Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Main Community Forum
 

Main Community Forum General Modeling & Photography Forum
Adult posts prohibited!>>Please Read Our GUIDELINES before posting!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Connect DSLR to PC
Old 09-17-2008, 01:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Member GG#: 58572
Location: london
Posts: 63
Comments: 0

smtalha is offline IP: 90.205.62.196
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hi,
I have seen a number of photographers who connect their D-SLR to their laptops or Macs. This allows them to take photographs and dirctly see them on the computer screens.

I am trying to find out as to what hardware and software do I require to be able to connect and and view photos as I take them on computer screen.

Can anyone guide e to the right direction. Cheers.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to smtalha Find More Posts by smtalha
 
Re: Connect DSLR to PC
Old 09-17-2008, 03:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

 
bc_shutterbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member GG#: 48023
Location: Courtenay
Posts: 172
Comments: 1

bc_shutterbug is offline IP: 70.66.213.67
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

First questions... which camera and PC or MAC?

My Canon cameras came with software for both, and I make regular use of the EOS Utility to shoot tethered to my laptop (PC on Windows Vista). As I understand it from reading around various boards, you may require additional software if you're shooting Nikon, but I'm not 100% certain on that point.

I hope this of some help...

njw
  View Public Profile Send a private message to bc_shutterbug Visit bc_shutterbug's homepage! Find More Posts by bc_shutterbug
 
Re: Connect DSLR to PC
Old 09-17-2008, 03:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Member GG#: 58572
Location: london
Posts: 63
Comments: 0

smtalha is offline IP: 90.205.62.196
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hi and thanks for your prompt response.
I have to check, I think I did get a cd with my dslr but ive to check what exactly it contains. I have a semipro Fuji9500. I have both WinXp and iMac. what hardware do i need for e.g. special cable? etc
  View Public Profile Send a private message to smtalha Find More Posts by smtalha
 
Re: Connect DSLR to PC
Old 09-17-2008, 04:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Moderator

 
SteveB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member GG#: 35840
Location: Highland Mills, NY
Posts: 564
Comments: 0
My Mood:

SteveB is offline IP: 74.36.19.23
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I am not aware of any point and shoots (non DSLR's) that can shoot tethered. Of course that isn't a 100% guarantee, however this is one of the many reasons people do chose DSLR cameras is for this type of flexibility when shooting. It is a software / firmware function that most DSLR's have either in the box or with upgraded software. You may want to check Fuji website and see if they have information on how to set up your camera to work thethered.
__________________
Remember, photography is supposed to be fun!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to SteveB Visit SteveB's homepage! Find More Posts by SteveB
 
Re: Connect DSLR to PC
Old 09-17-2008, 04:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member

 
bc_shutterbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member GG#: 48023
Location: Courtenay
Posts: 172
Comments: 1

bc_shutterbug is offline IP: 70.66.213.67
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Like Steve said... check out the Fuji website and Manuals for more detailed directions, but with the Canon 20D and 30D I use right now (and most Canon DSLRs from what I've read) you install the supplied software on your computer, connect your camera with the supplied USB or Firewire cables (Depending on which model camera you have and what interface it comes with) and turn everything on. Since I don't use the camera to USB connection to actually transfer images (I use card readers and other software to collect and organize my photos) when I connect my cameras to the computer, it auto launches the EOS Utility and is ready to shoot tethered.

I hope that your experience is as simple.

Cheers

njw
  View Public Profile Send a private message to bc_shutterbug Visit bc_shutterbug's homepage! Find More Posts by bc_shutterbug
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why spend thousands on a DSLR... RHWeiner Main Community Forum 6 03-13-2010 01:50 AM
DSLR Sensor Cleaning Recommendations... TimH Tech Talk Forum 4 09-22-2007 10:12 PM
Medium format v. dSLR Carpe Imago Tech Talk Forum 10 04-09-2006 03:47 PM
dslr advice digijp Tech Talk Forum 11 08-04-2005 07:20 PM
Advice sought on waterproof housing for Canon dslr. **DONOTDELETE** Tech Talk Forum 9 06-02-2005 11:29 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93