Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
what color gel for glamour look
Old 10-24-2004, 01:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
djyeo80

Member GG#:
Comments:

IP: 4.29.68.202

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Hi,
I have been a fashion photographer for sometime and I'm putting together my glamour portfolio. I have been looking at glamour pictures and most of them seems to have warm, golden skin tone. What color gel do I need to use to get that golden glamour skin tone? Is there a standard color code? Any help is greately appreciated.

Re: what color gel for glamour look
Old 10-24-2004, 02:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

Member GG#: 35977
Comments: 0

Andy_Pearlman is offline IP: 66.245.206.55

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

First off, stop shooting those pale white fashion models and switch to tanning-bed or spray-on tan bikini babes. That will help a lot. I am serious (white skin with warm light or gel, never looks like tan).

Second, if you are shooting outside, shoot later in the afternoon during golden hour. Third, use gold or zebra reflectors, but sparingly. You can also use 81A or 81B filters on the camera (or with digital, tweak your white balance). If you're puting gels on lights, the gels you are looking for would look like anything you want in that family (81 series), but you don't need optically correct filters for the lights, just thearical gel. When I'm doing my "sunset with flash on the model" thing, I am using a theatrical gel called "bastard amber" (has some pink in it too) taped over the flash to simulate the warmth of the sunlight, you can also use it on main lights any time to simply make it warmer. Here it is at sunset with Mandy Ashford: