Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamourô > Garage Glamourô Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
PC based Video Card any ideas???
Old 01-14-2003, 11:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Always bet on Black

 
JeffBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35682
Location: Tampa
Posts: 147
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to JeffBlack

JeffBlack is offline IP: 209.241.53.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I know, I know...I should be going to MAC, but certain software limitations on my end will not allow for that to happen. I need to manipulate a lot of glamour shots in PhotoShop. Just wondering what are some of the better PC videos cards on the market?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to JeffBlack Visit JeffBlack's homepage! Find More Posts by JeffBlack
 
Re: PC based Video Card any ideas???
Old 01-14-2003, 06:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35579
Location: Flower Mound
Posts: 7
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to debergy

debergy is offline IP: 12.239.129.77
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Some of the best PC Video Cards for Photoshop are by Matrox.

Very good for 2D and text not as good for 3D games.

They are not cheap.

Matrox Parhelia top of the line costs $350 approx.

Dual monitors supported.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to debergy Find More Posts by debergy
 
Re: PC based Video Card any ideas???
Old 01-14-2003, 09:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35596
Location: New Port Richey
Posts: 46
Comments: 0

equesada is offline IP: 4.33.15.156
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

mr. black,
like yourself, i too am not able to jump into a mac system, it's just not feasible at this time.
i've been using the matrox millennium g400 dual head max agp for just over two years now, 32mb on-board. prior to that i used their mystique board for over 3 years till my clone became obsolete for my purposes.
iíve never experienced incompatibility issues with either board, and have been perfectly happy with them. no, I do not work for matrox [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img].

iíve recently been thinking of putting together a new clone system and this time around iím considering nvidiaís gforce4 ti series, with 128mb on-board. iíve heard nothing but good things about that card.

don't purchase a product based on a couple of testimonials though. do a little research, then follow your instincts.

hope this helped,
rick
  View Public Profile Send a private message to equesada Visit equesada's homepage! Find More Posts by equesada
 
Nvidia GeForce 4 Ti 4600 128mb AGP
Old 01-14-2003, 10:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Canon Convert

 
gmohr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35212
Location: Augusta, Georgia
Posts: 27
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to gmohr Send a message via Yahoo to gmohr

gmohr is offline IP: 24.214.171.218
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have the above card in my WinXP Pro system and it
rocks... great for Photoshop.

Happy Shooting!
Gene
  View Public Profile Send a private message to gmohr Visit gmohr's homepage! Find More Posts by gmohr
 
Re: PC based Video Card any ideas???
Old 01-15-2003, 02:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
**DONOTDELETE**
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 68.37.237.5
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Running the Nvidia GeForce4 Ti 4200 here on Xp...no problems what so ever....and im running multi monitors at different resolutions and still not a inkling of a slow down....


Rick Shellhouse
 
 
Re: PC based Video Card any ideas???
Old 01-15-2003, 08:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35621
Location: Conway
Posts: 88
Comments: 0

Richie is offline IP: 65.70.15.8
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote


Any modern card will work well. The amount of memory on the card is for higher resolutions. Two dimensional applications, such as Photoshop, could care less about whether or not you had a 128MB Geforce Ti4600 or a 32MB TNT2 (old school).

I'm currently running a GeForce Ti500 with 64MB of memory - Gaming used to be high on my list of priorities when I was a computer science student [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]

-Richie
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Richie Find More Posts by Richie
 
Don\'t need to go expensive
Old 01-16-2003, 01:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
GG_Staff
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 67.85.66.65
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Jeff, unless you are looking for gaming then I wouldn't go expensive. Personally I use a dual monitor configuration and I am using the ATI Radeon VE. It's a dual head video card that can be had for less than $75. However, unless you state what other purposes the video card will be used for, this may not be the best card for you. Photoshop will not (to my knowledge) take advantage of all that video power in the expensive video cards. Better you use that extra money on more RAM or faster CPU.
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Formats PhotoDave1 Tech Talk Forum 3 10-18-2010 12:46 AM
Problem w/Sandisk 512MB CF Card jimmyd Tech Talk Forum 7 12-14-2004 06:49 PM
CF card reader question Don_Lutz Tech Talk Forum 9 06-14-2004 08:35 AM
HELP!!! Liquify application error in ps with new video card jtsmith Tech Talk Forum 9 02-16-2004 09:12 AM
ISO ATI Radeon 9000 Pro Mac video card richardnyc Tech Talk Forum 6 09-05-2003 11:38 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamourô




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93