Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Color Calibration - Eye one Display - HELP!!!!
Old 11-09-2005, 11:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 476
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I am about to go nuts trying to get my monitor calibrated with the Eye one Display device. So far every print I have sent off to the lab has come back with a color cast that does not appear on my monitor and this has happened with more than one lab. Has anyone else used one of these?

The basics:
1. I am converting the final image to Lab's color space or embedding the color space profile per the lab instructions.
2. There is no gamma or other color profiling software running aside from the Gretag-Macbeth software.

One thing that causes me to question whether or not the puck is working correctly is this. At one point in the process you are supposed to manually adjust the red, green, and blue components to get the monitor to the correct color level. There are indicators on a horizontal line for each each color component. I would expect these indicators to only move when I make an adjustment, but I see wide swings in the values when I am doing nothing but sitting and looking at the display. This happens in both a darkened room as well as a lit room.

How do you know if the puck itself is defective?

Thanks for any feedback on this. I have a couple of jobs I need to get printed but I don't want to get back a couple huindred images that have a color cast to them.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
Re: Color Calibration - Eye one Display - HELP!!!!
Old 11-09-2005, 04:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41749
Location: Orange City
Posts: 42
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to clickin

clickin is offline IP: 67.50.116.71
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I had to call tech support on my puck and they ended up sending me a new one. Try calling tech support first and going through the steps with them.

clark
  View Public Profile Send a private message to clickin Find More Posts by clickin
 
Re: Color Calibration - Eye one Display - HELP!!!!
Old 11-09-2005, 07:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
isaiahbrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member GG#: 39216
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 1,180
Comments: 2
Send a message via MSN to isaiahbrink Send a message via Yahoo to isaiahbrink

isaiahbrink is offline IP: 68.127.95.116
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Okay, I need a little more info. Info like are you embedding the color profile in the saved profile? And is the profile the lab's that you are sending it to? Also, what file type are you saving it in? I have noticed that this makes a difference. I took a file into Kinko's to have printed as an 18x24, and the first time, they got the size wrong, but the color right. I gave them an .eps .pdf and .psd file to choose from, the industry standard formats for printing (I worked in an electronic prepress doing color corrections.) The second time, I accidentally threw in a .jpg, which they used, and the color was bad.

Isaiah Brink
  View Public Profile Send a private message to isaiahbrink Find More Posts by isaiahbrink
 
Re: Color Calibration - Eye one Display - HELP!!!!
Old 11-09-2005, 08:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member GG#: 37608
Location: Cedar Rapids
Posts: 343
Comments: 0

Mark_Oehler is offline IP: 12.226.126.152
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Does your lab provide any equipment to help you with color correction. My lab sells a product (LaCie) at lab cost to make sure you match with the lab equipment 100%. If you are calibrated, you also get discounts on printing since they can fast-track it through the lab with little to no intervention.

Mark Oehler
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Mark_Oehler Visit Mark_Oehler's homepage! Find More Posts by Mark_Oehler
 
Re: Color Calibration - Eye one Display - HELP!!!!
Old 11-09-2005, 10:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
lsc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36482
Location: Charleston
Posts: 528
Comments: 2

lsc1 is offline IP: 68.212.78.124
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[ QUOTE ]
One thing that causes me to question whether or not the puck is working correctly is this. At one point in the process you are supposed to manually adjust the red, green, and blue components to get the monitor to the correct color level. There are indicators on a horizontal line for each each color component. I would expect these indicators to only move when I make an adjustment,but I see wide swings in the values when I am doing nothing but sitting and looking at the display. This happens in both a darkened room as well as a lit room.


[/ QUOTE ]

Also, consider the monitor. Never try to calibrate the monitor until it has been on for at least thirty minutes and better, an hour. Until fully warm, the monitor will continue to change. You don't mention what type of monitor, could it be an upgrade is needed or the monitor is defective? Eliminate the variables by testing your Gretag on another computer monitor, either work or friends. If it performs well, time for a new monitor.

Good luck chasing it down.

LSC [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to lsc1 Find More Posts by lsc1
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CF Card will not display in Bridge BobH Tech Talk Forum 6 01-11-2010 08:06 PM
Not sure the best way to save and display my pics SCTracer Tech Talk Forum 4 10-15-2005 06:00 PM
Cintiq interactive display tablet? bchan3rdi Tech Talk Forum 3 06-03-2005 04:57 PM
A Different Type of Display... dustylenscap Photo Reviews & Critiques Only 7 12-03-2004 10:35 AM
Body painting for a gallery display gmfoto Tech Talk Forum 1 02-01-2003 09:30 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94