Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Beginner: How to get best possible beach pics with minimal gear?
Old 05-02-2005, 10:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 41969
Comments: 0

jdavtz is offline IP: 84.67.53.128

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Hi,

I'm fairly new to shooting on beaches (as I live in the UK!) but when I go on honeymoon in July my wife-to-be and I both want to get some nice shots of her on the beach (in Zanzibar). She is Kenyan and has mid-brown skin - if that makes any difference.

I shoot 35mm film at the moment, and have had good results with Fuji Reala 100. Should I be thinking of using any other film? If I can afford it, I'm very tempted to switch to a Canon 350D. I have 24/2.8, 50/1.4 and 100/2 lenses, and a 550EX flashgun.

So what advice would any of you offer me re: taking the best beach photos?

Should I be using flash? With exposure compensation? No flash?

What if it's overcast?

Which focal length and apertures do you think would give the most pleasing results?

Does a polarising filter help?

I've included some pictures that we took in Kenya a few months ago; any suggestions for improvements in posing and lighting etc. would be gratefully received.

I don't really have any opportunity to experiment (not on a white beach in the sunshine, anyway!) so I'd appreciate any hints or tips. I don't really want to be buying and carrying reflectors or any extra gear, unless there's some lightweight stuff that will make a significant difference.

Thanks for any help at all!

Jon.

Previous unguided attempts at beach photos:

View Public Profile Send a private message to jdavtz Find More Posts by jdavtz

Re: Beginner: How to get best possible beach pics with minimal gear?