Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
HELP PLEASE !!!! Newby color management/workflow question
Old 07-24-2004, 07:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

Member GG#: 36366
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to sharfman

sharfman is offline IP: 66.210.170.241

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

I am an old film/slide shooter making making the transition to digical printing. While I am not an expert yet, I have gotten reasonably facile printing my B&W using MIS Associates inks. Howver, I traded a friend some images for some of her art and she wanted some color prints. Normally, I would just send the negs to my favorite lab however she requested some PS magic so I need to print everything on my printer. The problem is getting the printed image to look more like my monitor image.

I have an ICC profile that I am using as I am running Epson paper and Ink. My stock Dell monitor is set at 6500 with all the gammas at 2.2. The problem is that the color is close but no cigar and the printed image is darker than the screen image. Note I am printing on my trusty Epson 785 which as essentially the same printer engine as my 1280.

My question is - short of buying a calibration device and its attendent software, is there anything in PS I can set to get the screen image closer to the printed image.

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.

regards

mark sharfman
  View Public Profile Send a private message to sharfman Find More Posts by sharfman

Re: HELP PLEASE !!!! Newby color management/workflow question
Old 07-24-2004, 08:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

Member GG#: 37789

Allen_P is offline IP: 68.1.70.45

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!