Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Cleaning a sensor
Old 10-14-2004, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member GG#: 39488
Location: Vero Beach
Posts: 9
Comments: 0

FLPhoto is offline IP: 65.34.196.44
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Does anyone out there, clean their own sensor. If so, can you tell me the steps and if there's any risk to your sensor. I always send my digital camera out to have the sensor cleaned. I use a Nikon D2H and shoot alot of sports and switch lenses outside. I guess that is why my sensor gets dirty so often. It doesn't seem like that hard of a task. But when I ask Nikon and some other companies (that clean my sensor for a fee) if I could clean it myself, they reply, "ooh, don't touch it you might damage your camera". Of course the companies that sell the cleaning kits say "no problem, go ahead your camera will be safe". I don't know who to trust. I would like to do this on my own, to save time and money but I do not want to damage anything. Your imput is appreciated. Ken
  View Public Profile Send a private message to FLPhoto Visit FLPhoto's homepage! Find More Posts by FLPhoto
 
Re: Cleaning a sensor
Old 10-14-2004, 07:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36266
Posts: 176
Comments: 0

IIsassi is offline IP: 24.167.36.45
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

We have 5 D100's and we do our own sensor cleaning. Your manual should explain the steps for your specific camera.

The D100 requires an external power supply. You remove the lens, and lock up the mirror by using the menus. We use the Photographic Solutions Sensor Swab and Eclips chemical. Add a drop or two the to swab. With virtually no pressure make one pass left to right with one side then another pass right to left with the other side. We don't reuse the swabs. Then turn off the camera to unlock the mirror and mount the lens.

Their website is http://www.photosol.com/ and click on Product Line-Up. I'm sure Jayson of Unique Photo would be happy to help..

Israel
  View Public Profile Send a private message to IIsassi Find More Posts by IIsassi
 
Re: Cleaning a sensor
Old 10-14-2004, 07:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member GG#: 39488
Location: Vero Beach
Posts: 9
Comments: 0

FLPhoto is offline IP: 65.34.196.44
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Israel, I will give them a try. Why do you have to use the external power supply to lock the mirror? Isn't it the same as the camera's power supply? THank you, for your help. Ken.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to FLPhoto Visit FLPhoto's homepage! Find More Posts by FLPhoto
 
Re: Cleaning a sensor
Old 10-14-2004, 08:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36266
Posts: 176
Comments: 0

IIsassi is offline IP: 24.167.36.45
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

On the D100, Nikon requires the external power supply to lock up the mirror.. Doesn't really make sense to me but it's the way they built the system..

Israel
  View Public Profile Send a private message to IIsassi Find More Posts by IIsassi
 
Re: Cleaning a sensor
Old 10-14-2004, 08:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member GG#: 39488
Location: Vero Beach
Posts: 9
Comments: 0

FLPhoto is offline IP: 65.34.196.44
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Yeah, I read my manual and it said the same thing. The only reason I can think of for external power is the mirror will be in lock up but the sensor would not be powered. I guess? Thanks again. Ken
  View Public Profile Send a private message to FLPhoto Visit FLPhoto's homepage! Find More Posts by FLPhoto
 
Re: Cleaning a sensor
Old 10-14-2004, 09:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
n5wd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member GG#: 37369
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 636
Comments: 0

n5wd is offline IP: 68.113.203.221
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Ken,

On the D100, using the external power, you can lock the mirror up... if you have just the camera, the best you can do is either (a) put the shutter on Bulb and hope you don't slip and release the shutter while you've got the Sensor Swab inside or do like I do and (b) set the timer to 30 seconds and get in and out quickly (well, within the 30 seconds).

30 seconds is a loooooong time... it usually takes me les than 10 seconds to perform the cleaning of the sensor.

Wayne
  View Public Profile Send a private message to n5wd Visit n5wd's homepage! Find More Posts by n5wd
 
Re: Cleaning a sensor
Old 10-14-2004, 09:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member GG#: 39488
Location: Vero Beach
Posts: 9
Comments: 0

FLPhoto is offline IP: 65.34.196.44
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Wayne, thanks for the info. I didn't want to have to purchase an EH-6 or what ever it is just to clean a sensor. Thank you, Ken.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to FLPhoto Visit FLPhoto's homepage! Find More Posts by FLPhoto
 
Re: Cleaning a sensor
Old 10-15-2004, 05:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StuHaluski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36068
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 350
Comments: 1

StuHaluski is offline IP: 24.98.10.76
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

another peeve of mine, just as Nikon doesn't build a pc connection for external flash, they have us buying the external power supply just so we can "properly" clean the ccd.

BTW I do have the power supply and used up 6 swabs getting my ccd clean. I should have left it at 3 but thought I could get one more little bitty thing and left a hunk of dust on it that took more tries to clean.

Now that I have a better idea of what to do, I expect less trouble cleaning it next time and I am also a little more relaxed about changing lenses as I know I can clean the camera myself now.

Good luck,

Stu
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StuHaluski Visit StuHaluski's homepage! Find More Posts by StuHaluski
 
Re: Cleaning a sensor
Old 10-15-2004, 08:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36266
Posts: 176
Comments: 0

IIsassi is offline IP: 24.167.36.45
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I agree that it would be nice to have the sync socket but it really hasn't been a problem. I don't like cords hanging off the camera and they come unplugged anyway.

I got plenty of practice cleaning sensors when we were shooting Fuji S2's.. It seems like we were constantly cleaning those.

The power supply thing doesn't really bother me too much. What matters to me is that the D100 is a workhorse and I know I can count it to work when I need it.

Israel
  View Public Profile Send a private message to IIsassi Find More Posts by IIsassi
 
Re: Cleaning a sensor
Old 10-15-2004, 09:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I own a Canon D30 not a Nikon, but my guess would be the reason for the external power supply is that it will prevent the camera from getting damaged if you think you have a well charged battery but it isn't and goes dead while you are cleaning and the shutter drops back into place over your cleaning swab damaging the shutter and possibly the sensor if it slams the swab into the sensor. That would be my guess anyhow.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sensor Cleaning Method atlantashooter Tech Talk Forum 3 11-21-2007 12:33 AM
DSLR Sensor Cleaning Recommendations... TimH Tech Talk Forum 4 09-22-2007 10:12 PM
Automating Sensor Spot Cleaning? atlantashooter Digital Darkroom 12 03-26-2007 11:06 AM
Answer to question on sensor size vs crop factor Brad Tech Talk Forum 17 01-02-2006 10:40 PM
cleaning of sensor on digital s2pro glhstudio Tech Talk Forum 4 05-25-2004 09:09 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93