Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
One more wattage Question...
Old 03-25-2005, 11:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42373
Location: Lexington
Posts: 366
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to jackell

jackell is offline IP: 24.159.74.160
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

And then I promise to shut up about this.
It just has me a tinsy bit flumoxed at the moment.

When looking at strobe kits should I look at the w/s of individual lights or total output of the entire package?

for example one kit says 480 w/s
but it hasfour lights: 1) 220 w/s 2) 120 w/s and 1) 20 w/s
WTH??

Please advise which I should be looking at.
And if someone wanted to shoot me a good round w/s number to get me started that would be really cool too.

Thanks.
Jack
  View Public Profile Send a private message to jackell Visit jackell's homepage! Find More Posts by jackell
 
Re: One more wattage Question...
Old 03-25-2005, 12:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36812
Location: Saginaw
Posts: 320
Comments: 0

j4m3z is offline IP: 67.133.241.34
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Depends on the type of lights you're looking at. If you're looking a pack/head lights you can only look at the ws of the entire system and the maximum ws rating of the heads (flashtubes). If you're looking at monolights, you're looking at each light individually.

-James
  View Public Profile Send a private message to j4m3z Visit j4m3z's homepage! Find More Posts by j4m3z
 
Re: One more wattage Question...
Old 03-25-2005, 12:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42373
Location: Lexington
Posts: 366
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to jackell

jackell is offline IP: 24.159.74.160
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

It's three individual slave type strobes...I'm not sure what else to say about them.
my limited latin vocabulary tells me monolight means 1 light. but where I'm getting lost is am I looking for a total wattage for the number of lights I plan to use or do I need higher wattage individual lights?
Most of the reccomendations I've seen say no less than 500 w/s usually in the 1000 w/s range. but is that a 3 light total or per light?
Hope this hasn't confused you as much as it has me.
Thanks.
Jack
  View Public Profile Send a private message to jackell Visit jackell's homepage! Find More Posts by jackell
 
Re: One more wattage Question...
Old 03-25-2005, 12:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36812
Location: Saginaw
Posts: 320
Comments: 0

j4m3z is offline IP: 67.133.241.34
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Ok. A pack system converts and stores AC electricity as pool of high voltage DC electricity that all attached heads can pull from (roughly, some systems separate the heads). Monolights contain and convert the energy in the head, and plug directly into the wall. There's only on part, hence monolight. Personally I'd say don't waste your money on slave type strobes. Look into Novatrons/Speedotron Brownline for pack/head systems, or Alienbees/White-Lightning for monolights. If you can't afford to, or just don't want to jump in that far yet, get a vivitar 283/285hv, a slave shoe, lightstand, and umbrella.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to j4m3z Visit j4m3z's homepage! Find More Posts by j4m3z
 
Re: One more wattage Question...
Old 03-25-2005, 01:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42373
Location: Lexington
Posts: 366
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to jackell

jackell is offline IP: 24.159.74.160
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

It's starting to make more sense now...a little more at least.
I'm liking the monolight idea seems like less to screw up.
but I'm still not overly clear on the amount of light to get me started.
total wattage vs. combined for multiple monos...

(I know I'm probably being overly dense today but I don't want to spend a bunch of money only to find out I didn't get something I can work with, at least until I can get a few gigs that pay.)

Thank you for your help.
Jack
  View Public Profile Send a private message to jackell Visit jackell's homepage! Find More Posts by jackell
 
Re: One more wattage Question...
Old 03-25-2005, 01:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Jason407's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member GG#: 38303
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 289
Comments: 0

Jason407 is offline IP: 24.95.242.171
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

As has been said, if you are looking at monolights (which you are) you need to be looking at the individual power of each unit. I don't think that you need to be ALWAYS above 500w/s with each unit, but a 20w/s unit is not going to do you much good. There is also a little grey area between TRUE Watt Seconds and EFFECTIVE Watt Seconds.

