Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Dedicated Flash Units
Old 06-17-2004, 07:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I am currently trying to decide whether or not to purchase a dedicated flash for my Canon D30 (Yes, I have a D30. I purchased it 2 years ago and I'm not upgrading just because there is new stuff out).

Currently I use a couple of Vivitar 283s on location outside. I use one for a a fill flash on a lightstand of to one side about 18" or so higher than the camera most of the time. The other I sit on a light stand usually to one side of the model to use as a kicker light when I want that type of effect. I control these using Pocket Wizards.

I am wondering whether or not to use a dedicated TTL unit as the fill flash at the camera. Has anyone used both manual and dedicated? If so, is there that big an improvement using the dedicated?

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
Re: Dedicated Flash Units
Old 06-17-2004, 07:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
mfharper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35664
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 710
Comments: 1
My Mood:

mfharper is offline IP: 67.20.120.218
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

dman,
I used the vivitars for years before going digital. I've been using the 550 ettl with my d-60. At first it was very frustrating. The exposure control built in the camera leaves a lot to be desired. If you focus then recompose like most people do, you will have very inconsistant exposures unless you use the flash exposure lock button, which sends out a preflash and locks in the exposure. I've managed to get decent exposures but it is still less then perfect. I'm in the process of going back to my 283's for critical work. I just get much more consistant results. If you have the money to burn, I would go ahead an pick up a dedicated unit just for the learning experience. It's the wave of the future after all, but I'll bet your not going to like it very much.
Mark
  View Public Profile Send a private message to mfharper Visit mfharper's homepage! Find More Posts by mfharper
 
Re: Dedicated Flash Units
Old 06-17-2004, 09:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for the input Mark.

Those are the kinds of learning experiences I definitely do not need. I have never used one of the automatic units before. Of course, before my D30 I had never used an automatic anything. I had an AE-1, a Bronica ETRs, and a Mamiya RB67. I guess I did use the auto exposure on the AE-1 a couple of times, but usually metered with an incident meter and shot.

I think I will put the money in to a VP-1 module for my 283s.

Thanks,
Daryl
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
Former D30 user here..
Old 06-19-2004, 12:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
JohnPaul
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 66.94.222.39
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote



Yep...and I bought it back when I could buy two of my 10D bodies for the pricve of my D30 [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] and sold it for the same cost of my repairs to it to replace the shutter, PC socket and hot shoe.....$432.00 Crap!

Anyway, Yes I have used both E-TTL and Manual flash exposure modes on the 550 EX flash.. The Manual distance scale is way off....totally over rated...best to do your own tests to see what you will actually get......and as far as shooting white..;.or bright subjects... be prepared to over expose 1.5 to 2 stops to get the exposure right or you will have a yucky mess...when shooting normal sublects, I always have them set to + .5 i8f I am covering an event where the only light used will be from my flash.. If I shoot someone wearing a block gown... I have to - 1 stop to get it correct.. Canon flashes are not the best... Nikon's aren't perfect either.. I have worked side by side shooting sports with PJ's who I hear cussing out their SB's too..

My favorit flash is the Quantum Q-Flash which has a new feature which can be used with E-TTL flash exposure..and I'll bet it rocks.. I have the old version ... model "x" which is used with my 1n Cameras which have just the TTL flash metering..

BTW, nice pic! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

JP
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WB setting for strobes? LePhotography08 Tech Talk Forum 13 01-09-2008 09:48 AM
K numbers / color of the Flash units ??? Zakd Tech Talk Forum 2 08-15-2007 11:18 AM
Going Digital Advice ABosio Tech Talk Forum 18 09-30-2003 10:06 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93