Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
A quick heads up (XP Service Pack 2)
Old 11-13-2004, 12:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
hicspix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35341
Location: Phoenixville
Posts: 866
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to hicspix

hicspix is offline IP: 152.163.100.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I installed Windows XP Service Pack 2 last evening and it blew away my Photoshop CS activation. I'd heard that there were some problems connected with that security patch, but none of the talk was connected with PS CS. Live and learn ... lol

Naturally, no one at home at last night at Adobe and the automated Web process failed to correct the program's "death." So I call Adobe today and get to "enjoy" about 45 minutes of really bad jazz piano while waiting for the first available representative -- heck, I'd have taken the seventh available rep after about the second song! Finally get a human who tells me their activation servers are down and to call back after 3 p.m. PST

Arrrgh! Just loving living in the days of program activations ... lol

So a word to the wise. If you are updating your XP, be prepared to face the music. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

Dave
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hicspix Visit hicspix's homepage! Find More Posts by hicspix
 
Re: Ouch, but...
Old 11-13-2004, 12:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35265
Location: Reston
Posts: 128
Comments: 0

Lynn_in_VA is offline IP: 68.49.139.251
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Ouch, bad experience. For what it's worth, I updated to XP Pro SP2 a while back without any problem at all, my Photoshop CS still was activated and working properly after the upgrade. However, I haven't been able to see the Main Forum on GG for months, get get a blank frame when I have my Norton firewall running, as I always do, go figure!

Lynn
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Lynn_in_VA Visit Lynn_in_VA's homepage! Find More Posts by Lynn_in_VA
 
Re: Ouch, but...
Old 11-13-2004, 12:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
hicspix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35341
Location: Phoenixville
Posts: 866
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to hicspix

hicspix is offline IP: 152.163.100.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Ouch back, Lynn. I can still see the Main Forum here on GG, so at least we know Microsoft is correcting "some" of the conflicts ... lol The silver-lining in this is that at least I don't have a job needing to be cranked out this weekend -- so the loss of PS CS is more a hassle than anything frantic. Still, a bit troubling that you get to spend primo bucks for a vehicle that is basically dead in the garage.

Patiently awaiting the "get a Mac" reply here. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

Thanks again, Lynn.
Dave
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hicspix Visit hicspix's homepage! Find More Posts by hicspix
 
OK you did ask
Old 11-13-2004, 02:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
LivingINDaytona

 
JaysonFromMaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35280
Location: Daytona Beach. Fl.
Posts: 744
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to JaysonFromMaine Send a message via Yahoo to JaysonFromMaine

JaysonFromMaine is offline IP: 165.121.128.57
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Get a MAC [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to JaysonFromMaine Visit JaysonFromMaine's homepage! Find More Posts by JaysonFromMaine
 
LOL
Old 11-13-2004, 03:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
hicspix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35341
Location: Phoenixville
Posts: 866
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to hicspix

hicspix is offline IP: 64.12.116.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Actually, I have a Mac. But my PS CS program is Win-based! Thanks for easing my anxiety on the "get a Mac" retort though ... hehehe [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hicspix Visit hicspix's homepage! Find More Posts by hicspix
 
Re: A quick heads up (XP Service Pack 2)
Old 11-13-2004, 05:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36266
Posts: 176
Comments: 0

IIsassi is offline IP: 24.167.36.45
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I'm curious about your PC.. Can you provide some basic specs as to brand and model??

I've installed SP2 on several machines that have PS CS and not had any problems at all.. It's been a mix of HP/Compaq, Dell, and Sony.


Thanks,
Israel
  View Public Profile Send a private message to IIsassi Find More Posts by IIsassi
 
Re: A quick heads up (XP Service Pack 2)
Old 11-13-2004, 07:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
hicspix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35341
Location: Phoenixville
Posts: 866
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to hicspix

hicspix is offline IP: 64.12.116.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

My pleasure, Israel.

I'm currently using an HP Pavillion 8700. I loaded up PS CS about a month ago and activated it via the Internet. Things worked perfectly until I loaded up the XP SP2 patch last night (ironically, I even opted to have Microsoft ship it to me via CD just to avoid any glitches like this).

When I loaded up PS CS for the first time after the XP patch I got a message that said I'd changed my system configuration and needed to validate the PS CS program again. Trying the Internet method I got the message that activation failed and to use the phone in activation. The automatic feature via phone also failed and I was turned over to a service rep. He told me that the activation server was down and that, yes, there is a problem with SP2 and PS CS activations. I was told to call back after 3 p.m. PST

A call at 4 p.m. PST yielded that the server was still down, that they had no estimate to when it would be back up. I requested to speak to a supervisor and was told none were available.

Not the best of Saturdays thus far. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

Dave
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hicspix Visit hicspix's homepage! Find More Posts by hicspix
 
Whee!
Old 11-13-2004, 07:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
hicspix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35341
Location: Phoenixville
Posts: 866
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to hicspix

hicspix is offline IP: 64.12.116.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I guess the third time is the charm. Well, technically it was my fourth call, but who am I to destroy a good cliche?

Right after typing to Israel I figured I may as well give Adobe another call. In less than three minutes I was speaking with a service rep who noted the server was back up and to try via the 'Net as he waited. The process worked as usual and I am once again chugging along. So apparently this trouble was a combination of the XP SP2 load AND the activation server being down.

Out of curiousity I asked this rep if there was a problem with loading SP2 and PS CS losing its activation. I got a "you betcha," from him and he noted a patch will soon be available from Adobe to correct both this and the loss of Help Files the SP2 load fouls up.

Now to find out what other little "gifts" installing the SP2 files has created for me ... lol

Dave
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hicspix Visit hicspix's homepage! Find More Posts by hicspix
 
Re: Whee!
Old 11-13-2004, 07:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36266
Posts: 176
Comments: 0

IIsassi is offline IP: 24.167.36.45
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Congrats!! I've been searching Adobe's website and haven't been able to find any reference to that problem.. I wish they would share their info..

According to Adobe, once PS is activated it attempts to verify the activation each time it loads. My firewall is set to block that and it hasn't been a problem.

They do have document that states you will get a reactivation request if if a file named ~e5d141.tmp is deleted.. Something to keep in mind..

Thanks for the info on your PC.. I'll keep it mind when working on other computers..



Israel
  View Public Profile Send a private message to IIsassi Find More Posts by IIsassi
 
Re: Whee!
Old 11-13-2004, 08:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
hicspix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35341
Location: Phoenixville
Posts: 866
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to hicspix

hicspix is offline IP: 64.12.116.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thank you too, Israel.

I had looked through Adobe's site too when the troubles first appeared and was disappointed not to find anything on it there (except for the notation about SP2 causing havoc on the help files). That's what prompted me to make this post in the first place -- so other are aware of it if/when it happens to them.

I'm just glad my 24-hours of frustration are behind me now, too ... lol

Thanks again!

Dave
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hicspix Visit hicspix's homepage! Find More Posts by hicspix
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pack & Heads VS Monolights 5nap5hot Tech Talk Forum 15 07-16-2007 11:34 PM
Does New Service Help Thieves Rip You Off ?? glamourpics Main Community Forum 1 07-29-2006 06:05 PM
Heads Up, Nikon issues service advisory for D2H, D70 JasonNJ Tech Talk Forum 1 10-03-2005 08:24 PM
profoto ACUTE heads quick question shoptangerineDOTcom Tech Talk Forum 3 02-03-2005 12:25 PM
Pack heads vs monolights omnix Tech Talk Forum 10 03-19-2004 09:03 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94