Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamourô > Garage Glamourô Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Exposure with the D70
Old 12-30-2004, 10:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member GG#: 38761
Location: Wichita
Posts: 11
Comments: 0

Guitarmike is offline IP: 68.102.64.253
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I am using my Nikon D70 in the studio for the first time. I am finding that I have problems with overexposure. For example, my meter say F8 1/250. I actually have to shoot about F16 or F22. I am using a Novatron 220 pack, turned all the way down to the 120 W/sec. mode.
Has anyone else experienced this? How did you handle it? Camera curves?
Thanks!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Guitarmike Find More Posts by Guitarmike
 
Re: Exposure with the D70
Old 12-30-2004, 11:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35288
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 24
Comments: 0
Send a message via ICQ to Rich

Rich is offline IP: 24.73.138.16
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

What settings are you using on the camera? Knowing this info will help myself and others to analyze your problem.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Rich Visit Rich's homepage! Find More Posts by Rich
 
My D-70
Old 12-30-2004, 12:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35409
Location: Littleton
Posts: 61
Comments: 0

gmfoto is offline IP: 68.169.222.154
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have to adjust the lights about 1/2 stop above the /f I am using. Like this 200iso camera set at f/8.0 at 1/250 the lights are at f/9.5 I have checked it with 3 differant meters, using incident and gray card readings and it is still the same. You might want to try a other lenses or something to mix it up a bit to see if it holds true.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to gmfoto Visit gmfoto's homepage! Find More Posts by gmfoto
 
Re: Exposure with the D70
Old 12-30-2004, 02:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35402
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 192
Comments: 0

Gunfitr is offline IP: 67.141.71.219
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

My experience is limited to Nikon Cameras, but my friends who have other brands report the same.

I I take out a Sekonic meter, set the ISO, take a reading, and then load film in the camera with matching ISO, I have found that my meter reads a hair under true. So if I meter at f8, I can clamp down to say f9 (my F5 works in 1/3 stop increments) and be fine.

If I take my D1x and set it at f8, same iso, touch nothing else, I will be about 1 to 1.5 stops underexposed. Meaning, I normally have to open up to 5.6 or so.

WHY IS THAT. Because Digital ISO is overated.

They want you to buy the camera thinking it has a High ISO rating, so they fudge.

Sort of the butcher with his hand on the scale.

I have 2 friends who have D70's and another who has a D1x. We can set up lights and all pass the sync cord around and get the same result. If my buddy Steve jumps in with a film camera, he has to clamp down one to two stops or else his shots come out overexposed.

I haven't found a digital camera yet that has accurate ISO.

Think of it more as a guide.

While no two meters are dead on accurate, they shouldn't be off by a stop to a stop and a half.


Mark

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Gunfitr Find More Posts by Gunfitr
 
Re: Exposure with the D70
Old 12-30-2004, 09:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35977
Posts: 609
Comments: 0

Andy_Pearlman is offline IP: 66.218.59.40
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

When I use my hand-held Minolta meter IV with my film camera, I usually have to set the meter at 80 ISO for 100 ISO film, which means I would need to open up 1/3 of a stop if I had set the meter according to the film ISO, so I do it in the meter. When I use it with my D70, I'm not quite sure (I don't really pay attention to the actual numbers, but I know its off a bit). First, I have to remember to change the ISO on the meter to 200, which I manage to do, then I shoot a test frame (studio/interior location conditions) and check the exposure on the LCD, as well as the histogram and adjust accordingly. As I recall, I still usally find myself opening up about a 1/3 to 1/2 stop, but since I shoot in RAW, I do have some latitude. Anyway, 2 stops is way off. You may want to get your hand-held meter checked, and/or double check your ISO settings as well. Also, make sure you are really in manual mode on the camera, and that no settings slipped. One of the things that pissed me off about the D70 (which I otherwise like) is that there is no setting to lock the f-stop and shutter speed in manual, like there is on my F100. Very handy in the studio where lights don't change, but accidently changing a dial can screw you up, so I'm back to using duct tape to keep the settings locked. You also should check your lens to make sure its stopping down as it should (if they stick, they usually stick "open" since that's where they start). Try using other lenses and see what happens.

Regards,
Andy Pearlman
Andy Pearlman Studio
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Andy_Pearlman Visit Andy_Pearlman's homepage! Find More Posts by Andy_Pearlman
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon EOS 50D Exposure Meter Issue soupman Tech Talk Forum 14 05-21-2009 02:46 PM
Canon Exposure and Flash Compensation Stecyk Tech Talk Forum 4 09-18-2007 09:51 PM
Questions - CS2: Brightness and Exposure Stecyk Tech Talk Forum 9 05-15-2007 09:20 PM
Online Exposure????? modelingscout71 Model Topics 5 08-21-2006 07:04 AM
Hair light exposure rule of thumb Steve_Kirby Tech Talk Forum 4 10-20-2004 05:52 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamourô




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94