Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Flash sync problem
Old 07-20-2005, 10:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36203
Location: Owasso
Posts: 72
Comments: 0

coach is offline IP: 68.97.177.93
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Here I go again. I need some help. I have a Nikon D100 and it doesn't sync. when using flash strobes. I have used radio slaves and they work just fine but I am really under exposed indoors (Novatrons) and no flash recorded (Sunpak) on back lighting weddings. Any ideas?
Thanks
Robert
  View Public Profile Send a private message to coach Visit coach's homepage! Find More Posts by coach
 
Re: Flash sync problem
Old 07-20-2005, 11:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member GG#: 39608
Location: Hillsborough
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

hipchildreth is offline IP: 65.184.82.47
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

When you say it doesn't sync, do you mean the PC connector doesn't work or the hotshoe?

I like radio slaves indoors or out... I was glad to pack up my PC cord.

I probably don't understand your question, any more info?

  View Public Profile Send a private message to hipchildreth Visit hipchildreth's homepage! Find More Posts by hipchildreth
 
Re: Flash sync problem
Old 07-20-2005, 11:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Photomart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36974
Location: Dallas Fort Worth
Posts: 936
Comments: 0
My Mood:

Photomart is offline IP: 67.187.34.183
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

If you're in manual model, make sure your shutter speed doesn't exceed 200 (the D100 sync speed is 180 but 200 works fine for me). If you're in Program model, I don't believe the D100 will accurately sync with studio lights in Program mode. Did I understand your question?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Photomart Visit Photomart's homepage! Find More Posts by Photomart
 
Re: Flash sync problem
Old 07-20-2005, 11:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member GG#: 39608
Location: Hillsborough
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

hipchildreth is offline IP: 65.184.82.47
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Dam good point!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hipchildreth Visit hipchildreth's homepage! Find More Posts by hipchildreth
 
Re: Flash sync problem
Old 07-20-2005, 12:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member GG#: 42793
Location: Moscow
Posts: 166
Comments: 0

kentalan is offline IP: 67.184.67.28
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I'm not sure what your asking. Are you saying that the slaves did not seem to be in sync? What exact equipment were you using, specifically the flash attached to the D100? Was that flash in TTL or a different mode?

I have found that depending on the equipment and settings the slaves will fire with the pre-flash and appear out of sync. If the flash attached to the camera is set on any other setting than TTL, then you shouldn't have a problem.

I use the D100 set on manual or when I'm shooting with strobes, and use 1/125th or 1/60th. I haven't tried to sync any faster than that with my studio lights.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to kentalan Visit kentalan's homepage! Find More Posts by kentalan
 
Re: Flash sync problem
Old 07-20-2005, 05:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member GG#: 39147
Location: Biloxi
Posts: 11
Comments: 0

bobbo is offline IP: 24.116.50.37
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Porter's camera store has the nikon hot shoe adapter. It works good it runs about $25.It's the Nikon AS-15
  View Public Profile Send a private message to bobbo Find More Posts by bobbo
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High-speed sync flash brother7 Tech Talk Forum 4 02-20-2007 06:21 AM
Metering 550EX flash in High Speed Sync Mode Earl_B Tech Talk Forum 10 07-22-2005 06:41 PM
Going Digital Advice ABosio Tech Talk Forum 18 09-30-2003 10:06 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93