Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
20D Tethered?
Old 04-04-2005, 11:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 38049
Location: Tracy
Posts: 101
Comments: 0

Michael_G is offline IP: 69.225.68.254
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Anyone shooting a 20D tethered to a computer? I guess it can be done. What limitations to shooting rate, etc will there be? Is it worth it? Thanks.

Mike G
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Michael_G Visit Michael_G's homepage! Find More Posts by Michael_G
 
Re: 20D Tethered?
Old 04-04-2005, 11:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
darrellp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Member GG#: 38868
Location: Seattle
Posts: 146
Comments: 0

darrellp is offline IP: 24.19.221.29
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Michael, I've got the 10D. I've played around with the tethered shooting feature a bit. It seemed a little slow. I'd do more experimenting if I knew where to get a longer cable at a reasonable price. Any ideas?
Thanks,
Darrell
  View Public Profile Send a private message to darrellp Visit darrellp's homepage! Find More Posts by darrellp
 
Re: 20D Tethered?
Old 04-05-2005, 12:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 38049
Location: Tracy
Posts: 101
Comments: 0

Michael_G is offline IP: 69.225.68.254
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Darrell; Thanks. So it can be done. I'll look for a long USB cable tomorrow. OK...I just checked B&H and they have 12 footers for about $30. Might work. Not sure if you can join them together or maybe run through a USB hub and get a little extra length? How slow is 'slow' with the 10D? I'm sure a lot depends on your system. Mine ain't a rocket. Wondering if it's worth the hassle. Any thoughts?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Michael_G Visit Michael_G's homepage! Find More Posts by Michael_G
 
Re: 20D Tethered?
Old 04-05-2005, 12:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Jason407's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member GG#: 38303
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 289
Comments: 0

Jason407 is offline IP: 24.95.242.171
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have shot with my Digital Rebel tethered...and plan on doing it when I get my 20d next week. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

How slow it is depends on what you are doing...
You can shoot to the cf card just as fast as normal...but it takes time for the images to be sent thru the USB cord to the computer. If you are shooting RAW, this will be WAY slow...large jpgs still take about 15-20 seconds, which is too long for my tastes.

The way I work is this...
I set the camera to the small jpeg setting, and take my test shots...I can see the image on the computer in like 2 seconds, and can use that image to adjust my lighting and everything until I have it where I want for that setup. Then, I unplug from the computer, set back to RAW and shoot away. Each time I change setups, I plug in gain and do my tests tethered.

And yes, you can use a hub or long cable to extend the length...to an extent.

Hope this helps. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Jason407 Visit Jason407's homepage! Find More Posts by Jason407
 
Re: 20D Tethered?
Old 04-05-2005, 01:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 38049
Location: Tracy
Posts: 101
Comments: 0

Michael_G is offline IP: 69.225.68.254
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks, Jason. That helps a lot. Sounds like a good workflow model. BTW, I checked out your website and absolutely love the bottom left shot on the Headshots page. Did you use a big box for that? Looks like square catchlights. Beautiful soft effect. Let me know how you did it. Michael G
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Michael_G Visit Michael_G's homepage! Find More Posts by Michael_G
 
Re: 20D Tethered?
Old 04-05-2005, 01:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Jason407's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member GG#: 38303
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 289
Comments: 0

Jason407 is offline IP: 24.95.242.171
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks!!!!

For that shot, I just used a large piece of Nylon hung between 2 stands and a strobe behind it...so, YES, it was essentially just a big softbox. I am standing directly in front of it which some people may believe is a No No because if you look close you can see my silhouette in the catchlights...I kind of enjoy it. (I happen to see it done in Makeup ads all the time) [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Jason407 Visit Jason407's homepage! Find More Posts by Jason407
 
Re: 20D Tethered?
Old 04-05-2005, 01:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
JohnPaul
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 66.94.222.193
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote



I haven't attempted it as of yet because I now shoot RAW all the time..the thing is...is that is is slow as hell...and I know the difference between the firewire and the USB2...I heard people compare USB2 to firewire...but I'm not sure why because firewire far out classes the pokey USB2.. In the D30 days, I tried it which was about as fast as waiting to die when shooting RAW..

This is what I've heard.. that when Canon releases the wireless unit, it will be compatable with the 20D on up the line..which remains to be seen.....and everyone knows how fast wireless stuff is... nice and quick..

I'm not sure if maxing out your computer's RAM will make a difference or not but it is good to have max RAM to begin with..

What I have done a lot is (just to view and select the imaes)....bring along my 13" TV set, and hook up the video cords back and forth and even with the 10D, it is as quick as the camera can display the images...with the 20D, it is much faster.. I have used this for PR shots.. it basically turns your back LCD into a big monitor...because it is instant..as you scroll through the menues..etc..

Good luck!

JP
 
 
Re: 20D Tethered?
Old 04-05-2005, 01:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
darrellp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Member GG#: 38868
Location: Seattle
Posts: 146
Comments: 0

darrellp is offline IP: 24.19.221.29
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Jason, Where'd you get the longer cable? What type do I ask for? I couldn't find the cable Michael was talking about at B and H. Thanks, Darrell
  View Public Profile Send a private message to darrellp Visit darrellp's homepage! Find More Posts by darrellp
 
Re: 20D Tethered?
Old 04-05-2005, 02:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 38049
Location: Tracy
Posts: 101
Comments: 0

Michael_G is offline IP: 69.225.68.254
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Cheers, JP. The TV thing sounds good. Didn't think of that. I'll give it a shot. MG
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Michael_G Visit Michael_G's homepage! Find More Posts by Michael_G
 
Re: 20D Tethered?
Old 04-05-2005, 02:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 38049
Location: Tracy
Posts: 101
Comments: 0

Michael_G is offline IP: 69.225.68.254
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Cheers, Jason. Now I see your reflection in her eyes. Doesn't bother me at all. I'm putting together a PVC frame for some of those 42 x 72" screens. That should get me a similar result with a diffusion panel, right? I like the colour version of that shot, too. Thanks. Mike G
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Michael_G Visit Michael_G's homepage! Find More Posts by Michael_G
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tethered shooting, pc-laptop specs? nakins Tech Talk Forum 0 12-03-2008 10:11 PM
Anyone shoot Canon 5D tethered? If so, how? kgphoto Tech Talk Forum 11 05-29-2008 02:00 PM
Teathered Shooting yngfireman Tech Talk Forum 21 03-11-2008 02:22 PM
tethered Hoosier_Daddy Tech Talk Forum 3 09-07-2005 08:52 AM
Fuji S2 tethered shooting... photoknight Tech Talk Forum 3 01-08-2005 10:11 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93