Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Just getting started
Old 07-13-2005, 02:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 40687
Comments: 0

PoDunk is offline IP: 68.13.113.20

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

I'm not sure that this is where I should ask this but being an IT techie by trade I figured I'd give it a shot in the tech forum. I've been one of those daily lurkers (sorry for looking at not commenting but who am I to say a darn thing to anyone? ) but I've admired the art on this site and now I'm going to attempt a start at it. My previous experience is no more than a GWC, I have been buying equipment though, learing how it works, and bought DVD's (Rolando's), and many books and mags trying to grasp the concept of this art and light. Probably I'm going at this to technical, but as I previously stated, that's my learned nature and the only way I know now how to start. What all this rambling boils down to is I now want to start getting kicked, hit, slam dunked, poked fun at, and blasted just like everyone else starting out. I have a thick skin as long as it's not personal, but I also have a strong sense of humor on that too. Anyway, below is my equipment and I want to start indoors. My area is a measily 10W x 20L x 8H' so please bare with me on that. It ain't perfect, but goodness knows I ain't either. Could anyone give me any technical (there's that word again) advice from what I've written as to what they would consider appropriate lighting and distance with what I have to work with? I have seen and read on these forums that experimenting is a key factor in all of this, but I'd at least like a place to start from and some ideas on what folks think may be problems I could encounter. Frankly I just