Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
HELP !! hot shoe to pc not working on canon
Old 10-20-2005, 06:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Member GG#: 39402
Location: vacaville
Posts: 304
Comments: 0

timxdrama is offline IP: 63.205.8.97
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

i got a hotshoe to PC adapter to use my strobe with my eos 630 35mm to get shots done for class. The adapter works fine with my 20D but it wont fire the flash on the 630! its a hot shoe problem, or im dumb and need to 'turn on' the flash or something so it will fire im guessing. i have not tried it with film in but i dont think thatd matter.

ANY HELP WOULD BE GREAT
  View Public Profile Send a private message to timxdrama Find More Posts by timxdrama
 
Re: HELP !! hot shoe to pc not working on canon
Old 10-20-2005, 07:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Evangelical Ne'er-do-well

 
ChipBulgin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42306
Location: Severna Park, MD
Posts: 485
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to ChipBulgin

ChipBulgin is offline IP: 68.49.128.240
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

There shouldn't be anything special you need to do to use the hot shoe. Do you have, or can your borrow, an on-camera flash that you can mount on the camera and see if it fires? Try either a simple, non-dedicated flash or a Canon speedlight. Don't put a flash on it that's dedicated for another manufacturer. You shouldn't have to do anything to "turn on" the flash.

Have you used a flash on the 630 before, or is this your first attempt? You may have a malfunctioning hot-shoe. It's been a long time since I've handled a 630. I know the 620 had a PC socket, does the 630 have one? If so, you may try a PC-sync to hot-shoe adaptor.

-Chip
  View Public Profile Send a private message to ChipBulgin Find More Posts by ChipBulgin
 
Re: HELP !! hot shoe to pc not working on canon
Old 10-20-2005, 01:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran

 
atlantashooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Member GG#: 46477
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 130
Comments: 0

atlantashooter is offline IP: 216.199.73.42
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Tim,

We were using the Wein voltage dropping hotshoe to pc converters for a while until we realized that every other one was bad. One of the things we did to make them work was to clean the hotshoe contacts on the camera and the adapter/converter with an eraser or with something a little abrasive (end of a paperclip, fingernail file, etc). Sometimes that's all it takes.

Doug Ellis
  View Public Profile Send a private message to atlantashooter Visit atlantashooter's homepage! Find More Posts by atlantashooter
 
Re: HELP !! hot shoe to pc not working on canon
Old 10-20-2005, 08:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
JohnPaul
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 66.94.222.175
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote



I believe what you are referring to is a polarity issue... what you have to do with that particular set up is.. git a PC cord that has a two trong plug on one end, and a card that has a reciever for that plug, that will fit into the pc socket on the strobe.. It will work one way, but not the other way..

The thing that's nice about those cords, is that they often come in packaging that you can easily "open" at the story......(no,...I don't want you stealing it).. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] Test it out before buying the cords to see if that fixes the problem. I believe that will.. and it will also cause you to use twist ties to keep all that darn cord out of your way..

The same prob,es happened on all of my previous Canon bodies for some goofy reason... I always had to dink around with the sync cord thingy with my DC powered Norman strobes,....and finally,.......Canon fixed that problem!! (another reason for getting the 20D over the 10D, or Rebel cameras..) [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

That should work from what you are describing..

JP
 
 
Re: HELP !! hot shoe to pc not working on canon
Old 10-21-2005, 01:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Member GG#: 39402
Location: vacaville
Posts: 304
Comments: 0

timxdrama is offline IP: 63.205.10.54
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

after messing forever i finally found that if i pushed directly DOWN on the adapter it finally made a connection and fired the flash. i taped the top of the 'wings' of the adapter so when it slid into the hot shoe it was like pushing it down against the camera and now it fires consistantly, since im only using it on this body im jut gonna leave it be!

thanks for your help!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to timxdrama Find More Posts by timxdrama
 
Re: HELP !! hot shoe to pc not working on canon
Old 10-21-2005, 01:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Member GG#: 39402
Location: vacaville
Posts: 304
Comments: 0

timxdrama is offline IP: 63.205.10.54
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

after messing forever i finally found that if i pushed directly DOWN on the adapter it finally made a connection and fired the flash. i taped the top of the 'wings' of the adapter so when it slid into the hot shoe it was like pushing it down against the camera and now it fires consistantly, since im only using it on this body im just gonna leave it be!

thanks for your help john paul!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to timxdrama Find More Posts by timxdrama
 
Re: HELP !! hot shoe to pc not working on canon
Old 10-21-2005, 01:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Member GG#: 39402
Location: vacaville
Posts: 304
Comments: 0

timxdrama is offline IP: 63.205.10.54
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

hey chip,

after messing forever i finally found that if i pushed directly DOWN on the adapter it finally made a connection and fired the flash. i taped the top of the 'wings' of the adapter so when it slid into the hot shoe it was like pushing it down against the camera and now it fires consistantly, since im only using it on this body im just gonna leave it be!

thanks for your help!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to timxdrama Find More Posts by timxdrama
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon EOS 30D Digital SLR Camera & Canon....$550USD upsales Model Topics 1 07-07-2010 11:02 PM
Review of canon off shoe cable OC-E3 anyone? insanepinoy Tech Talk Forum 1 09-13-2007 09:07 PM
Lens Quality? Sigma vs Canon LePhoto Tech Talk Forum 21 12-23-2006 02:00 AM
Nikon D200 and Sigma lenses. Driftwood Tech Talk Forum 9 01-05-2006 06:08 PM
Nikon vs Canon objektiv Tech Talk Forum 9 02-11-2005 12:12 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94