Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Please Help me solve my ringflash problemo
Old 06-27-2004, 11:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 36834
Comments: 0

afrocreep is offline IP: 64.230.173.131

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

You may wish to scroll down and read the short version at the bottom:

Sorry but the subject of ringflash has been bugging me so much for over 2 years i'm on the edge of blowing a wad of cash on a super over powered sytem.

First off let me say I only shoot digital, i only plan to shoot digital. I don't know if that makes a difference because i have no film experience, but i thought i'd point that out.

It seems to be that these power packs are WAY over powered and I only really need like 100 to max 200 w/s. Am I right or am i Insane, And considering i shoot at like 6-10 feet away from the model i seriously do not need a lot of juice, and then i saw a video which i have included some caps below:

This guy is at about the distance i shoot at. I am assuming the ring on the bottom is so the subject doesn't go blind

Any recommendations, i was thinking that a Sunpak ringflash meant for macro might cut it because its close. But other than that I saw some ringflashs for smaller norman packs but those packs seem old and just as expensive as the new 1200 - 2400 packs. Again am i insane or is this for real?

There must be a way to get the good $1000 ringflash that CAN handle a lot of watts (which is good for upgrading later) but have a smaller pack with only the juice i need?