I started with an Ebay kit that had 3 130w/s monolight strobes. It was good to learn on, but now I want more power. I just ordered an Alien Bee B800. It is a 800w/s (effective) monolight.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Jason407 Visit Jason407's homepage! Find More Posts by Jason407
 
Re: One more wattage Question...
Old 03-25-2005, 01:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36812
Location: Saginaw
Posts: 320
Comments: 0

j4m3z is offline IP: 67.133.241.34
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Usually they're talking about the sum of the whole system. But pay attention to the ratios. If you have a 200ws light a 20ws light won't do you a whole lot of good as there's more than a 3 stop difference between the two. Try to keep the lights winthin one stop of each other like a 400ws and a 200ws pair. Generally more is better, because you can always reduce the power of a light.

-James
  View Public Profile Send a private message to j4m3z Visit j4m3z's homepage! Find More Posts by j4m3z
 
Re: One more wattage Question...
Old 03-25-2005, 01:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42373
Location: Lexington
Posts: 366
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to jackell

jackell is offline IP: 24.159.74.160
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I think we're on the right trip now.

Jason, it sounds like you started about where I'm looking now.
I had already figured out the 20w was a waste of time. but I was also looking at a 3 light set where each light is I think 120 w/s.
I'm just trying to make sure something like that will be adequate for me to get started. And the whole mono vs. pac was screwing me up b/c I didn't know if 500 w total was the starting point or if 3 500 watt lights was the starting point. If the answer was 500 each then I didn't want to blow money on a package total that wasn't even close to what I needed.
Thanks So Much Guys.
I'm usually faster on the uptake than this I swear.
Jack
  View Public Profile Send a private message to jackell Visit jackell's homepage! Find More Posts by jackell
 
Re: One more wattage Question...
Old 03-25-2005, 02:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
wgiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35459
Location: Girard
Posts: 129
Comments: 0

wgiles is offline IP: 207.0.59.97
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

When you look at strobes, always look at the amount that the power can be reduced to and whether it can be continously varied or has to be reduced by steps. Most of the good current strobes will adjust continuously from full power down to 1/16 or 1/32 power. This is 4 to 5 stops, depending on how you look at it. Many of the cheaper ones and most of the older ones only had three settings, full, 1/2 and 1/4 power, 2 stops. The greater the adjustment range, the better off you are. There are many times that you will find that you have too much power. If you can't reduce the power level, you have to move the lights back or increase your f-stop (or use neutral density gels) which may affect the quality of light or depth of field. One of the big advantages of the new digital cameras is the ability to change ISO speed ratings with little loss of image quality. I usually range from ISO 100 to 400 and that gives me two additional stops. It is impossible to predict the amount of light that you will need until you can actually measure the amount of light delivered to your subject. I would generally suggest systems with around 300 to 400 true watt-seconds per head with as much turndown as possible. For me, the Alien Bee 800's with the remote control will be the ideal system. I can't afford it yet, but there is no point in spending money on something else.

I hope that this is useful to you.

Bill
  View Public Profile Send a private message to wgiles Visit wgiles's homepage! Find More Posts by wgiles
 
Re: One more wattage Question...
Old 03-25-2005, 02:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42373
Location: Lexington
Posts: 366
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to jackell

jackell is offline IP: 24.159.74.160
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I must have just used bad phrasing or something the first two times I tried to get these answers. You guys have given me more to work off in one afternoon than I got off the two previous posts put together. THANK YOU ALL!
I was beginning to feel a little lost on the most basic part of all this.
Now at least I'm starting to feel confident enough to spend some money and see what happenes next.
I already have two possibly three chances to make a little money if I get get some half-way decent work turned out. But I knew I didn't have enough light to do the jobs as inside shoots, and it's still too early in the year to plan an outdoor shoot very far in advance.

Thanks again. I'll let you know how I come out.
Jack
  View Public Profile Send a private message to jackell Visit jackell's homepage! Find More Posts by jackell
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tech question - Film - darkroom / in camera - HDR c_canade' Tech Talk Forum 2 05-15-2008 08:59 PM
Answer a Photo Question then leave a Photo Question? rolandogomez Main Community Forum 35 12-02-2007 07:00 PM
Answer to question on sensor size vs crop factor Brad Tech Talk Forum 17 01-02-2006 10:40 PM
A question on digital use due to JT's question jford Tech Talk Forum 11 12-03-2002 06:58 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93