Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Main Community Forum
 

Main Community Forum General Modeling & Photography Forum
Adult posts prohibited!>>Please Read Our GUIDELINES before posting!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Error message on uploading image...
Old 02-02-2011, 10:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RHWeiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Member GG#: 37106
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada
Posts: 717
Comments: 29
My Mood:

RHWeiner is offline IP: 207.6.150.221
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

"Sorry, RHWeiner: Bad Type - File is of the Wrong MIME Type"

Huh? The image is a jpg and I believe is within the pixel dimension limits. What's this about a MIME type?

Richard W.
__________________
"Beauty is more than skin deep"
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RHWeiner Visit RHWeiner's homepage! Find More Posts by RHWeiner
 
Re: Error message on uploading image...
Old 02-02-2011, 11:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Founder Garage Glamour™

 
rolandogomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Member GG#: 1
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,772
Comments: 10
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to rolandogomez

rolandogomez is offline IP: 72.179.146.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Richard,

We've only had one other person with this problem. What we found out MIME type is on your end, not ours. Do a google and research MIME type. This used to be a very common problem, in the old days, with AOL, but it's gone beyond that. It's on your end, something you changed, did on your computer or your provider. Nothing we can do on this end. Thanks, rg.
__________________
Photographer & Author author of five photography books. My newest book is Socially Smart: Twitter Plus Facebook, Marketing Multipliers And Brand Boosters Click here for My Tweet Workshop Information and the Photo Blog
  View Public Profile Send a private message to rolandogomez Visit rolandogomez's homepage! Find More Posts by rolandogomez
 
Re: Error message on uploading image...
Old 02-03-2011, 12:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RHWeiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Member GG#: 37106
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada
Posts: 717
Comments: 29
My Mood:

RHWeiner is offline IP: 207.6.150.221
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Okay I'll check it out. I'm doing this on a 'newer' computer with Win 7 and I think that MS hasn't really been on top of things. I've got issues with external drives and thumbdrives that access the computer via USB. Basically they aren't being recognized. They do work on the old computer with XP! Weird.

And, of course, Win 8 will be in the wings soon enough....probably with more Window Dressing and Bells/Whistles but no better stability! Frig...gimmee DOS again.

(a bit later)...
Well that was useless...sure there's lots about MIME type via Google but a quick glance didn't show anything that looks like the problem here.

Just for your information there's another thread here about someone not being able to upload but there's a workaround and I used it to upload an image in the Nude section. So I'm not so sure it's not on your side. I'll see if I can find the thread.

...found it...
It's from mfharper in the "I'm not on a rant" thread in the Main Community...

there are actually two portfolio systems on this site, but one appears to be broke for most people. The only way I can currently get images to post is on my profile. First make sure your images are 600 pixels on the long side. Go to your profile, on the right side of the page click on show all albums, click on add album, name it something, then click okay.

I did as suggested and circumvented trying to upload via my photos area.
__________________
"Beauty is more than skin deep"
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RHWeiner Visit RHWeiner's homepage! Find More Posts by RHWeiner
 
Re: Error message on uploading image...
Old 02-03-2011, 12:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Founder Garage Glamour™

 
rolandogomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Member GG#: 1
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,772
Comments: 10
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to rolandogomez

rolandogomez is offline IP: 72.179.146.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I just updated my Mac so it will run the latest programs, works like a champion, plug and play...once you go mac, you never go back, besides, macs are made for photographers
__________________
Photographer & Author author of five photography books. My newest book is Socially Smart: Twitter Plus Facebook, Marketing Multipliers And Brand Boosters Click here for My Tweet Workshop Information and the Photo Blog
  View Public Profile Send a private message to rolandogomez Visit rolandogomez's homepage! Find More Posts by rolandogomez
 
Re: Error message on uploading image...
Old 02-03-2011, 01:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RHWeiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Member GG#: 37106
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada
Posts: 717
Comments: 29
My Mood:

RHWeiner is offline IP: 207.6.150.221
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

This may be true about Macs and Photogs but I am also a Drafter so I have AutoCAD and Inventor loaded on this computer. I believe that AutoDesk has finally made AutoCAD for Mac but I know nothing of it and I'm not about to try to switch over for that. I'm pretty sure that Inventor isn't Mac either.

Besides which I've got many programs I use...all Windows O/S based. A suggestion to migrate would be similar to saying "Change from Canon to Nikon"...too expensive to consider and too much of a headache, too.

Anyway, like I said earlier, there's a workaround as noted by mfharper...and it works.
So you may still want to check the coding in the program. Why does the front door not work but the back one does?
__________________
"Beauty is more than skin deep"
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RHWeiner Visit RHWeiner's homepage! Find More Posts by RHWeiner
 
Re: Error message on uploading image...
Old 02-05-2011, 05:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
johnw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35352
Location: Alpharetta
Posts: 104
Comments: 0
My Mood:

johnw is offline IP: 65.13.24.8
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I'm getting the same message and I have not changed any setting or the way I upload images. Not until recently have I had this problem with GG, Have no problem uploading images to any other site. I'm on a mac and have been for the past 7 Years.

Message I get

Bad Type - File is of the Wrong MIME Type
  View Public Profile Send a private message to johnw Find More Posts by johnw
 
Re: Error message on uploading image...
Old 02-05-2011, 05:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Moderator

 
PhotoDave1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 51075
Location: Tampa
Posts: 407
Comments: 1
My Mood:
Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoDave1

PhotoDave1 is offline IP: 173.170.231.246
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

MIME handshakes with SMTP which is the backbone of Internet mail applications. The SMTP standard is tightly controlled but MIME is not and can vary widely between applications. Even different ISP's can be running different MIME versions. This is probably why certain members encounter problems in uploading images to the GG Forums.

For me, even though it involves a few extra steps I always upload my images to my Member Talent Portfolio here on GG and then post then to the Forums for viewing and I have never encountered a problem.

Hope this helps.
__________________
3031 Photography
Tampa, FL
GG#: 51075
deallen313@yahoo.com
Skype IM: DAllen3031
Twitter: ThePhotoPro1
Web Page: www.flickr.com/photos/3031photography/
Gear: Canon EOS 40D w/Grip + EOS 1N w/Grip; Tamron 28-70mm F2.8; Tamron 70-200 F2.8; Canon 430EXll
  View Public Profile Send a private message to PhotoDave1 Visit PhotoDave1's homepage! Find More Posts by PhotoDave1
 
Re: Error message on uploading image...
Old 02-05-2011, 06:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
johnw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35352
Location: Alpharetta
Posts: 104
Comments: 0
My Mood:

johnw is offline IP: 65.13.24.8
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I'm trying to upload to my members portfolio but will not let me! As I indicated had no problem in the past.

I get the message of wrong MIME type when trying to upload to my Members portfolio.

This site is the only one where I have problems uploading images.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to johnw Find More Posts by johnw
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
72 dpi myth moscato_images Tech Talk Forum 17 12-01-2006 07:37 PM
Raw Shooter Premium 2006 dynamike Tech Talk Forum 4 10-31-2005 08:10 PM
Image resolution question... Gunfitr Tech Talk Forum 8 02-20-2005 11:19 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93