Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
ease of use in manual mode for digital cameras
Old 12-08-2004, 08:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 40763
Comments: 0

cygnet is offline IP: 24.206.105.103

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Hi everyone. I just signed onto this site today, and after reading a few posts, I thought I might ask a question. I've been shooting manual everything for 40 years or so, first with a Nikkormat, then Olympus om-1, and now a Mamiya 6.
I got a Nikon Coolpix 995 when they first came out, to check out digital. Hated it. Had to carry the manual around all the time to reference it, and it was a pain to shoot in manual mode. So I'm still using film.
There is a new generation of digital out there, and I'm looking for feedback on which models would be easiest to use manually. I'm just so used to dialing in an Fstop and shutter speed without looking at all the little buttons. In fact, I can't really see what all those buttons say anymore without putting on some reading glasses. So which camera works best by feel? Which is most intuitive, I guess? You know, where you don't have to hold down two buttons at once, or go into the modes to change aperture or speed settings. Any opinions would be appreciated.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to cygnet Find More Posts by cygnet

Re: ease of use in manual mode for digital cameras
Old 12-08-2004, 10:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 35360

Clint is offline IP: 24.117.124.207

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

the nikon Digital SLRs still have the apeture ring on the lens. (i think) but other than that they pretty much work just the same a most 35mm Film slrs of today