Photo Tips Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Developing Vision! How to..........
Old 03-20-2003, 08:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

Member GG#: 35679
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to Soujrnr Send a message via Yahoo to Soujrnr

Soujrnr is offline IP: 64.223.238.58

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Hi all,

I am making this post as an adjunct to what I posted in one of Chung's posts (some new images...dated 3/20) about how one develops "vision" and establishes a style that tells others, "Yup, that's Andy McFarland's work", etc. I am new to glamour shooting and don't have what I would call a "vision." I am often left staring blankly around my studio or around the outdoor area I'm shooting and asking myself what the hell I'm trying to convey in my photos and I honestly can't give myself an answer. I don't want to resign myself to emulating others. I want to develop my own style, my own signature, as it were.

I say all that to say this: Many of you have works that are very easily recognizable as works produced by you. What mental processes do you go through prior to a shoot? How do you come up with a "vision" for what you want? I look at my photos of the few models I've photographed and say, "What the $#%& is that all about?" I want people to be able to look at my work and say, "Yup, that's Mike Larsen's work", rather than echoing my own sentiments of wondering what I've done.

Am I beyond hope? [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] I look forward to your thoughts on this. Thanks.

Good day!

Mike
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Soujrnr Visit Soujrnr's homepage! Find More Posts by Soujrnr

Re: Developing Vision! How to..........