Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
1000W?
Old 07-20-2004, 03:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
djyeo80
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 4.29.68.202
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hi,
I have a photoflex starlite kit 1000W continuous light. My next photoshoot will be in a hotel suite, does anyone know if hotels electrical outlet in the US allow you to use up to 1000W of light? Thanks.

 
 
Re: 1000W?
Old 07-20-2004, 08:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Amateur

 
jford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35246
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 2,726
Comments: 7

jford is offline IP: 144.80.193.138
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Just as I clicked "Reply" I realized that I can't answer with absolute certainty, because I'm not entirely familiar with the electrical code for commercial sites, however ...

Most interior electrical circuits have a minimum of a 15 amp breaker, usually 20. That corresponds to 1800 and 2400 W loads, respectively. So, assuming that there's nothing else operative on the same circuit, you should be OK. However, that could easily be an invalid assumption, especially in older construction.

Also, 1000 W generates quite a bit of heat. Watch yourself and your model, not to mention flammables.

  View Public Profile Send a private message to jford Visit jford's homepage! Find More Posts by jford
 
Re: 1000W?
Old 07-20-2004, 08:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
King of Useless Facts
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35691
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 499
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to StMarc

StMarc is offline IP: 67.100.161.234
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

People routinely use their own hairdryers in hotels: most hairdryers draw that much power or more. 1000W is just not that much power. Turn off the TV and any lights you don't need, and you should be fine.

Make sure you don't get the hot lights near anything that might smolder or burn. They have no sense of humor about that *whatsoever.*

M
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StMarc Visit StMarc's homepage! Find More Posts by StMarc
 
Re: 1000W?
Old 07-20-2004, 09:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
djyeo80
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 4.29.68.202
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks StMarc and jford, I'll make sure there is nothing else operating on the same circuit and bring a fire extinguisher just in case. I will only be using one main light with reflectors as the fill.
 
 
Re: 1000W?
Old 07-20-2004, 10:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
DavidMoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36994
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 1,802
Comments: 0

DavidMoyle is offline IP: 67.123.59.126
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

To be safe, go out to Sams Club and look for a large-gage (fat) extension cord with a 4-plex (4 plugs) box that has a circuit breaker switch on it (I believe thay come as a set, but the two are seperable) I've used this with my hot lights, and never have I blown a circuit.

If you wanna be real safe, get one for each light and plug them all into seperate wall sockets.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DavidMoyle Visit DavidMoyle's homepage! Find More Posts by DavidMoyle
 
Re: 1000W?
Old 07-20-2004, 11:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
djyeo80
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 4.29.68.202
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[ QUOTE ]
To be safe, go out to Sams Club and look for a large-gage (fat) extension cord with a 4-plex (4 plugs) box that has a circuit breaker switch on it (I believe thay come as a set, but the two are seperable) I've used this with my hot lights, and never have I blown a circuit.


[/ QUOTE ]

Is this surge protector?
thanks for the tips!
 
 
Re: 1000W?
Old 07-20-2004, 11:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
DavidMoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36994
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 1,802
Comments: 0

DavidMoyle is offline IP: 67.123.59.126
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

It's essentially the same thing, except with a higher rating than the ones you get in Office Max. It basically has an on/off switch and a breaker that pops if the fuse is overloaded, protecting both the lights from a surge and the building from blowing a cicuit if the cicuit is overloaded.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DavidMoyle Visit DavidMoyle's homepage! Find More Posts by DavidMoyle
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93