Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
D70 - Need help with slaved Vivitar 285
Old 12-09-2004, 08:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member GG#: 39164
Location: Midlothian VA
Posts: 43
Comments: 0

Picturetker is offline IP: 68.57.151.11
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I need help!

For many things I'm sure [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif[/img], but in this case...

I'm using a D70 (set to manual) in flash commander mode w/ a SB600 (manual) and a Vivitar 285 using a peanut slave. My problem is when the D70 fires the pre-flash, the peanut slave is picking it up and firing the 285. Is there a way around this? I can't find anything in the book execept how to fire multiple SB600s and SB800.

I have a shoot tomorrow and can really use some advice.

Thanks in advance.
Jean-Maurice
HFP Photography
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Picturetker Visit Picturetker's homepage! Find More Posts by Picturetker
 
Re: D70 - Need help with slaved Vivitar 285
Old 12-09-2004, 10:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35195
Posts: 440
Comments: 0

rjwarren is offline IP: 24.160.124.193
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Two things. One, I have problems with the flash on my S2 just getting the peanut slave on my 285 to fire!

Second, I can't imagine that there's not a setting to turn the pre-flash OFF on the D70.

Bob
  View Public Profile Send a private message to rjwarren Visit rjwarren's homepage! Find More Posts by rjwarren
 
Re: D70 - Need help with slaved Vivitar 285
Old 12-09-2004, 10:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member GG#: 39645
Location: Austin
Posts: 187
Comments: 0

AllenS is offline IP: 67.65.4.171
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I talked with my local Nikon rep about the same issue before I bought my flashes. As it turns out, there is no solution other than running a cord to the Vivitar. The pre-flashes are required to properly triger the SB600 and the pre-flashes will triger a slave. Thus, I ended up buying additional Nikon flashes. Well, it's money for Nikon, but I can't complain...it works great. Using a SB800 on camera and 2 SB600's remote. The SB800 actually gives a lot more control over the remotes than the D70 allone will. Also consider getting a SC28 remote cord shoe for the SB800 and you can sit the SB800 on a stand to camera right or left and fire it into an umbrella to give a soft front light that is not strait on flash look to them. Hope this helps. I love the setup and you can do a lot with it...but it will run you close to a grand for everything. BTW - the SB800 puts the SB600 to shame...and i loved the SB600 before I got the SB800.

Allen
  View Public Profile Send a private message to AllenS Visit AllenS's homepage! Find More Posts by AllenS
 
Re: D70 - Need help with slaved Vivitar 285
Old 12-09-2004, 10:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
n5wd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member GG#: 37369
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 636
Comments: 0

n5wd is offline IP: 68.113.203.221
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[ QUOTE ]
My problem is when the D70 fires the pre-flash, the peanut slave is picking it up and firing the 285.

[/ QUOTE ]

Can you not turn off the pre-flash and forget about the commander mode... just fire the flash full and let the single flash fire the slave?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to n5wd Visit n5wd's homepage! Find More Posts by n5wd
 
Re: D70 - Need help with slaved Vivitar 285
Old 12-09-2004, 10:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member GG#: 39164
Location: Midlothian VA
Posts: 43
Comments: 0

Picturetker is offline IP: 68.57.151.11
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thank you for the suggestions. I have an SC-17 I used with my N90, but I was hoping to take advantage of the wireless aspect of the D70/SB600. I guess I'll have to use a wire and go manuel. Well, at least I don't have to shoot polariods, right?

I like the suggestion on buying additional Nikon flashes, but my wife didn't think it was such a hot idea. And since my money is our, the idea was shot down.

I appreciate the help.

Jean-Maurice
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Picturetker Visit Picturetker's homepage! Find More Posts by Picturetker
 
Re: D70 - Need help with slaved Vivitar 285
Old 12-10-2004, 06:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member GG#: 38754
Location: Oroville
Posts: 40
Comments: 0

Paul_Illes is offline IP: 24.7.154.192
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

The way it works for me is to use a small portable flash on camera or hot shoed to the camera. You set the camera for hot shoe flash and no pre flash occurs. The portable triggers any slaves you have out there and all is synched nicely. I use the cheapest little off camera flash and set low, put it on the camera and fire away.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Paul_Illes Find More Posts by Paul_Illes
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vivitar 283 JaysonFromMaine Tech Talk Forum 11 11-03-2007 11:17 PM
Old Vivitar 283 with SB4 power supply MikeV Tech Talk Forum 3 10-15-2006 11:58 PM
Synching a D-100 to a Vivitar 6000 AF ringflash StuHaluski Tech Talk Forum 6 08-12-2003 08:32 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93