Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Best PC setup for image processing
Old 09-22-2005, 03:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I am used to putting together systems to host web sites and act as database servers, but I am not up on which processors are best for running programs like Photoshop. Does anyone out there have some good information on this? Pentium or AMD 64 chips?

Sorry, not interested in Macs.

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
Re: Best PC setup for image processing
Old 09-22-2005, 05:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42532
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 87
Comments: 0
My Mood:

Bill8131 is offline IP: 206.8.184.9
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

For what it's worth.. The desktop computer I'm using now has an AMD64, which at the time was touted as the way to go. However, I also have a laptop witht e new Pentium hyper-thread system and it works extremely well too. Right now I would't hesitate to use either. BUT, I would use at least 2 gig of ram or more. I think my laptop runs faster because I have to 2 in it, and my desktop only has 1gig. One other thing to lok for.. if it's built for gaming it will work good for photoshop.

Good luck.

Bill
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Bill8131 Visit Bill8131's homepage! Find More Posts by Bill8131
 
Re: Best PC setup for image processing
Old 09-22-2005, 05:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,660
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 67.174.71.224
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I don't know if it would still hold, but I and others I new had trouble with Adobe products with the AMD chips. This was a couple of years ago and the solution to the problem was that Adobe provided us with an alternate version of the Adobe products we were using. I suspect that means at the time they were coding some direct extended Pentium commands which weren't on the AMD. Hopefully this is not being done any more, or they put code to recognize which chip they're running on and use the appropriate optimized code.

All this being said, I like Pentium better just because they have a bigger market share and have more to lose by not exceeding AMD at as each new generation of chips is introduced.

Cheers,
rfs
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: Best PC setup for image processing
Old 09-25-2005, 05:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 37977
Posts: 102
Comments: 0

Sean_Armenta is offline IP: 70.129.56.2
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

general rule of thumb is AMD is great for gaming, while intel is better off for multitasking and video/image editing.

be sure to get at least a socket 775 processor. do not go with socket 478 anymore because it will get old real quick. 3GHz is a good starting point. dual core is even better. if you go with single core processor, make sure it has hyperthreading, and that the motherboard has dual channel memory slots in either DDR400 or better yet, DDR2. i wouldn't go below 2GB of RAM. even better is a motherboard with SATA RAID capablities so you can run a RAID 5 (you'll need 3 drives) or 0+1 (you'll need 4 hard drives) configuration. and with SATA hard drives at very reasonable prices, there shouldn't be a reason not to. you'll want to run two displays for extra desktop real estate, so a good 256MB graphics card will do you well. i'd pick a motherboard that has PCI-Express 16 instead of AGP 8x for graphics interface, just because the technology is just newer and upgrades will come easily.

other considerations: at least a 500W ATX 12V power supply that is SATA ready.

right now i have a P4 3GHz HT with 2GB (4 x 512MB dual channel) and a 256MB video card. i have no problems editing 200+ MB files while having C1, Outlook, IE, and iTunes open at the same time.

check newegg.com -- they have the best prices, shipping, and customer service.


sean

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Sean_Armenta Find More Posts by Sean_Armenta
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Glamour/Roland's Lighting Setup jakeyt Tech Talk Forum 4 08-13-2010 03:48 AM
Post Processing challenge #2 ... R_Fredrick_Smith Main Community Forum 20 12-08-2007 01:53 PM
Post processing challenge ... R_Fredrick_Smith Digital Darkroom 19 05-12-2007 09:49 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93