Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Nekkid woman and question (not about woman)
Old 07-30-2004, 12:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
riosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35686
Location: Harlingen
Posts: 196
Comments: 0

riosun is offline IP: 66.136.100.94
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote



Grid spot on face. Umbrella aimed at back from rear right. Light on legs from rear left.

The Question: I'm using a Canon 10D with a 550 flash. On the 550 is a Wein Sync-Link which triggers a Pro-Sync transmitter. It triggers a pro-sync reciever that is attached to a Vivitar 283 via a sync cord.

In the middle of a wedding the system suddenly failed. Both flashes fire but the 283's flash is not showing up in the image. Any ideas what's wrong?

Bruce
  View Public Profile Send a private message to riosun Visit riosun's homepage! Find More Posts by riosun
 
Re: Nekkid woman and question (not about woman)
Old 07-30-2004, 10:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
JohnPaul
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 66.94.222.41
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[ QUOTE ]


Grid spot on face. Umbrella aimed at back from rear right. Light on legs from rear left.

The Question: I'm using a Canon 10D with a 550 flash. On the 550 is a Wein Sync-Link which triggers a Pro-Sync transmitter. It triggers a pro-sync reciever that is attached to a Vivitar 283 via a sync cord.

In the middle of a wedding the system suddenly failed. Both flashes fire but the 283's flash is not showing up in the image. Any ideas what's wrong?

Bruce

[/ QUOTE ]

Hmmm... well, I would try to duplicate the condition in a controled environment / not on another job.. where you can track down what happened and where... from there, the things I would look at right away would be the sync cord.. I have had those go out on me before... they get "finiky" ...and in certain humidity volumes...and won't fire when they should... One of the things I try to avoid as much as I can... is multiple attachments...especially involving flash..

I hope you get the bugs worked out if it...because that sort of thing really stinks!

BTW, my shutter failed today on one of my 10D bodies... which is why I carry spares.....spares of everything.. spare cords, spare lighting, spare lenses...spare cameras.....Redundancy is helpful on the job... Yep! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Good luck!!

JP
 
 
New wrinkle to question
Old 08-01-2004, 07:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
riosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35686
Location: Harlingen
Posts: 196
Comments: 0

riosun is offline IP: 65.125.81.66
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Tried multiple sync-Links and transmitters. Problem seems to be with the 10D.

During experimentation process I would fire the 10D with 550EX attached while looking through the camera at the slaved flash. I could see the slaved flash fire which means that it was firing after the shutter closed.

Bruce
  View Public Profile Send a private message to riosun Visit riosun's homepage! Find More Posts by riosun
 
Re: New wrinkle to question
Old 08-01-2004, 08:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
John_Chennavasin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35330
Location: Orange County
Posts: 78
Comments: 0
Send a message via ICQ to John_Chennavasin Send a message via Yahoo to John_Chennavasin

John_Chennavasin is offline IP: 208.54.15.1
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Are you using the 550EX in E-TTL mode? If so, what is actually occurring is the 550EX is actually firing two flashes--one is the preflash to meter the scene, and the second is the actual flash to expose the picture. The slave is firing when it sees the first preflash. You will need to use both flashes in manual mode for the slaves to work properly.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to John_Chennavasin Visit John_Chennavasin's homepage! Find More Posts by John_Chennavasin
 
Re: New wrinkle to question
Old 08-02-2004, 12:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Bruce,

What shutter speed were you using at the time?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
shutter speeds I used
Old 08-02-2004, 01:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
riosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35686
Location: Harlingen
Posts: 196
Comments: 0

riosun is offline IP: 65.125.81.66
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

were all over the place. Everything from 1/90 to 1/20th of a second. Sync speed on the 10D is 1/200th

Bruce
  View Public Profile Send a private message to riosun Visit riosun's homepage! Find More Posts by riosun
 
Re: New wrinkle to question
Old 10-19-2004, 11:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36117
Location: Hiram
Posts: 141
Comments: 0

C_J_Samples is offline IP: 69.241.0.124
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[ QUOTE ]
snip... I would fire the 10D with 550EX attached while looking through the camera at the slaved flash. I could see the slaved flash fire which means that it was firing after the shutter closed.

Bruce

[/ QUOTE ]

Hi Bruce,
If you were able to see the slaved flash fire then that means the mirror was still down, hense the shuttle had not opened yet. Now the part that makes me wonder is that the setup was working thru part of the shoot. Could it be that the batteries in the 283 were strong enough to rapid fire matching the 550 and half way thru it could just not keep up?
On a side note, I was shooting a wedding this weekend. I had a cheap strobe off in the corner that I had used for the formals and I noticed in the photos of the reception, it was firing right along with the 550. I was shooting in ETTL, so not sure how I was capturing the flash from it in the photos, as I KNOW the cycle time for it was not that fast.

Hope you were able to solve your mystery,
Chris
  View Public Profile Send a private message to C_J_Samples Visit C_J_Samples's homepage! Find More Posts by C_J_Samples
 
Re: New wrinkle to question
Old 10-19-2004, 12:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
riosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35686
Location: Harlingen
Posts: 196
Comments: 0

riosun is offline IP: 66.138.255.178
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Chris,
I would se the flash fire after the camera had fired. I'm just going to have shell out $200 for another 420Ex (or whatever the model is) and a $150 for a Canon transmitter. I should be able to afford this about 2008.

Bruce
  View Public Profile Send a private message to riosun Visit riosun's homepage! Find More Posts by riosun
 
Re: Nekkid woman and question (not about woman)
Old 10-19-2004, 12:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Pro Shooter

 
jimmyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Member GG#: 38375
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,078
Comments: 2

jimmyd is offline IP: 69.75.179.155
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

sounds like pre-flash is triggering the vivitar too soon. are you using the 550 in manual mode? if not, there--most likely--is your problem.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to jimmyd Visit jimmyd's homepage! Find More Posts by jimmyd
 
Re: Nekkid woman and question (not about woman)
Old 10-19-2004, 01:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
riosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35686
Location: Harlingen
Posts: 196
Comments: 0

riosun is offline IP: 66.138.255.178
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You're right. I'm using the 550 in ETTL mode
Bruce
PS I like your new avatar
  View Public Profile Send a private message to riosun Visit riosun's homepage! Find More Posts by riosun
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93