Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
10D Question
Old 12-10-2004, 12:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Wade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35428
Location: Myrtle Beach
Posts: 174
Comments: 0

Wade is offline IP: 205.188.116.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I ran into a strange situation last night. I went to a studio I had never been in to shoot a model with a friend of mine. The studio is equiped with a pair of White Lightning 600s with umbrellas and a small hair light. I found a sync cord, but my 10D would not fire the light. I guessed that the cord was bad, but it did trip the light when I was connecting it to my camera. My friend used his on camera flash to trip the WLs. What that did, of course was over powered the WLs with flat, non-diffused light. I presume that there is not a setting in the 10D that I needed to change to get it to fire through a sync cord. Is this correct? Just a bad cord? Any ideas? Thanks.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Wade Visit Wade's homepage! Find More Posts by Wade
 
Re: 10D Question
Old 12-10-2004, 12:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member GG#: 39173
Location: Hermitage/Nashville
Posts: 363
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to LarryAB

LarryAB is offline IP: 216.85.123.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

There's no separate setting on your camera. Almost certainly a bad cord. The camera industry makes some great stuff, but nobody seems to be able to make a PC cord that is worth a pound of squirrel manure.

I finally sucked up and bought a radio slave setup. Life is sooooo much better without that damn cord dragging all over the place. Money well spent.

lb
  View Public Profile Send a private message to LarryAB Visit LarryAB's homepage! Find More Posts by LarryAB
 
Re: 10D Question
Old 12-10-2004, 01:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36117
Location: Hiram
Posts: 141
Comments: 0

C_J_Samples is offline IP: 69.241.0.124
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Yes, bad cord is most likely. Mine does the same thing at times.

Now if Santa would bring me that Pocket Wizard set as I have been a very good boy this year.

Graphic Images
  View Public Profile Send a private message to C_J_Samples Visit C_J_Samples's homepage! Find More Posts by C_J_Samples
 
Re: 10D Question
Old 12-10-2004, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Wade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35428
Location: Myrtle Beach
Posts: 174
Comments: 0

Wade is offline IP: 205.188.116.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I figured that was the case. Thanks for confirming it. It will probably be a while before I can bite the bullet on radio slaves. Thanks again, I knew this was the place to get an answer.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Wade Visit Wade's homepage! Find More Posts by Wade
 
Re: 10D Question
Old 12-10-2004, 01:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Wade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35428
Location: Myrtle Beach
Posts: 174
Comments: 0

Wade is offline IP: 205.188.116.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks CJ.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Wade Visit Wade's homepage! Find More Posts by Wade
 
Re: 10D Question
Old 12-10-2004, 01:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
hicspix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35341
Location: Phoenixville
Posts: 866
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to hicspix

hicspix is offline IP: 152.163.100.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Canons use reversed-polarity when synching up. It's always a good idea to unplug the PC cord from where it hooks into the flash system and then reattach it with the plug turned 180 degrees. Hopefully that's the case in your situation. But if that fails, time to get a new cord like the others suggested. Good luck with it.

Dave
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hicspix Visit hicspix's homepage! Find More Posts by hicspix
 
Re: 10D Question
Old 12-10-2004, 01:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member GG#: 40262
Posts: 16
Comments: 0

kpfoto is offline IP: 68.45.139.21
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Pocket Wizard is the only way to go. With electronic cameras and now digi you don't want to take any chances with ANY juice coming back up the synch. Plus, it sure is nice to move around without that damn cord.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to kpfoto Visit kpfoto's homepage! Find More Posts by kpfoto
 
Re: 10D Question
Old 12-10-2004, 01:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
hicspix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35341
Location: Phoenixville
Posts: 866
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to hicspix

hicspix is offline IP: 152.163.100.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

The Wizards are great. But it also depends upon what shooting conditions you'll be shooting in, as well. If it's entirely within a space without other shooters, I simply go with the built in slaves and completely eliminate any voltage feedback to the camera. Set your Speedlight down to minimal output to not add light to the setting and away you go. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

Then I take the money saved on the Wiz and get a new lens ... lol

Dave

BTW, I may have used the term "reverse polarity" too loosely up there. But essentially the household plug end of the synch cord works one way on the Canon but not the other. I use a drop of nail polish on the "good" side of the fitting to save the plug-and-then-have-to-swap-it frustration.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hicspix Visit hicspix's homepage! Find More Posts by hicspix
 
Re: 10D Question
Old 12-10-2004, 01:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Wade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35428
Location: Myrtle Beach
Posts: 174
Comments: 0

Wade is offline IP: 205.188.116.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks guys. Pocket Wizards are not even possible right now. This is good info to have about reversing the plug, thanks. I don't know how often I may be shooting there, if ever again, but if I do I think I'll take my own cord. Thanks again.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Wade Visit Wade's homepage! Find More Posts by Wade
 
Re: 10D Question
Old 12-10-2004, 03:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
CaptainKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member GG#: 39640
Location: Aurora
Posts: 201
Comments: 0

CaptainKen is offline IP: 69.25.212.3
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have a new Eos 1ds and a new sync cord. I ran into the same problem. When I turned the house hold plug 180 degrees it worked fine. To late to help you on your shoot but I'll bet that was your culprit. Having a backup sync cord is cheap insurance especially armed with knowledge of turning it 180 degrees.
Ken
  View Public Profile Send a private message to CaptainKen Find More Posts by CaptainKen
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tech question - Film - darkroom / in camera - HDR c_canade' Tech Talk Forum 2 05-15-2008 08:59 PM
Answer a Photo Question then leave a Photo Question? rolandogomez Main Community Forum 35 12-02-2007 07:00 PM
Answer to question on sensor size vs crop factor Brad Tech Talk Forum 17 01-02-2006 10:40 PM
A question on digital use due to JT's question jford Tech Talk Forum 11 12-03-2002 06:58 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93