Photo Tips Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
A couple Newbie Questions
Old 02-19-2005, 07:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36882
Location: Antioch,Ca.
Posts: 1,046
Comments: 2
My Mood:

RonC is offline IP: 24.4.80.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

1: For the Canon shooters: Is there a way to fire my 420EX speed light used as a SLAVE, without having the 550EX or a cable connection?

(I have an IR Flash Trigger, which fires my strobes, but won't fire the 420EX)

2: I'm wondering if any of you DO NOT METER your studio strobe lighting,
and just go by reading the LCD and Histogram.

Thanks in advance [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
RonC
PS This was taken useing my strobes, by chimping a few shots to get the fstop.

  View Public Profile Send a private message to RonC Visit RonC's homepage! Find More Posts by RonC
 
Re: A couple Newbie Questions
Old 02-19-2005, 09:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Member GG#: 39424
Location: Pawleys Island
Posts: 8
Comments: 0

TheSecretWorld is offline IP: 24.88.26.204
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

The 420 communicates by preflash with the master unit in your system, not by IR. BUT I believe that you can put the 420 in manual mode then attatch it to a remote flash sensor hot shoe and that will fire it. That would be the only way.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to TheSecretWorld Visit TheSecretWorld's homepage! Find More Posts by TheSecretWorld
 
Re: A couple Newbie Questions
Old 02-19-2005, 09:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Jason407's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member GG#: 38303
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 289
Comments: 0

Jason407 is offline IP: 66.230.74.196
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

1) you can get a hotshoe IR sensor that can fire any hotshoe flash...and they are pretty cheap.

2) I do not have a meter...many people say that you don't really need one with digital, but I am still going to get one very soon. It is true that you can usually get the right setting with a few test shots, I just want to save a little time and be able to use the meter in more difficult situations.

The other day I wanted to try shooting outside with my strobe and get some of those dark sky shots...I was pretty sure that my low power strobes would not be enough, but the only way I could really know was to drag them out and do some tests. (ok, not really, but it is good for this example)If I had a meter, I could have known in just a few seconds without dragging anything outside but a tiny meter. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

My vote is to get a meter if you can afford it...it will save little time, and make you look really cool! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Jason407 Visit Jason407's homepage! Find More Posts by Jason407
 
Re: A couple Newbie Questions
Old 02-19-2005, 09:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36882
Location: Antioch,Ca.
Posts: 1,046
Comments: 2
My Mood:

RonC is offline IP: 24.4.80.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[ QUOTE ]
The 420 communicates by preflash with the master unit in your system, not by IR. BUT I believe that you can put the 420 in manual mode then attatch it to a remote flash sensor hot shoe and that will fire it. That would be the only way.

[/ QUOTE ]

Thanks, I'll check into that. Do you know what that (remote flash sensor hot shoe )is called, who makes it, model number, or where to get one?
Thanks, Ron
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RonC Visit RonC's homepage! Find More Posts by RonC
 
Re: A couple Newbie Questions
Old 02-19-2005, 09:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Jason407's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member GG#: 38303
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 289
Comments: 0

Jason407 is offline IP: 66.230.74.196
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...rch&Q=&ci=1736
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Jason407 Visit Jason407's homepage! Find More Posts by Jason407
 
Re: A couple Newbie Questions
Old 02-19-2005, 10:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36882
Location: Antioch,Ca.
Posts: 1,046
Comments: 2
My Mood:

RonC is offline IP: 24.4.80.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[ QUOTE ]
1) you can get a hotshoe IR sensor that can fire any hotshoe flash...and they are pretty cheap.

[/ QUOTE ]

Great, I will look into that option also. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

In your example: Are you metering your subject in the ambient light to see if your strobes could provide enough light for the camera settings you want to use?

Wouldn't the reverse be,..to drag the lights out anyway, fire them and get an incident reading at the subject, and then set the camera? Can you tell I'm new to all this? [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]

[ QUOTE ]
My vote is to get a meter if you can afford it...it will save little time, and make you look really cool!

[/ QUOTE ]

I never thought about how COOL I would look,
with a meter hanging around my neck [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]

Thanks,Ron
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RonC Visit RonC's homepage! Find More Posts by RonC
 
Re: A couple Newbie Questions
Old 02-19-2005, 10:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36882
Location: Antioch,Ca.
Posts: 1,046
Comments: 2
My Mood:

RonC is offline IP: 24.4.80.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for the link Jason, I see there are quite a few to choose from, I'll have to call them and make sure the one I pick works on the 420EX. The first one on that page say's it isn't compatable with canon.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RonC Visit RonC's homepage! Find More Posts by RonC
 
Re: A couple Newbie Questions
Old 02-20-2005, 12:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35714
Location: Some pile of dung named Vegas
Posts: 66
Comments: 0

edrem3 is offline IP: 68.104.23.93
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I couldn't tell you about the flash, but I can tell you that you're better off metering your strobes. First, I would think you'd save time, by not looking at your camera every shot for the first bunch of pictures. This could only make the model feel you don't know what you're doing. (We don't want that to happen [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]) Secondly, if you're using more than 1 light, how would you know if your side light is a 1/2 stop under or your hair light a 1/2 stop over? Your LCD will help and give you an overall idea of what the shoot looks like, but can't tell you exactly if you're on. Remember, it's only there for a guide, and not to check exposure. Your historgram is an invaluable tool, but again, it can't tell you if your rim light is the exact exposure that you want. So yeah, I would say, get a meter and use it. At least you'll look cool with it hanging around your neck! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]

  View Public Profile Send a private message to edrem3 Visit edrem3's homepage! Find More Posts by edrem3
 
Re: A couple Newbie Questions
Old 02-20-2005, 01:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36882
Location: Antioch,Ca.
Posts: 1,046
Comments: 2
My Mood:

RonC is offline IP: 24.4.80.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I'll no doubt end up getting a meter before too long,...I think I have all I need and then one thing leads to another,...you probably know how that goes.

Thanks for replying,Ron
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RonC Visit RonC's homepage! Find More Posts by RonC
 
Re: A couple Newbie Questions
Old 02-20-2005, 04:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36117
Location: Hiram
Posts: 141
Comments: 0

C_J_Samples is offline IP: 69.241.0.124
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I too would suggest a meter. My life has been much easier since I purchased the L-358 from B and H. Add it to the cart and you will notice a lower price.

As to dragging the shutter here is what I do and it seems to work just fine. You use the shutter for the ambient and use the f-stop for strobe power. Two meter readings and you will nail it dead on. Pop the strobe to see what the f-stop needs to be first. It will control you model lighting and give you an f-stop to work with for the shutter time. Adjust your strobe for the needed depth of field, but go as low as possible. It will be easier for the model. Then dial in the f-stop on the meter and measure ambient for your shutter speed, making sure to not trigger the strobe when doing this.

The sekonic L-358 is a great little meter and buy the pocket wizard trigger when purchasing for a much cheaper price. I am thinking it was less than 50% of the originalk price when bought with the meter.




Chris Graphic Images
  View Public Profile Send a private message to C_J_Samples Visit C_J_Samples's homepage! Find More Posts by C_J_Samples
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your newest neighbor, with a couple of pictures. douglas carl Main Community Forum 5 11-05-2009 10:14 PM
My new camera + a couple questions 2112 Tech Talk Forum 13 07-04-2005 06:35 PM
Infrared exposure and airport questions scottdial Tech Talk Forum 8 11-25-2004 04:55 PM
I have a couple questions? RonC Tech Talk Forum 12 01-24-2004 11:07 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93