Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
virus
Old 06-16-2005, 11:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35241
Posts: 20
Comments: 0

dmart is offline IP: 206.107.222.129
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I somehow picked up a trojan virus. Norton identifies it (as well as other programs) but I cannot delete it.

c:\windows\system32\winzw.exe

I am using windows xp and cannot figure out how to get to dos, on boot up, to delete. Norton cannot delete...

I am at a loss as to how to handle this. Any ideas?

Darryl
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dmart Visit dmart's homepage! Find More Posts by dmart
 
Re: virus
Old 06-16-2005, 11:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StanTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36777
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 568
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to StanTom

StanTom is offline IP: 24.239.86.148
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have used grisofts anti virus to get rid of a few that norton won't touch
and its FREE !!
(I just can't get it setup around my email right , just to dumb to figure that part out)

http://free.grisoft.com/doc/2/lng/us/tpl/v5
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StanTom Find More Posts by StanTom
 
Re: virus
Old 06-17-2005, 04:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42400
Posts: 144
Comments: 0

MartinaSmith is offline IP: 24.91.85.52
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

One thing you might try is, go to your start button, then click the RUN command. When the box opens up type in the MSCONFIG and hit OK. Then on the new popup menu at the top go to the tab marked STARTUP. Slowly search down the list for that winzw.exe and take the checkmark out of the box. Then exit without restarting. Now press down and hold the ctrl button and the alt button, then with your other hand hit the DELETE button and up pops windows task manager. Now click the tab at top that says proccesses. scan down the list of programs running and find winzw.exe, right click it, and then left click the end proccess choice. A box pops up asking if this is what you want to do. click yes or ok and end that proccess. Now run nortons and see if it can get rid of that program.

You also might try rebooting your computer into safe mode, and while in safe mode, run nortons and have it get rid of it. Or while in safe mode go into the folder that program is in and delete the program itself.

Marty
  View Public Profile Send a private message to MartinaSmith Find More Posts by MartinaSmith
 
Re: virus
Old 06-17-2005, 11:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Olli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member GG#: 39548
Location: Charleston
Posts: 189
Comments: 15

Olli is offline IP: 198.253.20.81
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have found that many trojan horses cannot be deleted, but only quarantined. At that point they are safe and will not cause harm. The only way I have found to completely remove them is a low level format. Of course this removes everything else also.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Olli Visit Olli's homepage! Find More Posts by Olli
 
Re: grisoft
Old 06-17-2005, 11:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35241
Posts: 20
Comments: 0

dmart is offline IP: 69.68.205.172
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanx. It did indeed find problems missed by Norton. Hmmm...paying those fees for all of those years...

The software could not delete several of the .exe's. I used Marty's ideas to get around that problem.

Still working on the problem but this software helped quite a bit.
Best, Darryl
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dmart Visit dmart's homepage! Find More Posts by dmart
 
Re: virus
Old 06-17-2005, 11:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member GG#: 39045
Location: Monterrey
Posts: 4
Comments: 0

alexagui is offline IP: 201.128.180.57
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

GET A MAC ! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to alexagui Find More Posts by alexagui
 
Re: thanx
Old 06-17-2005, 11:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35241
Posts: 20
Comments: 0

dmart is offline IP: 69.68.205.172
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanx, Marty. Your ideas gave me insight into how to wipe out portions of the problems.

I am not finished, yet, but thanx to you I'm gaining. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Best, Darryl
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dmart Visit dmart's homepage! Find More Posts by dmart
 
Re: virus
Old 06-17-2005, 12:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member

 
Hailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42462
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 456
Comments: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to Hailey

Hailey is offline IP: 65.188.95.125
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

i use avg, and it works fine. Have you tried turnning OFF your system restore and running your antivirus? Sometimes they are in your sys vol info and if your restore is turned on, it wont pick it up. Just be sure to turn it back on after your done and restart your pc.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Hailey Visit Hailey's homepage! Find More Posts by Hailey
 
restore
Old 06-17-2005, 12:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35241
Posts: 20
Comments: 0

dmart is offline IP: 208.13.135.155
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanx. I will give that a try, next.

Best, Darryl
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dmart Visit dmart's homepage! Find More Posts by dmart
 
more info
Old 06-17-2005, 12:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35241
Posts: 20
Comments: 0

dmart is offline IP: 208.13.135.155
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

hmmm...the further I go...

on reboot: explorer comes up automatically and goes to a website that I cannot define. I've just disconnected from the router until I can find out how this is happening.

Not getting much real work done today!

Darryl
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dmart Visit dmart's homepage! Find More Posts by dmart
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Solution To The Backup Issue PhotoDave1 Tech Talk Forum 9 09-09-2007 09:10 AM
Urgent Warning to Mac Users StMarc Tech Talk Forum 17 05-16-2005 05:39 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93