Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
PUSHING 1600 SPEED FILM TO 3200
Old 12-04-2005, 09:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member GG#: 37352
Location: indiana
Posts: 40
Comments: 0

washedup is offline IP: 172.142.230.56
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Does anyone have any experience pushing 1600 speed film to 3200? Or does any one have any information on where 3200 speed color film can be purchased?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to washedup Find More Posts by washedup
 
Re: PUSHING 1600 SPEED FILM TO 3200
Old 12-04-2005, 10:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member GG#: 48325
Location: Wills Point, TX.
Posts: 1,188
Comments: 0

lobofw is offline IP: 66.82.9.45
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I've pushed 800 ISO to 1600 but have never tried 1600. I did this for some Rodeo shots in a poorly lighted arena. Althought I got the shots I needed, My ability to grop and do much adjusting was limiting.
In perspective, I am still learning the art of pushing and pulling film.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to lobofw Visit lobofw's homepage! Find More Posts by lobofw
 
Re: PUSHING 1600 SPEED FILM TO 3200
Old 12-04-2005, 11:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,660
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 67.174.71.224
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Ilford used to sell 3200 speed film for the medium format cameras. I used to use it with RB67. I looked up "asa 3200 film 35mm" on Google and found:

http://tinyurl.com/c2uho

Cheers,
rfs
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: PUSHING 1600 SPEED FILM TO 3200
Old 12-04-2005, 11:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
hicspix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35341
Location: Phoenixville
Posts: 866
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to hicspix

hicspix is offline IP: 64.12.116.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Been there/done that ... lol

Back in my film days in photojournalism, I had occasion to push Fuji Press 1600 up to 3200 and beyond. The beyond being a night refueling flight over Kosovo during the conflict there -- and no, to this day I have no idea why they bothered bringing us along on a night flight ... lol But I did get a shot (grainy as heck, rather blurry, rated closer to 6400, shot at 135mm hand-held at around 1/4 of a second -- hey, you do what you have to do).

I'll track it down and posted it here momentarily -- but besides getting the basic shape of the aircraft below our refueler (thanks to "illumination" from the ground) it's not one I bring out to brag about very often. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

I'm pretty sure there's still rolls of Fuji Press 1600 out there, just go a google search on it.

But, ultimately, my gut feeling is only use it if it's a case where you really, really have to to get the shot.

Dave

I typically did push Fuji 200 to 400 though. I found the 1-stop push added nice contrast and saturation to the images when done through our processor back then.

  View Public Profile Send a private message to hicspix Visit hicspix's homepage! Find More Posts by hicspix
 
Re: PUSHING 1600 SPEED FILM TO 3200
Old 12-04-2005, 11:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
hicspix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35341
Location: Phoenixville
Posts: 866
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to hicspix

hicspix is offline IP: 64.12.116.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[ QUOTE ]
Ilford used to sell 3200 speed film for the medium format cameras. I used to use it with RB67. I looked up "asa 3200 film 35mm" on Google and found:

http://tinyurl.com/c2uho

Cheers,
rfs

[/ QUOTE ]

I think he was after 3200 color here, otherwise Kokak made TX 3200 which can still be found I think. As far as a straight-rated 3200 color film goes, with the possible breif exceptions of a couple of companies back in the 70s (GAF and 3M as I recall) that highly rated a film was never a major product.

My recollection anyway -- off to find that image ... lol

Dave
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hicspix Visit hicspix's homepage! Find More Posts by hicspix
 
Re: PUSHING 1600 SPEED FILM TO 3200
Old 12-05-2005, 12:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
hicspix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35341
Location: Phoenixville
Posts: 866
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to hicspix

hicspix is offline IP: 64.12.116.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Took me a while to track it down ... lol

While not my shining hours, I was happy to get anything considering the conditions! It ended up running in the newspaper around 2 columns (roughly 4.25" x 6.5").


First shot during a break in the cloud cover that was useable.


Second image during a break in the cloud covering that was "better." This is the one that ran.


And, to retrieve some dignity ... lol ... this one was from a day mission where the pilot missed hooking up with the refueling boom on two prior passes. Had he missed on this one, he'd have had to abort his run and ditch the craft since there wasn't enough fuel in it to get him back to his base. Hence his worried expression. He DID get his fuel after successfully hooking up shortly after this image.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hicspix Visit hicspix's homepage! Find More Posts by hicspix
 
Re: PUSHING 1600 SPEED FILM TO 3200
Old 12-05-2005, 01:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36812
Location: Saginaw
Posts: 320
Comments: 0

j4m3z is offline IP: 24.247.246.73
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I've used Fuji press asa 1600 film before. Never pushed it to 3200, but it looked like it had enough definition you could. Prolly wouldn't want to blow it up much past 8x10 though.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to j4m3z Visit j4m3z's homepage! Find More Posts by j4m3z
 
Re: PUSHING 1600 SPEED FILM TO 3200
Old 12-05-2005, 02:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
FrankParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Member GG#: 36573
Location: Goose Creek
Posts: 1,157
Comments: 1

FrankParis is offline IP: 70.153.38.64
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

1600 to 3200 is one stop and it works, It's not recommended to push 2 stops...1600 to 6400.
B& h carries it and so does Calumet.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to FrankParis Find More Posts by FrankParis
 
Re: PUSHING 1600 SPEED FILM TO 3200
Old 12-05-2005, 08:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member GG#: 48325
Location: Wills Point, TX.
Posts: 1,188
Comments: 0

lobofw is offline IP: 66.82.9.52
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I found one of the photos I had mentioned. I did blow this up to 10x8 but if you looked close you can see the grain. 800ISO to 1600. I've never seen any 3200 film in my area but I wasn't looking to close for it. I find 1600 regularly.

  View Public Profile Send a private message to lobofw Visit lobofw's homepage! Find More Posts by lobofw
 
Re: PUSHING 1600 SPEED FILM TO 3200
Old 12-05-2005, 12:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
FrankParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Member GG#: 36573
Location: Goose Creek
Posts: 1,157
Comments: 1

FrankParis is offline IP: 70.153.38.214
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

If grain is a problem don't push! There are 1600 & 3200 films, its just 1 and 2 stops faster than 800. It can be ordered at the big phonographic supplies houses as well as ir film. We used a lot of the black and white versions in school (not c41 film). It's fast and it gives you a little bit more to play with in low light.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to FrankParis Find More Posts by FrankParis
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Film Vs Digital mray Tech Talk Forum 41 11-02-2011 11:28 AM
film selection biggame248 Main Community Forum 8 02-12-2007 10:18 PM
Cordless Flash Mode and Shutter Speed Earl_B Tech Talk Forum 9 06-03-2006 04:00 PM
Film...we don't need no stinkin film!! kjtw Main Community Forum 2 02-06-2006 11:03 AM
The woes of Cropping Antwan Tech Talk Forum 20 08-31-2005 05:26 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93