Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Medium format system discussion for model-oriented photography
Old 10-31-2004, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Marko

Member GG#:
Comments:

IP: 83.131.78.42

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

I'm a pro fashion and lifestyle photographer who recently switched medium-format systems from one that I've used for many years that was designed for maximum image quality and versatility in both location and studio but which handles very slowly and is generally not conducive to my somewhat improvisational technique to another medium-format system which I find compliments my semi-improvisational shooting technique and style much better. It was a heavy expediture, even when bought mostly second-hand, and was not a decision made lightly but made with an eye to requirements both present and over the foreseeable future, researched and with lots of hands-on testing of various systems in a couple of different formats.

Normally I don't give the gear and its design so much thought, the desired image and its feel and statement and usefulness to my clients takes center-stage, but this purchase got me thinking a lot about my gear needs/preferences. Were I in charge of one of the major manufacturers, and wanted to design a system well-adapted to my own shooting needs from the ground up, what would I have my team design? What would the rest of you look for in a model photography-oriented medium-format system? The ideal system I strongly believe does not exist. Every system has its strengths and weaknesses, something which is underlined by the fact that I pondered long and hard between two very different systems (in different formats in fact) before deciding on the system that I finally purchased.