Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Alien Bees Problems...help!!!!!!
Old 10-09-2005, 02:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Member GG#: 46711
Location: Destin
Posts: 23
Comments: 0

DavinciP is offline IP: 68.1.32.87
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I am trying to shoot with my AB lights for the first time. I set up one 1600 and large softbox just to play for a bit. I connect the strobe using the included sync cord to the PC connection on my 20D. When I take a photo the light flashes fine. However, only about 1/4 of the picture takes leaving the other 3/4 black...I disconnect the cord from cam, take a photo of same scene and I get the whole picture. What could be causing this? HELP PLEASE!

Mark [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DavinciP Find More Posts by DavinciP
 
Re: Alien Bees Problems...help!!!!!!
Old 10-09-2005, 02:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member GG#: 39673
Location: Louisville
Posts: 219
Comments: 0
Send a message via ICQ to Hoosier_Daddy

Hoosier_Daddy is offline IP: 149.160.27.113
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

My first guess would be that you have your shutter speed set faster than the max flash sync. I'm not sure what it is on that camera. On the Nikon D100 I use the max sync is 1/160, and if set to a higher shutter speed you will get exactly what you are describing.

This would be true of any flash, regardless of brand.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Hoosier_Daddy Visit Hoosier_Daddy's homepage! Find More Posts by Hoosier_Daddy
 
Re: Alien Bees Problems...help!!!!!!
Old 10-09-2005, 02:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Fantasiesimage
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 68.103.193.140
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Yep..I bet hoosier is right on this one......try 1/125th shutter speed.

 
 
Re: Alien Bees Problems...help!!!!!!
Old 10-09-2005, 03:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
____________
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35406
Location: Bogus
Posts: 949
Comments: 0

Al_Nowak is offline IP: 68.255.60.35
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

The other poster has the most obvious answer to your problem. But he didn't mention a few things we take for granted in many instances, and first time users may not realize.

When using the Alien Bee, ya gotta be in manual mode on the camera. Using a flash meter, determine what your F stop should be. Set that F-stop on your camera in the MANUAL mode. Then set your camera shutter speed to its flash synch speed. The camera manual will usually tell you what that is. On many cameras it's 1/125th, 1/90th, or 1/60th of a second. Some cameras are much faster...

Now you didn't mention exactly how you were running the synch cord disconnected test. Are you using the on-board camera flash to set off the AB?

There's also a possibiility your camera has a pre-flash, a flash burst that goes off before the main burst. It's used to prevent red eye by closing up folk's iris'. However, the AB doesn't know that and will go off on the pre-flash. Answer is to shut off the pre-flash in the camera. I'm not a Canon user, so I don't know if it's there or not.

But the key is to be in manual mode.

Here's another tip. If your camera controls are such that you can accidentally change them while in Manual mode, put a small piece of tape over the controls. The Fuji S2 has rotary dials for the aperture and shutter speed which are at the top of the grip. VERY EASY to accidentally move in the heat of a shoot. The tape can save you a lot of grief...





  View Public Profile Send a private message to Al_Nowak Find More Posts by Al_Nowak
 
Re: Alien Bees Problems...help!!!!!!
Old 10-09-2005, 04:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
JohnPaul
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 66.94.222.122
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote



What is your camera's shutter speed set to...? If it is any higher than 1/250ths, it will black out a portion, or all of the shot because the shutter curtain in in the way..

JP
 
 
Re: Alien Bees Problems...help!!!!!!
Old 10-09-2005, 04:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Trekkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member GG#: 46884
Location: Wake Forest
Posts: 24
Comments: 0
Send a message via ICQ to Trekkie Send a message via AIM to Trekkie Send a message via MSN to Trekkie Send a message via Yahoo to Trekkie Send a message via Skype™ to Trekkie

Trekkie is offline IP: 24.211.252.107
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Does it look something like this?



That's what happenes when your thumb spins the shutter speed dial on accident when you're firing test shots, at least that is what happened to me. This is when you cross 1/250th of a sec on a 20D and go over the flash sync speed. The shutter moves too fast for the flash.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Trekkie Visit Trekkie's homepage! Find More Posts by Trekkie
 
Re: Alien Bees Problems...help!!!!!!
Old 10-09-2005, 04:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,691
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 67.174.71.224
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

With Bees, you are advised to set the shutter speed one step below the suggested sync speed of the camera. So for the Canon 20D at 1/250th suggested, you would use 1/125th. I always set mine at 1/60th out of force of habit from the old days when that was the sync speed of my cameras.
Cheers,
rfs
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: Alien Bees Problems...help!!!!!!
Old 10-09-2005, 06:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41498
Location: Windsor
Posts: 220
Comments: 0
Send a message via ICQ to HMetal Send a message via Skype™ to HMetal

HMetal is offline IP: 24.36.104.4
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I always use 1/125s shutter speed with my AB800s, and then meter with the Sekonic 358 to get the the resultant aperture for my light settings. Never have a problem, except of coz, the usual one where we have fun trying to balance fill and main light ratios. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif[/img]

  View Public Profile Send a private message to HMetal Visit HMetal's homepage! Find More Posts by HMetal
 
Re: Alien Bees Problems... help!!!!!!
Old 10-09-2005, 07:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
JohnPaul
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 66.94.222.122
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote



If this is a question you have for us,....that is this simple to figure out,...then you ought not to be asking if Supershoots are worth going.. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] You should go,...I bet you could learn a whole lot of things! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

JP
 
 
Re: Alien Bees Problems...help!!!!!!
Old 10-09-2005, 08:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member GG#: 40281
Location: Wesley Chapel
Posts: 109
Comments: 0
My Mood:

Terry397 is offline IP: 70.124.54.38
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Mark,

It's your sync speed. I shoot with the 20D's and the sync speed is 1/250. Anything faster and you will have the problem you describe. Only suggestion I can give you is to read the manuel if you haven't.

Terry
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Terry397 Visit Terry397's homepage! Find More Posts by Terry397
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
alien bees with gas generator??? dustylenscap Tech Talk Forum 12 03-07-2006 10:27 PM
selling one of my alien bees Hoosier_Daddy Tech Talk Forum 8 01-31-2006 02:36 PM
Selling my Alien Bees equipment huvola Tech Talk Forum 4 11-27-2005 09:44 AM
question for alien bees owners djyeo80 Tech Talk Forum 11 07-24-2004 10:28 AM
Alien Bees and other lights objektiv Tech Talk Forum 10 09-27-2003 02:05 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.

© 1999-2014 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93