Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Main Community Forum

Main Community Forum General Modeling & Photography Forum
Adult posts prohibited!>>Please Read Our GUIDELINES before posting!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Complete Rookie needs advice
Old 04-03-2007, 09:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 40444
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to inhifistereo6

inhifistereo6 is offline IP: 74.134.107.175

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Ok, I've been reading this forum off-and-on for a few years now. When I joined back in 2004 I was an undergrad at ISU. Since then I have graduated, had a year of work experience, decided that I hadn't had enough of college, and have since returned to graduate school. For reasons beyond me I did not invest any time or money while I worked full time into photography, and I have only recently begun to re-immerse myself in it.

I have become insanely jealous of all of you for far too long and its time I get into the action once-and-for-all. I have little to no money ($200) and I figured who better to ask for advice then all of you. So . . . you are now me and you are interested in this insanely expensive thing we call photography, how do you spend your piddly sum?

Do you troll around ebay?

Visit pawn shops?

Donate plasma and wait till your bank account grows?

Add on top of that the whole film vs. digital conundrum. It would seem inherent that the choice would have to be film in this scenario, but things are not always as they appear.

And lighting setups? Grad school is expensive people! I'll have to make do with shop lights and cardboard wrapped in aluminum foil. [Can anyone say fire hazard?]

So, any suggestions for a wannabe with champagne tastes, but a bottled water budget?