internal sensor. Just a thought, 2 cents whatever. Good luck!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hgwest Visit hgwest's homepage! Find More Posts by hgwest
 
Re: What Could It Be?
Old 12-19-2005, 09:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member GG#: 39173
Location: Hermitage/Nashville
Posts: 363
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to LarryAB

LarryAB is offline IP: 170.141.109.33
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[ QUOTE ]
oorrr if you are shooting under extremely low light and your camera is set for slow curtain sync

[/ QUOTE ]

I doubt this is it. The pic is of two different couples. It's got to be a double exposure somehow.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to LarryAB Visit LarryAB's homepage! Find More Posts by LarryAB
 
Re: What Could It Be?
Old 12-19-2005, 09:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member

 
BGPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Member GG#: 45260
Location: USA!!! USA!!! USA!!!
Posts: 607
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to BGPhoto

BGPhoto is offline IP: 64.207.15.254
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[ QUOTE ]
Your camera is set for multiple exposers.

[/ QUOTE ]

Bingo. This is not a file error issue.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to BGPhoto Visit BGPhoto's homepage! Find More Posts by BGPhoto
 
Re: What Could It Be?
Old 12-19-2005, 10:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member

 
editbay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member GG#: 38680
Location: Orlando
Posts: 11
Comments: 0

editbay is offline IP: 24.27.207.22
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for all your replies. My camera does not feature double exposure and I have about 150 shots, before and after, that came out great. Also if you notice the colors are wacked out. Its kinda scary when your doing an event and you see you camera going down. My fault for not having a second cam. I truely hope this is a memory card thing, as I have more work coming up.
Thanks again to everyone for all your help.
Robert [ QUOTE ]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to editbay Visit editbay's homepage! Find More Posts by editbay
 
Re: What Could It Be?
Old 12-19-2005, 10:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member

 
editbay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member GG#: 38680
Location: Orlando
Posts: 11
Comments: 0

editbay is offline IP: 24.27.207.22
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Mike,
These were shot jpeg,
Thanks for the quick response.( I know, I should shoot raw) Its just I had a lot of shooting to do that night.
Thanks again,
Robert
  View Public Profile Send a private message to editbay Visit editbay's homepage! Find More Posts by editbay
 
Re: What Could It Be?
Old 12-19-2005, 10:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Free Member

 
editbay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member GG#: 38680
Location: Orlando
Posts: 11
Comments: 0

editbay is offline IP: 24.27.207.22
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[ QUOTE ]
I have had this type of exposure happen once with my 10d. I assumed a memory card as I had a number of other issues at the time as well. Pictures with what I can only describe as a single pin sized scrambled data strip going across the entire photo. Anyway, I changed to a new Lexar CF card and have not had any repeats.

JK

[/ QUOTE ]
The memory card is pretty old, I hope this is the problem. Thank for helping,

Robert
  View Public Profile Send a private message to editbay Visit editbay's homepage! Find More Posts by editbay
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93