Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
anybody with a D100 .....
Old 10-23-2005, 10:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StanTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36777
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 568
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to StanTom

StanTom is offline IP: 24.154.175.109
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Can anybody tell me if you had to set your LCD screen to the darkest setting ?

I was using my flash today and also checking the image on the lcd , it SEEMED to bright so I dialed the flash down , LOOKED good so I shot the pics

When I got home and started editing them I had to make all the shots brighter
( flash at -1 then fixed at home with +1 )

My last TWO shoots were like this, I don't remember anything happening like this before?

Thanks in advance for any help
Stan
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StanTom Find More Posts by StanTom
 
Re: anybody with a D100 .....
Old 10-23-2005, 11:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StuHaluski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36068
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 350
Comments: 1

StuHaluski is offline IP: 24.30.78.25
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You cannot use your lcd as the last word in metering, you need to use your histogram and a flash meter or download into photoshop to be totally sure that you have the proper exposure.

You also might consider a calibration panel as well.

I have my lcd set on 0.

Good luck and I hope this helps.

Stu
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StuHaluski Visit StuHaluski's homepage! Find More Posts by StuHaluski
 
Re: anybody with a D100 .....
Old 10-24-2005, 08:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Photomart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36974
Location: Dallas Fort Worth
Posts: 936
Comments: 0
My Mood:

Photomart is offline IP: 24.0.204.220
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

This is a VERY common problem with the D100 LCD display. All the D100 shooter I talk to changed their LCD brightness to -2 and it corrected the problem.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Photomart Visit Photomart's homepage! Find More Posts by Photomart
 
Re: anybody with a D100 .....
Old 10-24-2005, 09:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
King of Useless Facts
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35691
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 499
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to StMarc

StMarc is offline IP: 67.100.161.234
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

This is common to pretty much ALL digicams. Some are more sensitive to lighting conditions than others. My 300D is notorious for showing shots quite a bit hotter (up to 2/3 of a stop or more) than they actually are.

Histogram use and/or a dedicated exposure meter will get you out of this fix. The first few times I used my exposure meter the shots looked way too hot in the preview, so I dialed it down. The meter was right, the preview was lying.

M
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StMarc Visit StMarc's homepage! Find More Posts by StMarc
 
Re: anybody with a D100 .....
Old 10-24-2005, 09:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
mhsoftail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Member GG#: 40740
Location: Drexel Hill
Posts: 69
Comments: 0

mhsoftail is offline IP: 68.34.163.82
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You would be nuts to use you LCD to check you photo metering. That is what the histogram is for. I shoot a lot with the D70s and I do have the LCD screen turned down. However I never use the LCD for a final check I always read the histogram. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to mhsoftail Visit mhsoftail's homepage! Find More Posts by mhsoftail
 
Re: anybody with a D100 .....
Old 10-24-2005, 10:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StanTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36777
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 568
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to StanTom

StanTom is offline IP: 72.23.103.176
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for the reply
I have had the camera for a year or so and it seemed to just act up the last couple of times

I never had a pob;em , I trusted the meter AND lcd
so I just adjusted for the lcd
I just now turned on the histogram feature

Stan
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StanTom Find More Posts by StanTom
 
Re: anybody with a D100 .....
Old 10-24-2005, 10:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StanTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36777
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 568
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to StanTom

StanTom is offline IP: 72.23.103.176
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Now Ineed to try it at the new setting

I was wondering if the guys you mentioned changed after a while
OR was it set -2 from day one ?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StanTom Find More Posts by StanTom
 
Re: anybody with a D100 .....
Old 10-24-2005, 10:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StanTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36777
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 568
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to StanTom

StanTom is offline IP: 72.23.103.176
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for the reply
I was thinking of getting the big hammer out to fix the problem
now I will just use a small hammer
[img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StanTom Find More Posts by StanTom
 
Re: anybody with a D100 .....
Old 10-24-2005, 10:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StanTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36777
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 568
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to StanTom

StanTom is offline IP: 72.23.103.176
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I must be nuts then ..
... no , seriously , it used to be fine
It is just the last two shoots it when wacky
so I had trusted it to match the pics like it had in the past

I am leaning towards problem popping up for some reason
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StanTom Find More Posts by StanTom
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Praise Of The Nikon D100 DaveFoto Tech Talk Forum 5 10-05-2005 10:22 AM
D100 users, what do you set your sharpness to? Hoosier_Daddy Tech Talk Forum 13 08-25-2005 05:22 PM
Question re: Flash Cards for Nikon D100. DaveFoto Tech Talk Forum 2 06-07-2005 10:01 AM
Tone curves for d100 That_Look_Photography Tech Talk Forum 0 03-14-2004 11:17 AM
D100 vs D1x BarbInKC Tech Talk Forum 3 02-22-2004 12:23 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93