Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Canon Rebel Error 99
Old 08-18-2004, 02:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Member GG#: 38485
Location: Tyler
Posts: 302
Comments: 0

photoTexas is offline IP: 66.76.43.121
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I get an Error 99 when I hook up my Radio Slave II to my Rebel... Any one else getting this? [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to photoTexas Find More Posts by photoTexas
 
Re: Canon Rebel Error 99
Old 08-18-2004, 04:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 37977
Posts: 102
Comments: 0

Sean_Armenta is offline IP: 68.67.185.86
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

chris kern got the same error message when he syncd up to a norman pack -- apparently it had something to do with the polarity (norman sync cords use the household type plug).



sean
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Sean_Armenta Find More Posts by Sean_Armenta
 
Re: Canon Rebel Error 99
Old 08-18-2004, 04:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36266
Posts: 176
Comments: 0

IIsassi is offline IP: 24.167.38.37
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I did some research on DPReview.com in the Canon 300D forum. Error 99 seems to be related to issues with the lens contacts. Most of the threads indicate that you need to:
- power off the camera
- remove the lens
- remove the batteries
- clean lens contacts on camera and lens
- reinstall batteries, and lens

I realize yours happened with the Radio Slave but I figure it's worth a shot.


Israel
  View Public Profile Send a private message to IIsassi Find More Posts by IIsassi
 
Re: Canon Rebel Error 99
Old 08-18-2004, 05:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Biker by the Grace of God

 
dynamike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35237
Location: St Marys
Posts: 1,552
Comments: 0

dynamike is offline IP: 69.128.128.229
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Canon used a 7 point contact area for flash mounts. If your slave is not made to mount to that type of mount (it is a full area mount), then you'll get that error every time you mount the camera and try to release the shutter. To clear the error, remove the slave and power the camera off and back on. If you got the error, then that slave will not work with your Canon.

Mike
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dynamike Visit dynamike's homepage! Find More Posts by dynamike
 
Re: Canon Rebel Error 99
Old 08-18-2004, 06:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Member GG#: 38708
Location: Delray Beach
Posts: 66
Comments: 0

NavajoCoast is offline IP: 24.54.161.178
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I had a similar problem. I put on somebody else's radio slave (not a pocket wizard) and I got an error. I don't remember if it was error 99. I have a pocket wizard and the camera agrees with it.

D
  View Public Profile Send a private message to NavajoCoast Visit NavajoCoast's homepage! Find More Posts by NavajoCoast
 
Re: Canon Rebel Error 99
Old 08-18-2004, 08:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
JohnPaul
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 66.94.222.144
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote



From what I have heard, error 99 is a battery error message....even if your battery is fine, there is some sort of gremlin living inside your camera...because they all seem to work just fine when you don't need it to work... like when it is in the repair shop....but it will happen when you are in the middle of a big shoot...

I have a friend who owns ten 10D bodies...he is a school pictures shooter...and he employs a bunch of people who shoot underclass pictures all day long...and one out of the ten 10D bodies that he owns suddenly shut down and blinked "error99"...being right there when it happened, I thought I would be able to offer up a few helpful tips.....well, it stumped me... We tried everything... cleaning the contacts, sensor cleaning, cleaning the lens, switching lenses, changing power sources....and of course, removing the battery...and keeping it out for well over 5 minutes too... it would be eratic..it would work one secone then not the next... but all the other cameras that he had functioned just fine.. My friend Dan, he owns a 10D as well....and he had the same trouble,...at fierst he was able to fix it by removing the battery...but it just kept on getting worse, and worse...until it did nothing but crap out on him all together... He sent it in for repairs...and when he got it back, .....Good as New! ......doesn't that just suck! It looks like you were one of the unlucky ones with your D-Rebel... sorry guy! I hope they work these bugs out soon..

[img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]

JP
 
 
Re: Canon Rebel Error 99
Old 08-18-2004, 08:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
King of Useless Facts
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35691
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 499
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to StMarc

StMarc is offline IP: 169.207.244.175
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Error 99 means "Something isn't right. I'm not sure what it is, but something isn't right." It's a singularly non-helpful error code equivalent to "general fault" on a computer.

If it only happens when you try to mount the thingie, then the problem is that the camera can't talk to the thingie for some reason, and it's preventing the camera from operating properly.

M
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StMarc Visit StMarc's homepage! Find More Posts by StMarc
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minolta lenz on a Canon rebel body adapter? FIREBALLMODELS1 Tech Talk Forum 2 11-19-2006 09:01 AM
Nikon D200 and Sigma lenses. Driftwood Tech Talk Forum 9 01-05-2006 06:08 PM
Question about the Canon EOS Digital Rebel Earl_B Tech Talk Forum 18 12-22-2005 12:23 AM
Canon 20D versus Canon 350D (rebel XT) timxdrama Tech Talk Forum 12 06-17-2005 10:21 PM
Need some Advice Canon Digital Rebel Titan Tech Talk Forum 11 05-09-2005 01:57 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93