Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Quick prints from digital - resolution question
Old 01-13-2005, 01:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35977
Posts: 609
Comments: 0

Andy_Pearlman is offline IP: 66.159.232.22
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

If I do a quick and dirty digital shoot, and need to make a quick set of 4x6 prints at the nearest drugstore on their one-hour machines, do those machines take my 72ppi 3000x2000 pixel image and automatically change the resolution to some larger ppi, and smaller image dimensions to make it fit on the 4x6 paper? Or do I need to change it in PS before I burn the files to a CD? I know some camera modes shoot in 300ppi, but many shoot at 72ppi, so how else do they get the resolution up?

Thanks,
Andy Pearlman
Andy Pearlman Studio
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Andy_Pearlman Visit Andy_Pearlman's homepage! Find More Posts by Andy_Pearlman
 
Re: Quick prints from digital - resolution question
Old 01-13-2005, 02:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35360
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 300
Comments: 0

Clint is offline IP: 24.119.55.129
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

ppi dont matter. Send 3072x2048 72dpi images to Mpix all the time and have prints up to 20x30 with no probs.

the dpi really only matters if you are doing prints at home. The machines at wallys, costco, mpix, ezprints go off your pixel count...in my case it is 3072x2048
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Clint Visit Clint's homepage! Find More Posts by Clint
 
Re: Quick prints from digital - resolution question
Old 01-13-2005, 11:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Paul_Ferrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Member GG#: 36731
Location: Columbus
Posts: 143
Comments: 0
My Mood:

Paul_Ferrara is offline IP: 24.208.134.222
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I think you'd have to ask. PPI does matter. If they left them at 72 dpi and then cropped you'd end up with a far inferior print than if they upsized to 300 dpi and then cropped.

Paul
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Paul_Ferrara Visit Paul_Ferrara's homepage! Find More Posts by Paul_Ferrara
 
Re: Quick prints from digital - resolution question
Old 01-13-2005, 12:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35195
Posts: 440
Comments: 0

rjwarren is offline IP: 24.160.125.86
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Andy

The file is actually 3000x2000. There is no dpi unless you're printing it -- and I mean YOU'RE printing it -- or unless you resized the image.

Think of a dab of butter off of the stick. That's you're image. You're smearing over a certain size of bread. If there's not enough to cover, then you get a thin coating. Like pixels -- you need at least 800x1200 to get a decent 4x6 print. If you have more -- great!

Bob

  View Public Profile Send a private message to rjwarren Visit rjwarren's homepage! Find More Posts by rjwarren
 
Re: Quick prints from digital - resolution question
Old 01-13-2005, 12:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Member GG#: 40476
Location: Peachtree City
Posts: 60
Comments: 0

RM_Drake is offline IP: 68.84.254.39
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

When I need a quick set of 4x6 prints, I dump the camera's CFlash card to a CD, then head over to Costco. The machine takes my 6 MP camera's uncorrected JPG files and spits out a set of decent prints (100 prints in less than an hour) for 29¢ each. It even prints my name, the date, and the file name on the back of each print! --Randy
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RM_Drake Visit RM_Drake's homepage! Find More Posts by RM_Drake
 
Re: Quick prints from digital - resolution question
Old 01-13-2005, 01:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36117
Location: Hiram
Posts: 141
Comments: 0

C_J_Samples is offline IP: 69.241.0.124
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hey Randy,
Your Costco down there is ripping you. The Costco in Morrow is .19 cents each. Maybe they would price match if you ask. Tell them the Sams in Morrow and Hiram charges .19.

Chris Graphic Images
  View Public Profile Send a private message to C_J_Samples Visit C_J_Samples's homepage! Find More Posts by C_J_Samples
 
Re: Quick prints from digital - resolution question
Old 01-13-2005, 01:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Member GG#: 40476
Location: Peachtree City
Posts: 60
Comments: 0

RM_Drake is offline IP: 68.84.254.39
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks! The last time I did this I was in Florida shooting my family reunion. Maybe digital printing, like gas, is cheaper in Georgia. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] --Randy
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RM_Drake Visit RM_Drake's homepage! Find More Posts by RM_Drake
 
I think we discussed this. . .
Old 01-13-2005, 04:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35436
Location: Sunset
Posts: 500
Comments: 0

cclesue is offline IP: 67.172.248.161
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

awhile back. It doesn't matter what the dpi OR the pixel count of your image since the sampling engine of the various machines will up or down sample to fit their machine requirements which is typically from 260 to 360 DPI. Just remember to give them the maximum Pixel count you can to insure the best image. Many Professionals do not use the very good resampling engine in Photoshop because the sampling engines in the Fuji and Noritsu machine are so much better. Try this the next time you decide to crop your image:
Go to Image>Image size and note the dpi and the pixel counts.
Select the crop tool and clear the boxes by clicking the clear button on the menu bar.
Input the desired dimensions but leave the dpi blank.
Size the image.
Now go back to image size and note the dimensions and the dpi AND the pixel count. You will see that the dimensions are now your desired measurements, the dpi is something way different and the pixel count is changed. If the crop was a full crop meaning that one side was equal to the original image then that side will equal the pixel count of the original and anything that was cropped out of the other side now equals the pixel count of the new dpi times the dimension.
This method preserves the maximum pixel count possible when cropping and allows the sampling engine of the processing machine to do its job with the maximum pixel count available.
It is especially important to remember that the upsampling needs the best image possible. Most of these machines read either jpeg or TIFF files. Our rule of thumb is if the machine is going to upsample two times over the available pixel count we send them a TIFF as the Jpegs even at “best� are not as sharp. (300 dpi needs 3000 pixels for an 8x10, 4200 for an 11x14 etc. Use the long side as reference)
Hope this helps.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to cclesue Visit cclesue's homepage! Find More Posts by cclesue
 
You\'ve already got your answer....
Old 01-13-2005, 05:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35737
Location: Foley
Posts: 180
Comments: 0

David Bunch is offline IP: 209.102.150.236
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I work with a Noritsu 3011 digital printer all day long. The dpi the image is saved at has no relevance whatsoever. The printer "engine" simply puts the pixels onto the paper, and the end result is a # of pixels per inch (PPI). For the pros I work with, I suggest a minimum of 200 PPI, but that less will be quite acceptable at longer viewing distances. Many everyday customers are very pleased with 1mp files generating 4"x6" prints.

In a nutshell, leave the original res. alone other than making sure the proportions match the print size. The Noritsu and Fuji machines will handle the rest. No worries [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

David
  View Public Profile Send a private message to David Bunch Visit David Bunch's homepage! Find More Posts by David Bunch
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Film Vs Digital mray Tech Talk Forum 41 11-02-2011 11:28 AM
Digital Prints come out too dark! What the heck? RoshGlamour Tech Talk Forum 11 04-13-2005 09:51 AM
My prints from film look like they came from a digital source?? 2276 Tech Talk Forum 4 03-23-2005 05:25 PM
A question on digital use due to JT's question jford Tech Talk Forum 11 12-03-2002 06:58 PM
Question on Digital Earl53 Tech Talk Forum 4 11-20-2002 12:06 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93