Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Larger screen for viewing digital
Old 06-21-2004, 05:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Does anyone know if any of the Professional DSLRs have an option for attaching an external LCD panel to preview images?

It would sure be nice to carry around something like a 6" LCD panel that could be plugged into the camera to view the images. I realize you could bring along a laptop, but with my D30 to view on my laptop I have to take the CF card out of the camera, put it into the PC card slot on the notebook, convert the raw image to something viewable and then look at. All that while the model is standing around. I find the 2" display too small to tell where the nose shadow is for instance.

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
Re: Larger screen for viewing digital
Old 06-21-2004, 09:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35195
Posts: 440
Comments: 0

rjwarren is offline IP: 12.145.192.117
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Rolando was demonstrating his Olympus E1 hooked up to a video display during the Dallas workshop. Very nice! I've also seen the Fuji S1/S2 hooked up to a TV set -- so it can be done!

Bob
  View Public Profile Send a private message to rjwarren Visit rjwarren's homepage! Find More Posts by rjwarren
 
Re: Larger screen for viewing digital
Old 06-21-2004, 09:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
King of Useless Facts
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35691
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 499
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to StMarc

StMarc is offline IP: 67.100.161.234
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Almost all digicams have a Video Out port, which usually involves a 1/8" plug that goes into the camera (for cameras that also record sound, this is stereo and the other channel carries the audio) and an RCA plug that carries composite video.

For digicams with live preview, this can be used as a composition monitor, as the video-out just carries whatever the LCD screen shows. I used this once to take some self-portraits - I had a video monitor pointed at me so I could see what the camera saw, and used a remote shutter release. For cameras with review only (like a dSLR) you can review the pics on a video screen with it. I know my EOS 300D has this feature.

So, getting back to your question, you can hook any monitor that has RCA composite video-in to your camera and use it for display purposes. This would include many portable TV's with both LCD and CRT displays. With an S-Video converter, some laptops can even do this.

Alternatively, you could see if there's browser software available that would let you hook your camera's serial (USB) port to your laptop and review the images without downloading them.

M
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StMarc Visit StMarc's homepage! Find More Posts by StMarc
 
Re: Larger screen for viewing digital
Old 06-21-2004, 12:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for the tip. I am going to try hooking my video out to a TV this evening. I am not sure what kind of resolution is going to come out of it though. I tried using a loupe on the viewfinder but it didn't really help since it just magnified the pixels.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
Teathered.
Old 06-21-2004, 08:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
RBP
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 207.69.140.21
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Try shooting teathered.
 
 
Zoom
Old 06-21-2004, 11:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member

 
JonScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 37850
Location: Portland | Dallas
Posts: 834
Comments: 1
My Mood:
Send a message via MSN to JonScott Send a message via Yahoo to JonScott

JonScott is offline IP: 66.129.202.98
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Maybe a dumb suggestion considering your question, but doesn't your camera's review feature include pan and zoom?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to JonScott Visit JonScott's homepage! Find More Posts by JonScott
 
Re: Teathered.
Old 06-22-2004, 06:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for the suggestion Robert,

Unfortunately the USB connection is just way too slow for this on the D30. I may have to upgrade to something with firewire.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
Re: Zoom
Old 06-22-2004, 06:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hi Jon,

There is an option to zoom in, but it only shows the image in quadrants. You can't scroll the image, you can only view view it in blocks. Do other DSLRs have the ability to actually scroll the image? That would definitely be a helpful feature.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
Re: Teathered.
Old 06-22-2004, 09:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
RBP
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 207.69.140.22
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

USB 2 High Speed is about the same speed as FW. Just don't get USB Full Speed as that is actually the old USB 1

Is your camera or computer using low-speed USB 1 a/ka/ USB 2 Full Speed? Can you try it with USB 2 High Speed computer?
 
 
Re: Teathered.
Old 06-22-2004, 10:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Unfortunately, all of the Canon DSLRs that have USB use the USB 1.1 standard rather than the 2.0. I'm not 100% certain, but I am pretty sure the USB 2.0 specs didn't come out until after the D30 had already been designed.

I guess I'll have to save up for that 1D MKII so I can get firewire [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

I am going to try the video out on a portable video screen to see if I can see more detail on it than on the LCD.

Hey, I will be available and in Charleston on the 26th if you still need an assistant.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Film Vs Digital mray Tech Talk Forum 41 11-02-2011 11:28 AM
Canon EOS 30D Digital SLR Camera & Canon....$550USD upsales Model Topics 1 07-07-2010 11:02 PM
Funny with politics and this is intended no jabs wsheldon50131 Main Community Forum 0 11-09-2006 11:14 PM
FlashTrax Digital Wallet RBP Tech Talk Forum 0 05-23-2003 04:12 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93