Photo Tips Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
On-camera flash softbox selection question
Old 02-05-2005, 11:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Kurt_Gearheart
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 68.35.69.218
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hey all!

I'm selecting an on-camera flash softbox.

Never used or even seen one used before. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]

Using a D70 if that matters.

Now, do I have to get a hotshoe mount type flash, then get a flash softbox...

or is there a flash softbox that'll work with the pop-up flash of the D70...

or can I make something that'll work well enough?

This is for (at least immediately) doing candids at a crowded party.

This looks nice... I assume (duh) I'll need a hotshoe mount flash?

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...u=32690&is=REG

If so, recommendations?

(Damn, photographersgottahavealottash*t!)

Thanks in advance...
 
 
Re: On-camera flash softbox selection question
Old 02-05-2005, 11:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36812
Location: Saginaw
Posts: 320
Comments: 0

j4m3z is offline IP: 69.243.110.10
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Personally I like Adorama's Strobo Sock I've used Lumiquest's midi-bouncer and mini-soft box and I think the strobo socks do just as well, are half the price, don't require velcro on your strobe, and can easily fit into any overstuffed camera bag.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to j4m3z Visit j4m3z's homepage! Find More Posts by j4m3z
 
Re: On-camera flash softbox selection question
Old 02-05-2005, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36812
Location: Saginaw
Posts: 320
Comments: 0

j4m3z is offline IP: 69.243.110.10
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

On your question as to whether or not you should get a hot shoe flash, you really should. The on-camera flash will drain your camera's batteries quickly, plus everyone you take pics of will have to be about 10ft or less from you. Pop-up flashes just don't have the power of a decent hot shoe flash. The next thing you'll need is a flash bracket and an off camera sync cord. The flash bracket keeps the flash directly above you lens in both landscape and portrait pictures, the Strobo-frame quickflip is a good intro model. This is important because otherwise you'll have a very annoying shadow from the side when you turn your camera to shoot in portrait. The frame also gets your flash a little higher which reduces red eye drasticly. The cord ideally extends the TTL abilities of your flash and gives it a hot shoe you can mount to the frame with a 1/4 threaded screw. This is what I use for weddings and it always delivers pleasant lighting without redeye.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to j4m3z Visit j4m3z's homepage! Find More Posts by j4m3z
 
Re: On-camera flash softbox selection question
Old 02-05-2005, 01:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35195
Posts: 440
Comments: 0

rjwarren is offline IP: 24.160.122.68
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Kurt

Here's what I use:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...u=32576&is=REG

It's attached with a nice sized rubber band -- looks really professional that way [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

I tilt the head at 45 degress and reflect the light down, so I don't get red-eye. Works well for event photography.

I would recommend a hot-shoe flash. You can always get an AS-15 hot shoe PC connection and take it off camera. I do that from time to time.

One thought -- we often talk about how "lazy" photographer have become. Between auto-everything and Photoshopping previously worthless images, no one ever really "works" at getting an image. The same with flash units. If you buy the Nikon SB-80 or 800 or whatever they came out with last week, it will do TTL, e-TTL, adn get you a cup of coffee. However, if you don't mind doing a LITTLE work to figure out your exposure you can buy a Vivitar 285 or Sunpack 385 for not much money, LOTS of light and plenty of useful life.

Bob

  View Public Profile Send a private message to rjwarren Visit rjwarren's homepage! Find More Posts by rjwarren
 
Re: On-camera flash softbox selection question
Old 02-05-2005, 01:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Member GG#: 40476
Location: Peachtree City
Posts: 60
Comments: 0

RM_Drake is offline IP: 66.245.64.184
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I remember back in the "olden days" I had a bracket that snapped onto my Vivitar flash and held an 8x10" Kodak 18% grey card. The back of the card was white and slightly textured, so it made a perfect bounce surface when you didn't have a low, white ceiling. Hmmm... I wonder where I packed that thing... --Randy
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RM_Drake Visit RM_Drake's homepage! Find More Posts by RM_Drake
 
Re: On-camera flash softbox selection question
Old 02-05-2005, 03:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Basepin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member GG#: 39219
Location: Jessup
Posts: 79
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via ICQ to Basepin Send a message via AIM to Basepin Send a message via MSN to Basepin Send a message via Yahoo to Basepin

Basepin is offline IP: 68.54.88.249
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I've had pretty good luck with the Vivitar 285HV and the Lumiquest softbox you've linked. I don't believe the on camera flash is strong enough.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Basepin Visit Basepin's homepage! Find More Posts by Basepin
 
i know this is gonna sound like a real pain in the butt to do but...
Old 02-05-2005, 08:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Pro Shooter

 
jimmyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Member GG#: 38375
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,078
Comments: 2

jimmyd is offline IP: 69.175.243.184
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

besides getting some sort of something to diffuse an on-camera strobe, speedlite, whatever (lumiquest, strobosock, whatever, etc.),i also think you should get a brackett, like a strobo-whatever it's called. beyond that and for some really interesting shots, bring along a synch cord (not to long, maybe one that coiled) so you can hand-hold your strobe/speedlite away from the camera, pointing at walls, ceilings, the floor, anything reflective, or at your subjects from some rakish interesting angles. that'll give you an interesting sources of light, cool shadows, etc. i'm not saying to get all psychedellic with the light source, and i now it's a pain cuz you're holding your camera with one hand (make sure you have a strap on it and around your neck) and the strobe in another, but i'll bet some of the coolest candids you'll shoot will be some of those and you'll really wow the people who see some of them.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to jimmyd Visit jimmyd's homepage! Find More Posts by jimmyd
 
Vivitar 285
Old 02-06-2005, 10:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35383
Location: Franklin
Posts: 33
Comments: 0

MichaelJ is offline IP: 63.172.168.223
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Well Bob, imagine my disappointment when I found that neither my Vivitar 285HV or 283 are safe to use with my DigiRebel because they produce a voltage that can damage the circuitry. I used to love mounting one of the Vivitars on my Stroboframe with the quick flip gizzy on my old Pentax. Now I have to rethink the whole system. Very soon I plan to start by getting one of these.


  View Public Profile Send a private message to MichaelJ Visit MichaelJ's homepage! Find More Posts by MichaelJ
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WB setting for strobes? LePhotography08 Tech Talk Forum 13 01-09-2008 09:48 AM
On Camera Flash Softbox otto0 Tech Talk Forum 4 09-13-2004 06:47 PM
Going Digital Advice ABosio Tech Talk Forum 18 09-30-2003 10:06 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93