Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
D100 users, what do you set your sharpness to?
Old 08-20-2005, 05:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member GG#: 39673
Location: Louisville
Posts: 219
Comments: 0
Send a message via ICQ to Hoosier_Daddy

Hoosier_Daddy is offline IP: 149.160.27.113
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I just made a series of images, because I have been a little unhappy lately with images from my D100. so I did a series of shots with the same f stop, focal length, focus (only set once), flash, shutter speed and all from a tripod.

In the series, I would have to say the best two images are the ones that were set to normal and to high.

So where are you keeping yours set? I have just been getting a softness in the eyes that I'm not happy with. The lens was a Nikkor 80-200mm f2.0 ED lens

I've never been able (with the D100) to get images that were as sharp as when I use my F4 with Velvia transparency and the same lens. Is it just a fact of digital?

And for any canon users, is there a similar setting on the 20D? I'm thinking of getting the 5D if it exists, and I assume that it will have similar features as a 20D or other canon digitals.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Hoosier_Daddy Visit Hoosier_Daddy's homepage! Find More Posts by Hoosier_Daddy
 
Re: D100 users, what do you set your sharpness to?
Old 08-20-2005, 06:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Member GG#: 36657
Posts: 403
Comments: 0

That_Look_Photography is offline IP: 68.200.100.150
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

With my D100 I keep the sharpness set to ether none or normal. I think photo shop does a much better job. But the problem you are having looks more like the focus point is not being made on the eyes. Also the D100 likes alot of light to get very sharp images. I have not shot anything that close to see if my lens can make the eyes very sharp. I shoot ether full lenth or 3/4 shots with my 80 - 200 mm lens.

Mike
  View Public Profile Send a private message to That_Look_Photography Visit That_Look_Photography's homepage! Find More Posts by That_Look_Photography
 
Re: D100 users, what do you set your sharpness to?
Old 08-20-2005, 06:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
johnw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35352
Location: Alpharetta
Posts: 104
Comments: 0
My Mood:

johnw is offline IP: 65.13.24.8
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

With mine I have sharpness set to low, tone set to less contrast, and hue set to +3. I always use the center spot to focus and recompose, just habit from the Ftn and N90 days. I have heard that the center spot is the most accurate. If you have been using one of the other focusing spots try the center and see if you get any better results. Prelim general sharpening done in Capture with final sharpening in PS after final sizing.


Sarah with the Sigma 70-200 2.8 @ 4.5 1/320th handheld.


John
  View Public Profile Send a private message to johnw Find More Posts by johnw
 
Re: D100 users, what do you set your sharpness to?
Old 08-20-2005, 06:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Bawdy Little Monkey

 
SamBeasley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41173
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 1,385
Comments: 1
Send a message via AIM to SamBeasley Send a message via Yahoo to SamBeasley

SamBeasley is offline IP: 208.63.180.147
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

This is a little off-topic, but my local camera shop's got an F4 for sale that I was thinking of picking up. My drool-inducing camera right now is an F6, but since I just can't afford that (and won't be able to for a LONG time), I was thinking of picking up the F4, as I really need a 35mm camera that views 100% of the frame in the viewfinder, and all the other features it has are mo betta than my N75.

What do you think?

Sam
  View Public Profile Send a private message to SamBeasley Visit SamBeasley's homepage! Find More Posts by SamBeasley
 
Re: D100 users, what do you set your sharpness to?
Old 08-20-2005, 07:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StuHaluski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36068
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 350
Comments: 1

StuHaluski is offline IP: 24.30.78.25
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

check your diopter on the viewfinder? Check your eyes?

A 2.0 lens that long of a focal length will not take much to throw off the focus if you are shooting near 2.0.

Hope this helps

Stu

Btw my sharpness is set to none.
You might try RAW mode as well if you are not already
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StuHaluski Visit StuHaluski's homepage! Find More Posts by StuHaluski
 
Re: D100 users, what do you set your sharpness to?
Old 08-20-2005, 07:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member GG#: 39673
Location: Louisville
Posts: 219
Comments: 0
Send a message via ICQ to Hoosier_Daddy

Hoosier_Daddy is offline IP: 149.160.27.113
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

That's another test I did today. I checked the diopter setting using a 50mm lens and it came out to be just where I had always had it set. (I took one image at every point by manually focusing and then uploaded them to see where the sharpest image was.) I have been getting soft images no matter what lens I have been using.

