Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Main Community Forum
 

Main Community Forum General Modeling & Photography Forum
Adult posts prohibited!>>Please Read Our GUIDELINES before posting!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Question...How do you
Old 12-02-2006, 06:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Member GG#: 55922
Location: Charleston
Posts: 17
Comments: 0

WhatsamattaU is offline IP: 75.108.221.143
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

digitize (transfer) 35mm slides onto a computer? Any help would be very much appreciated.

I have a brand new computer and want to take many of my old slides, transfer them and then be able to PS some of them.

Thanks,

Greg
  View Public Profile Send a private message to WhatsamattaU Find More Posts by WhatsamattaU
 
Re: Question...How do you
Old 12-02-2006, 06:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Vic Naumann
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member GG#: 40216
Location: Germantown
Posts: 735
Comments: 37
My Mood:

Jagdoc is offline IP: 69.138.20.39
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You can buy a dedicated slide scanner, or buy a regular flatbed scanner that comes with a slide holder. I used a regular scanner and converted hundreds of my father's images from slides to digital files, then put them on CDs for my sisters.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Jagdoc Find More Posts by Jagdoc
 
Re: Question...How do you
Old 12-02-2006, 09:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,691
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 76.186.138.200
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

The dedicated slide scanners are usually easier and faster to use for slides than the flatbed units. One critical factor may be the condition of the slides. Often the scanners units that have ICE built in will save you tons of time and make really great scans. No matter what route you go you're in for a lot of work and you need to also take into consideration hard drive space. You are going to be dealing with file sizes that can reach 100mb plus per slide depending on how much resolution you scan them at. So also look into one of the external hard drives for storage. I often see them for about $80 for 250gb (after a rebate).
Cheers,
rfs
__________________

"The map is not the Territory"
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Nikon Cool Scan 5
Old 12-02-2006, 10:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member

 
wsheldon50131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41629
Location: Johnston
Posts: 160
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to wsheldon50131 Send a message via Yahoo to wsheldon50131

wsheldon50131 is offline IP: 12.215.44.64
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I use a Nikon Cool Scan 5 and it works great. It will not work with xp 64 or 64 bit computers from my understanding yet. I run mine through a mac ibook, yes I bought this laptop just to run it, and I do this with 1 gig or ram. These things all eat ram no matter what you purchase.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to wsheldon50131 Visit wsheldon50131's homepage! Find More Posts by wsheldon50131
 
Re: Question...How do you
Old 12-03-2006, 10:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ed Peters

 
epeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 37945
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 302
Comments: 0

epeters is offline IP: 65.193.202.162
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Find somebody who is near you and will loan you their film/slide scanner.
__________________
Eat safe, use condiments.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to epeters Find More Posts by epeters
 
Re: Question...How do you
Old 12-03-2006, 12:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member

 
eoym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member GG#: 48366
Location: Golden Valley
Posts: 228
Comments: 0

eoym is offline IP: 24.118.115.224
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

It might be simpler and more economical to just take the slides to a pro lab and have them do the scanning for you.

Unless you intend to do a lot of scanning in the future why bother with the expense of buying a quality scanner?

If you do decide to take them to a lab, I'd recommend that you start out by just having them scan a few slides so you can judge the quality of thier work. But most likely their scans will be better then what you could do yourself unless you invest lots of money....and time learning how to do it.
__________________
Dean Johnson
www.eyeonyoumodels.com
www.supershoots.com
  View Public Profile Send a private message to eoym Visit eoym's homepage! Find More Posts by eoym
 
Re: Question...How do you
Old 12-03-2006, 04:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
photoshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35411
Location: Bloomingdale, IL
Posts: 273
Comments: 12
My Mood:

photoshooter is offline IP: 67.163.86.244
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Dean;
That's very good advice, why make the investment to scan father's slides when the same could be done by a professional lab. Of course, it would be even wiser to get a quotation for certain number of slides. Tha lab's rates may be set for peple who bring a 1 to 3 rolls of film, but if he tells them he has few hundred slides they may give him a price break.



Quote:
Originally Posted by eoym View Post
It might be simpler and more economical to just take the slides to a pro lab and have them do the scanning for you.

Unless you intend to do a lot of scanning in the future why bother with the expense of buying a quality scanner?

If you do decide to take them to a lab, I'd recommend that you start out by just having them scan a few slides so you can judge the quality of thier work. But most likely their scans will be better then what you could do yourself unless you invest lots of money....and time learning how to do it.
__________________
Everybody loves a camera, but the camera loves back only a few, they are the photogenic ones.

  View Public Profile Send a private message to photoshooter Visit photoshooter's homepage! Find More Posts by photoshooter
 
Re: Question...How do you
Old 12-03-2006, 10:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Member GG#: 55922
Location: Charleston
Posts: 17
Comments: 0

WhatsamattaU is offline IP: 64.12.116.65
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for the info. I had no idea it was such an effort and expense to do this. I will likely just have them scanned by a pro.

Thanks again.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to WhatsamattaU Find More Posts by WhatsamattaU
 
Re: Question...How do you
Old 12-04-2006, 03:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Member GG#: 55922
Location: Charleston
Posts: 17
Comments: 0

WhatsamattaU is offline IP: 64.12.116.65
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Checked with an area lab that is by far and away the most advanced I have easy access to. Very professional.

They scan slides for 75 cents each (4x6 at 300 pixels per sq. inch). Which includes "color correction, etc".

If I want larger, they can go up to 10x15 (300 pixels per sq. inch) for $4.45 each.

I will be honest that I am in the dark on this. How does that sound?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to WhatsamattaU Find More Posts by WhatsamattaU
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tech question - Film - darkroom / in camera - HDR c_canade' Tech Talk Forum 2 05-15-2008 08:59 PM
Answer a Photo Question then leave a Photo Question? rolandogomez Main Community Forum 35 12-02-2007 07:00 PM
Answer to question on sensor size vs crop factor Brad Tech Talk Forum 17 01-02-2006 10:40 PM
A question on digital use due to JT's question jford Tech Talk Forum 11 12-03-2002 06:58 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94