Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Digital Media
Old 09-29-2005, 11:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member GG#: 44365
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 198
Comments: 0

chucklyman is offline IP: 68.255.89.169
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I was taking a class last week for my E-300 and the instructor suggested that every time we download pictures from our digital media that we re-format the card. In the past all I would do is delete the pictures. After I did the re-format the card would no longer read from my HP printer card reader nor from another card reader I have. It would only read and down load from the camera. I have 2 other cards that I did not re-format and they continue to work just fine. Any suggestions?
thanks Chuck Lyman
  View Public Profile Send a private message to chucklyman Visit chucklyman's homepage! Find More Posts by chucklyman
 
Re: Digital Media
Old 09-29-2005, 12:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

 
isaiahbrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member GG#: 39216
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 1,180
Comments: 2
Send a message via MSN to isaiahbrink Send a message via Yahoo to isaiahbrink

isaiahbrink is offline IP: 68.127.89.29
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quick question for you Chuck, did you format the media on your computer or in the camera? The norm is to format the card in the camera. I have had trouble with formatting cards using the computer, and a lot less when I do it with the camera itself. Well, hopefully things work out good for you.

Isaiah Brink
  View Public Profile Send a private message to isaiahbrink Find More Posts by isaiahbrink
 
Re: Digital Media
Old 09-29-2005, 12:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 476
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hello Chuck,

A couple of questions.

1. What size is the card?
2. What operating system are you using on your computer?
3. Did you reformat using the camera or using the computer?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
Re: Digital Media
Old 09-29-2005, 12:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member GG#: 44365
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 198
Comments: 0

chucklyman is offline IP: 68.255.89.169
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Each of my cards is (1 gig.) the 2 that I re-formatted was done in the camera. YOur suggestions are appreciated.
chuck lyman
  View Public Profile Send a private message to chucklyman Visit chucklyman's homepage! Find More Posts by chucklyman
 
Re: Digital Media
Old 09-29-2005, 02:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ed Peters

 
epeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 37945
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 302
Comments: 0

epeters is offline IP: 65.193.202.162
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I'm still trying to figure out why people say to reformat the memory cards. I have never reformatted (deleted in the PC card reader only) and never had a problem.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to epeters Find More Posts by epeters
 
Re: Digital Media
Old 09-29-2005, 05:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member GG#: 37608
Location: Cedar Rapids
Posts: 343
Comments: 0

Mark_Oehler is offline IP: 12.226.126.152
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

It was explained to me that the index on the card can get corrupted and that reformatting them keeps the index in good shape. I ran into a guy that couldn't read any of the images on this card using a card reader. He was able to download through the camera though. A reformat and he was back in business.

Hope it helps.

Mark Oehler
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Mark_Oehler Visit Mark_Oehler's homepage! Find More Posts by Mark_Oehler
 
Re: Digital Media
Old 09-29-2005, 08:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35977
Posts: 609
Comments: 0

Andy_Pearlman is offline IP: 72.25.123.138
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

All the pros I know reformat everytime they put a new card (that's new from the box, or new from the card reader) into the camera, and do the re-format in the camera. It does clear up the index files, and cleans out the stray junk that simply deleting leaves behind, and prepares the media for whatever device is going to record on it. Before I knew about this, I found myself getting fewer and fewer images on a card, because, like de-fragging a hard drive, there were pieces of deleted files all over the place (remember, delete doesn't really mean delete. Format means delete). I'm sure the real techno geeks can explain better than I, but just do it. I can also tell you that I could never get files to download from a card reader, until I bought real Firewire cardreader from Delkin. Those cheapo readers that come with some cards never worked for me, so I was always downloading from the camera, which took forever.

Regards,
Andy Pearlman
Andy Pearlman Studio
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Andy_Pearlman Visit Andy_Pearlman's homepage! Find More Posts by Andy_Pearlman
 
Re: Digital Media
Old 09-30-2005, 08:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 476
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hello Chuck,

This may be something you want to ask technical support for the card reader you are using.

The reason I was asking about your operating system was that many newer cameras have support for FAT32 file systems which older operating systems do not. But it doesn't sound like that is the problem.

Have you downloaded the latest driver software for your card reader?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
Hmmm....interesting
Old 09-30-2005, 11:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35737
Location: Foley
Posts: 180
Comments: 0

David Bunch is offline IP: 209.102.150.180
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I too have the E-300 evolt, and I have only formatted my cards (always in-camera - ALWAYS!) since I first started shooting digital, many cameras ago. I almost never delete in camera. And I too use 1 gig cards, as well as 256mb cards. I have never had a card reader fail to read any of my CF cards.

I did have a Panasonic cam which used SD cards, and the card reader on my wife's computer treated it like an alien being. Corrupted all the file names and headers. Had to do a rescue, got all the files back. Haven't used her SD card reader again.

Very wierd....but no, that isn't normal for the E-300.

David
  View Public Profile Send a private message to David Bunch Visit David Bunch's homepage! Find More Posts by David Bunch
 
Re: Digital Media
Old 09-30-2005, 11:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
stevenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member GG#: 35783
Location: Garden Grove
Posts: 1,384
Comments: 8
My Mood:

stevenD is offline IP: 71.107.219.174
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I've had four Canon digital cameras and I reformat EVERY time I download
  View Public Profile Send a private message to stevenD Visit stevenD's homepage! Find More Posts by stevenD
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Film Vs Digital mray Tech Talk Forum 41 11-02-2011 11:28 AM
Canon EOS 30D Digital SLR Camera & Canon....$550USD upsales Model Topics 1 07-07-2010 11:02 PM
Funny with politics and this is intended no jabs wsheldon50131 Main Community Forum 0 11-09-2006 11:14 PM
ASMP Digital Photography Standards and Practice Art Main Community Forum 0 01-25-2006 04:44 AM
Film & Digital Media Travel Question. DaveFoto Tech Talk Forum 5 07-27-2004 07:27 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.

© 1999-2014 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93