When I use AF, I do use the center spot and recompose, but it doesn't seem to matter.

My problem with using PS to sharpen the images is that they are often so soft that there is no saving them. I am beginning to think it is just this particular camera, because I don't have this problem with my other (film) cameras.

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Hoosier_Daddy Visit Hoosier_Daddy's homepage! Find More Posts by Hoosier_Daddy
 
F4s
Old 08-21-2005, 12:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member GG#: 42793
Location: Moscow
Posts: 166
Comments: 0

kentalan is offline IP: 67.184.67.28
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

If you get the F4, you can be just like me! Except, you would know what you're doing.

Is it an F4 or F4s? I've never seen an F4, but I've heard it isn't nearly as good. I think the difference is the battery back and motor drive have been improved on the F4s... [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to kentalan Visit kentalan's homepage! Find More Posts by kentalan
 
Characteristic of the D100
Old 08-21-2005, 01:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member GG#: 42793
Location: Moscow
Posts: 166
Comments: 0

kentalan is offline IP: 67.184.67.28
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I'm not an expert, and I don't remember everything, but I read an article once that said all digital capture devices intentionally soften an image. This is because something one pixel wide could be lost in parts of the sensor. For example, a hair could fall between the pixels and be lost. Therefore, sharpening must be done in post-processing. Before the Canon users jump on this, I do remember the article said every digital capture device, including scanners.

I use the D100, and have sharpening off. In fact, I have everything off--no hue, contrast, sharpening, autofocus, or program modes. I manually focus, manually expose, and do everything else on my computer which has replaced my darkroom. I get soft images, but when I go to Photoshop and apply unsharp mask and occasionally work with the high-pass method, I get all the sharpness I want.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to kentalan Visit kentalan's homepage! Find More Posts by kentalan
 
Re: F4s
Old 08-21-2005, 01:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Bawdy Little Monkey

 
SamBeasley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41173
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 1,385
Comments: 1
Send a message via AIM to SamBeasley Send a message via Yahoo to SamBeasley

SamBeasley is offline IP: 208.63.180.147
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[ QUOTE ]
If you get the F4, you can be just like me! Except, you would know what you're doing.

[/ QUOTE ]

Nope, I'd just LOOK like I'd know what I'm doing. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] It's actually an F4s...



The F4...



...is missing the MB-21 battery grip. There's also an F4e...



...that has a different type of grip and lets you use a Nicad power pack. So if everything check's out with the camera, I'm gonna be rockin' out like it's 1988 baby! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] Is it strange that I'm getting excited over a camera (that I'm actually gonna replace as my 35mm workhorse!) that's older than half my lifespan? [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]

EDIT: That came out wrong... I meant older than my own age, not lifespan... hopefully I'll live longer than this year. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

Sam
  View Public Profile Send a private message to SamBeasley Visit SamBeasley's homepage! Find More Posts by SamBeasley
 
Re: F4s
Old 08-21-2005, 01:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member GG#: 42793
Location: Moscow
Posts: 166
Comments: 0

kentalan is offline IP: 67.184.67.28
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Yep, that picture is the closest I've ever got to an F4. Mine is the F4s, and I recommend it. I've had it since college, and I don't know how Nikon could possibly build a better body. My 35mm camera envy ended when I got the F4s, and so I have no desire to even look at an F5 or F6. Well, on the envy issue, Leica R's are nice...
  View Public Profile Send a private message to kentalan Visit kentalan's homepage! Find More Posts by kentalan
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attn Elements Users - Upgrade path to CS4 Fred Gerhart Main Community Forum 0 08-15-2009 12:12 PM
In Praise Of The Nikon D100 DaveFoto Tech Talk Forum 5 10-05-2005 10:22 AM
Question re: Flash Cards for Nikon D100. DaveFoto Tech Talk Forum 2 06-07-2005 10:01 AM
E-10 users? Need some advice... murray1943 Tech Talk Forum 6 10-19-2003 11:17 AM
Nikon D100 vs. Fuji S2 - Question for users....... RichSchmidt Tech Talk Forum 22 09-25-2003 07:36 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93