Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Two photoshop CS questions
Old 07-16-2005, 05:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36037
Posts: 140
Comments: 0

objektiv is offline IP: 69.139.86.155
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

WHen I import NEF files (Nikon raw from D70) using the plugin for photoshop CS automatically installed by picture project they come in as 8 bit files. I don't see any option to import as 16 bit. However with the same photoshop software (and same nikon software) on a friends computer they automatically seem to import at 16 bit. How can I get the images to imported at 16 bits?

Also wondering how I can get that little status bar back at the bottom of the photoshop window that shows the file and layer size (in megs)?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to objektiv Visit objektiv's homepage! Find More Posts by objektiv
 
Re: Two photoshop CS questions
Old 07-16-2005, 05:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,660
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 67.162.234.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

When the RAW converter pops up, if you look at the bottom of it, there is a selection box called Depth:



where you choose your bit depth. If you don't see the options shown here, click on the little check box that says "show workflow options" and it will appear.

For status bar at bottom, click on Window Menu, then click on status.

Cheers,
rfs
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: Two photoshop CS questions
Old 07-16-2005, 05:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member GG#: 39608
Location: Hillsborough
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

hipchildreth is offline IP: 65.184.82.47
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I'm using CS2 but I skipped over CS from 7 so I'm not sure if this will help.

When I double click a file in Bridge, the RAW converter opens. In the lower left corner there is a checkbox that says 'Show Workflow Options'. If you check it one of the options is 'Depth' where you can select 8, 16 or 32 Bits/Channel. So, if you can find Workflow Options you can probably set the import depth.

If you're in 'Standard Screen Mode' the the status bar should be visible. There is a triangle next to the end of the scroll bar, if you click it and highlight 'Show', you can select what information tidbit you prefer. Check your screen mode under the 'View' Menu.

Hope this helps.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hipchildreth Visit hipchildreth's homepage! Find More Posts by hipchildreth
 
Re: Two photoshop CS questions
Old 07-16-2005, 06:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36037
Posts: 140
Comments: 0

objektiv is offline IP: 69.139.86.155
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote



My window doesn't like that at all. This is what first pops up when I open an NEF...
  View Public Profile Send a private message to objektiv Visit objektiv's homepage! Find More Posts by objektiv
 
Re: Two photoshop CS questions
Old 07-16-2005, 06:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,660
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 67.162.234.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

In your original post, you said:

[ QUOTE ]
WHen I import NEF files (Nikon raw from D70) using the plugin for photoshop CS automatically installed by picture project they come in as 8 bit files.

[/ QUOTE ]

that you were using the plugin for Photoshop CS. The screen shot I showed you is from the Photoshop plugin.

So its unclear now what you are asking. Are you or are you not using Photoshop and its RAW converter (ACR)? By the way, the screen shot you show is not part of Photoshop as far as I can tell.

Cheers,
rfs
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: Two photoshop CS questions
Old 07-16-2005, 06:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Member GG#: 40892
Location: Simpsonville
Posts: 263
Comments: 0

smOKe013 is offline IP: 71.100.121.66
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

The screen shot you provided was from Nikon's Picture Project NEF editor.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to smOKe013 Visit smOKe013's homepage! Find More Posts by smOKe013
 
Re: Two photoshop CS questions
Old 07-16-2005, 06:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member GG#: 39608
Location: Hillsborough
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

hipchildreth is offline IP: 65.184.82.47
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Yep, that's Nikon View. I think your file association for a .nef file is set for the nikon view converter instead of Photoshop.

Instead of double clicking, try right clicking the file and select 'Open with...', then select Photoshop. See if the PS RAW screen pops up.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hipchildreth Visit hipchildreth's homepage! Find More Posts by hipchildreth
 
Re: Two photoshop CS questions
Old 07-16-2005, 08:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36037
Posts: 140
Comments: 0

objektiv is offline IP: 69.139.86.155
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

That screen shot was taken from photoshop. When I open an NEF file in photoshop that's what pops up. That appears inside photoshop without opening the Nikon software seperately. Where did I go wrong? Do I have to buy a seperate plugin? If I recall correctly photoshop cs would not open these files before installing nikon picture project.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to objektiv Visit objektiv's homepage! Find More Posts by objektiv
 
Re: Two photoshop CS questions
Old 07-16-2005, 08:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36037
Posts: 140
Comments: 0

objektiv is offline IP: 69.139.86.155
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

When I right click and open with photoshop the same thing happens.

I'm thinking I have to download another piece of software... Is this freely available?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to objektiv Visit objektiv's homepage! Find More Posts by objektiv
 
Re: Two photoshop CS questions
Old 07-16-2005, 08:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member GG#: 39608
Location: Hillsborough
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

hipchildreth is offline IP: 65.184.82.47
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

With Photoshop closed, use explorer to go to the "Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop CS\Plug-ins\Adobe Photoshop Only\File Formats" folder and rename the file "Nikon NEF Plugin.8bi" to something like Nikon "NEF Plugin.NOT". Open a file to See if the PS Camera RAW plugin pops up.
If that doesn't fix it you can go back and restore the Nikon View (Picture Project) NEF Plugin.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hipchildreth Visit hipchildreth's homepage! Find More Posts by hipchildreth
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smoke and Mirrors ... and Photoshop! Photomart Main Community Forum 3 12-14-2009 10:18 AM
Photoshop Question PhotoDave1 Tech Talk Forum 10 05-03-2007 02:11 AM
Photoshop, what version to buy or steal StuHaluski Tech Talk Forum 11 03-24-2005 07:27 PM
Poll on Photoshop CS StuHaluski Tech Talk Forum 9 11-13-2003 10:56 AM
Questions about photoshop (or similar) editing objektiv Tech Talk Forum 0 06-21-2003 02:33 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93