Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Buttons, Dials, and Switches
Old 08-18-2005, 01:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Member GG#: 40892
Location: Simpsonville
Posts: 263
Comments: 0

smOKe013 is offline IP: 71.100.121.66
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

WHat have you found to be the most useful/useless of these on your camera? In my experience I've used AE/AF LOCK probably 3 times. Also, any tips or tricks for your favorite function?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to smOKe013 Visit smOKe013's homepage! Find More Posts by smOKe013
 
Re: Buttons, Dials, and Switches
Old 08-18-2005, 02:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
mfharper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35664
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 710
Comments: 1
My Mood:

mfharper is offline IP: 63.64.13.29
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I use AE lock on every shot, of cours I use the custom functions and actually use it to set the focus. AF lock is very usefull if you use ttl flash at weddings, I gave that up as a lost cause though.
Mark
  View Public Profile Send a private message to mfharper Visit mfharper's homepage! Find More Posts by mfharper
 
Re: Buttons, Dials, and Switches
Old 08-18-2005, 03:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Member GG#: 40892
Location: Simpsonville
Posts: 263
Comments: 0

smOKe013 is offline IP: 71.100.121.66
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Did you give up weddings or af lock?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to smOKe013 Visit smOKe013's homepage! Find More Posts by smOKe013
 
Re: Buttons, Dials, and Switches
Old 08-18-2005, 03:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member

 
JasonNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35318
Location: Denville
Posts: 363
Comments: 0

JasonNJ is offline IP: 68.196.99.6
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Call me crazy....


....... the on switch.



[img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]

JasonNJ
GPCB
  View Public Profile Send a private message to JasonNJ Visit JasonNJ's homepage! Find More Posts by JasonNJ
 
Re: Buttons, Dials, and Switches
Old 08-18-2005, 03:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Member GG#: 40892
Location: Simpsonville
Posts: 263
Comments: 0

smOKe013 is offline IP: 71.100.121.66
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

That's funny.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to smOKe013 Visit smOKe013's homepage! Find More Posts by smOKe013
 
Re: Buttons, Dials, and Switches
Old 08-18-2005, 04:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
mfharper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35664
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 710
Comments: 1
My Mood:

mfharper is offline IP: 63.64.13.29
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I gave up using TTL at weddings. If I have to use flash now I shoot in manual.
Mark
P.S.
Jason I'll bet you use the shutter button more then you use the on switch!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to mfharper Visit mfharper's homepage! Find More Posts by mfharper
 
Re: Buttons, Dials, and Switches
Old 08-18-2005, 10:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,660
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 67.162.234.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I would say I use the AF lock most of all the buttons. When shooting glamour you want to be able to shoot at the instant the subject has the right expression. So I focus on the eye, lock the focus, and then wait, or say something to get the model to react, and then snap. It seems to me that most everyone would be doing something like this if they really think about it.

I also use the Menu button a lot as well as the Info button to get a histogram or the DOF preview button.

Cheers,
rfs
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: Buttons, Dials, and Switches
Old 08-18-2005, 10:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Member GG#: 40892
Location: Simpsonville
Posts: 263
Comments: 0

smOKe013 is offline IP: 71.100.121.66
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Maybe I'm seeing AF Lock in a different light now. My camera's default is to lock AE and AF. My eyes are excellent so I tend to trust them more than the AF, not to mention fumbling through menus to change it over to AF Lock. But then change is inevitable isn't it? I'll try it out.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to smOKe013 Visit smOKe013's homepage! Find More Posts by smOKe013
 
Re: Buttons, Dials, and Switches
Old 08-18-2005, 10:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,660
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 67.162.234.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

It depends on the camera. On the Canon 20D you can make the shutter release lock the AF when you half press it. That's what I do. Since most studio shots are shot in manual, it has no effect on the exposure. But on the 20D you can seperate the function so that it does both AF/AE or just AF or just AE. You can also set the half shutter press to do the AE and the * button to do the AF lock. Each camera is different. But it really is a great aid to be able to lock one or the other sometimes.

For example, when I'm shooting some one at the front of a room with strong back light, the meter might be fooled. So I point the camera at the floor at the person's feet, half depress for shutter lock, then raise back up, compose, lock the focus with * and shoot. Works perfectly.

Cheers,
rfs
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: Buttons, Dials, and Switches
Old 08-18-2005, 10:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Member GG#: 40892
Location: Simpsonville
Posts: 263
Comments: 0

smOKe013 is offline IP: 71.100.121.66
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Yeah, It's the same with my Nikon but I'm usually using an incident meter. You know I started out with an AE-1, then we used the REbel x while I was in the Navy. I still don't know how or why I succumbed to buying a Nikon.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to smOKe013 Visit smOKe013's homepage! Find More Posts by smOKe013
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93