Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Thinking of buying a D70 but i need to trigger my alienbees
Old 12-08-2004, 06:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36834
Location: Pembroke
Posts: 8
Comments: 0

afrocreep is offline IP: 67.70.130.125
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I already have a AS-15 planned regardless as something handy to have "just in case" but I have been reading that there is a Commander mode not only the the flash you can buy but also in the built in one?

I am curious if this will trigger the alienbees? If not is there some other reasonable wireless method of triggering? I have always found pocketwizzards to be expensive and overkill and the alienbee wireless kit(s) are a tad expensive

Worse comes to worse i'll stay wired.

Thanks for any tips/advice you folks can offer
  View Public Profile Send a private message to afrocreep Find More Posts by afrocreep
 
Re: Thinking of buying a D70 but i need to trigger my alienbees
Old 12-08-2004, 06:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
StudioSixtySeven

 
frodofoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member GG#: 37417
Location: Orange Park
Posts: 70
Comments: 0
My Mood:

frodofoto is offline IP: 68.218.150.110
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have a D70 and trigger it with Pocket Wizards - works fine. Pocket wizards expensive? A lot less than what I've invested in bodies and lenses.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to frodofoto Visit frodofoto's homepage! Find More Posts by frodofoto
 
Re: Thinking of buying a D70 but i need to trigger my alienbees
Old 12-09-2004, 12:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StuHaluski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36068
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 350
Comments: 1

StuHaluski is offline IP: 24.98.10.76
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Been using the AS-15 with my D100 for awhile no probs.

Stu
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StuHaluski Visit StuHaluski's homepage! Find More Posts by StuHaluski
 
Re: Thinking of buying a D70 but i need to trigger my alienbees
Old 12-09-2004, 12:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Still Learning

 
Bonner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36942
Location: Ventura
Posts: 569
Comments: 1
My Mood:

Bonner is offline IP: 64.165.228.131
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You need the Nikon SB600 or SB800. AS-15 works fine for my Bee's.

Jim

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Bonner Visit Bonner's homepage! Find More Posts by Bonner
 
how I do it
Old 12-09-2004, 04:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35977
Posts: 609
Comments: 0

Andy_Pearlman is offline IP: 66.245.210.218
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have a D70. You can trigger the Bees (or any freestanding strobe system) with the D70 the same as you would with any SLR or pro camera, and some P&S cameras. Since the camera has a hot shoe, you can use Pocket Wizards, or infared transmitters like the Wein system. I've used them for years on all kinds of strobes, and you can get receivers to plug into household connectors or phone jacks or whatever. The Wein prices have gone up a bit since I first bought mine over 15 years ago, but I think they're still cheaper than PWs (you don't need the most high powered infareds if you're indoors). I've even used them outside in sunlight and at night, although sometimes you do need to be able to point the transmitter at the receiver, and so I finally broke down and bought a set of PWs myself recently, but they won't get used much.

Because the D70 doesn't have a PC sync terminal, you can use the AS-15 to attach a PC cord, but I don't like having wires running all over the studio. I suppose you could use a hot-shoe based speedlight to trigger the Bees, but I would set the output to manual and turn it down to its lowest power setting so it does not affect the exposure, and recycles fast. You could also point it straight up or out to the side. It will bounce off the walls and trigger the Bees, and you don't need much output to do that.

Regards,
Andy Pearlman
Andy Pearlman Studio
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Andy_Pearlman Visit Andy_Pearlman's homepage! Find More Posts by Andy_Pearlman
 
Re: Thinking of buying a D70 but i need to trigger my alienbees
Old 12-09-2004, 11:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Biker by the Grace of God

 
dynamike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35237
Location: St Marys
Posts: 1,552
Comments: 0

dynamike is offline IP: 69.21.92.10
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Oops wrong post there for a minute. I use AB's with my 20D and pocket wizards to fire them. The radio system Alien Bees has sounds really nice. However, there is no direct hotshoe mount, so you still have to use a sinc cord. So now, you've got this remote dnagling from a your camera via a sinc. That's just not very condusive for efficiency for me. I would get the wired remote LG4X and a set of pocket wizards and call it a day.

Mike

  View Public Profile Send a private message to dynamike Visit dynamike's homepage! Find More Posts by dynamike
 
Just say NO
Old 12-09-2004, 03:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
stevenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member GG#: 35783
Location: Garden Grove
Posts: 1,384
Comments: 7
My Mood:

stevenD is offline IP: 66.121.188.233
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

to Nikon (buy Canon)

but if anyone does want Nikon gear, best to check the Rob Galbraith site as there are tons of Nikon equipment being dumped over there..

And believe me when I say I have only owned Pocket Wizards for a very short time and they are well worth it.

I use them to trigger my Alien Bees Wired Remote and the set-up works great..

  View Public Profile Send a private message to stevenD Visit stevenD's homepage! Find More Posts by stevenD
 
Re: Thinking of buying a D70 but i need to trigger my alienbees
Old 12-09-2004, 03:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
stevenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member GG#: 35783
Location: Garden Grove
Posts: 1,384
Comments: 7
My Mood:

stevenD is offline IP: 66.121.188.233
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

exactly Mike, thats what I do...
  View Public Profile Send a private message to stevenD Visit stevenD's homepage! Find More Posts by stevenD
 
Re: Thinking of buying a D70 but i need to trigger my alienbees
Old 12-09-2004, 03:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biker by the Grace of God

 
dynamike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35237
Location: St Marys
Posts: 1,552
Comments: 0

dynamike is offline IP: 69.21.92.10
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I go one step further! I have a Sekonic L-558 with a Pocket Wizard module that will fire my lights remotely from the light meter. Comes in pretty handy. When I get ready to meter my lights, I grab my wired remote and Pocket Wizard received and the meter and frie away. I dial them in without moving an inch. I'd sure hate to think I had to carry that around with me for every time I pressed the shutter [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]

Mike
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dynamike Visit dynamike's homepage! Find More Posts by dynamike
 
me too
Old 12-09-2004, 03:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
stevenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member GG#: 35783
Location: Garden Grove
Posts: 1,384
Comments: 7
My Mood:

stevenD is offline IP: 66.121.188.233
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have a L608 with the module...
  View Public Profile Send a private message to stevenD Visit stevenD's homepage! Find More Posts by stevenD
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking Inside the Box jimmyd Main Community Forum 4 06-21-2009 10:47 PM
Thinking about buying a ringlight - revisited Andy_Pearlman Tech Talk Forum 24 11-03-2003 03:35 AM
Thinking about buying a ring light bsphoto Tech Talk Forum 11 10-28-2003 04:40 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94