Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Location Flash Equipment
Old 07-08-2004, 06:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

First off, no, I'm not asking what type of London Fog trench coat to wear.

I am wondering what you are using for location flash equipment when there is no AC available. Currently I am using three vivitar 283 flashes and I am looking for something different preferably that has a bare tube option.

I know there is the vagabond system for Alien Bees and I have a couple AB800s. But carrying those things out on location along with a heavy battery unit to power them just doesn't seem like a fun idea.

Does anyone have experience with the Sunpak 120J? If so, how well does it work for you? I am not so much interested in the TTL features as I am just using it with the various power levels and metering. I am just not confident of reflected light from subjects that aren't 18% grey, especially when shooting digital.

Thanks for the input.
Daryl
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
Re: Location Flash Equipment
Old 07-08-2004, 06:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
**DONOTDELETE**
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 24.214.88.188
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I used the 120-J for several years on location. I carried a spare battery pack.

I now use Norman 200B units. They are cheap on e-bay, rugged and have plenty of power.

 
 
Re: Location Flash Equipment
Old 07-08-2004, 07:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for the information Rich.

The 120J doesn't look terribly sturdy, but then again I am currently using 283s one of which I purchased used a decade ago and they have never died on me even after falling from lightstands several times when wind caught the umbrellas. Did you have any problem with the 120J as far as durability?

Actually I found out about the 120J from someone who learned about it from you. I didn't ask how exactly, I assume she must have been in one of your workshops. Small world.

Thanks,
Daryl
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
Re: Location Flash Equipment
Old 07-08-2004, 08:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
**DONOTDELETE**
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 24.214.88.188
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

The 120-J can feel cheap. And I did have a problem with the high voltage cable (one of the wires broke inside) around the connector. I had to solder it back together and then put insulation around it.

The unit is very light and mine has been thru alot of abuse. I still carry it with me when weight/size is an issue. Still going strong after 5 years.

I try to baby it but it still gets alot of abuse.

For the size and money, it's a strong workhorse.

I have also used Metz CT-60's but they don't have the bare-bulb feature thst I use alot.

 
 
Norman DC powered flash units
Old 07-09-2004, 01:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
JohnPaul
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 66.94.220.86
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote



That's what I use for location light... everything that is in my portfolio that wasn't done in the studio or at a place where I could plug in my lights, was shot with Norman 200B or 400B kits.. They are work-horses and dependable. .....and they come with a variety of accessories or other manufacturers make accessories for them.. like Calumet makes a ring flash, Chimera makes a soft-box adaptor.. You can shoot them with bare bulb or with a diffuser too.. Oh, and all I do is tape the gels to mine.. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]


Now, let us know when you have bought them and show us some examples.. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

JP

 
 
Re: Location Flash Equipment
Old 07-09-2004, 10:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Oddly Irritating

 
ErnieR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35404
Location: Paragould
Posts: 260
Comments: 2

ErnieR is offline IP: 68.92.66.31
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I use an Elinchrom Ranger. It's a 1100 wattsecond light that I can power down to 16 wattseconds that is very dependable and sturdy. When I don't need that much power I use a Quantum T2D powered with a turbo battery.

Dyna-lite has a new battery pack out that will power any AC light. Link It's pretty powerful but it weighs 23 lbs. The upside is that you don't have to buy new lights to use with it.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to ErnieR Visit ErnieR's homepage! Find More Posts by ErnieR
 
Re: Location Flash Equipment
Old 07-09-2004, 11:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
joey61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member GG#: 37617
Location: Orange
Posts: 97
Comments: 0

joey61 is offline IP: 24.30.168.128
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hensel Porty. Either symmetrical or assymetrical
Hensel
  View Public Profile Send a private message to joey61 Visit joey61's homepage! Find More Posts by joey61
 
Re: Location Flash Equipment
Old 07-10-2004, 10:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
JohnPaul
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 66.94.222.195
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[ QUOTE ]
I use an Elinchrom Ranger. It's a 1100 wattsecond light that I can power down to 16 wattseconds that is very dependable and sturdy. When I don't need that much power I use a Quantum T2D powered with a turbo battery.

Dyna-lite has a new battery pack out that will power any AC light. Link It's pretty powerful but it weighs 23 lbs. The upside is that you don't have to buy new lights to use with it.

[/ QUOTE ]

Now,.... You just got me salivating! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img] Hmmmmm.......Yummy! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

I saw this power pack thing from Dynalight and thought about plugging in my strobes...for something like 1200.00 a pack, which is about the same price as the Norman 400B kit anyway, I can use more powerful lights which have a lot more control...

I change my mind...if you happen to already have AC strobes, pick up one of these packs.. I just mentioned my Norman stuff because I already own a bunch...Yep!

JP [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Going Digital Advice ABosio Tech Talk Forum 18 09-30-2003 10:06 PM
Equipment cases for location lighting. RBP Tech Talk Forum 7 04-13-2003 09:54 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93