Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Main Community Forum
 

Main Community Forum General Modeling & Photography Forum
Adult posts prohibited!>>Please Read Our GUIDELINES before posting!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Monitors
Old 08-16-2006, 06:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Wrlss911Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Member GG#: 40667
Location: Cumming
Posts: 113
Comments: 0
My Mood:

Wrlss911Pro is offline IP: 72.145.184.187
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I am thinking about picking up a new monitor in the couple of months. My neighbor, the IT manager, recommends that I pick up at least 20" monitor for graphics. Any other thoughts, things to look for?

I am running a Windows system.

I am also thinking about getting the Microtek i900 scanner, does anyone have any experience with Microtek scanners?

Thanks in advance!

Paul

Paul Fletcher
Arrow Photography
Cumming GA
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Wrlss911Pro Find More Posts by Wrlss911Pro
 
Re: Monitors
Old 08-16-2006, 09:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Aspiring Photographer

 
CatCynic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 50625
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 432
Comments: 0

CatCynic is offline IP: 60.224.6.218
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I've just been evaluating my options in this area, so I can pass on what I learned:

If you can afford it, an ideal today is one of the fairly new Eizo 22" LCD panels that can display the entire Adobe gamut - the CG221 - they are awesome, but so is the price... (a Canon 5D is about 2/3 the price of this monitor!)

Eizo make other LCD panels that are considerably cheaper, but still excellent, and they are designed for colour correct display, which is what we need, right?

Make sure, if you choose an LCD panel, that you get one that's 8bit, or better (there are a few 10bit panels). A 6bit panel will compromise your ability to see correct colours.

The reason your neighbour suggested at least a 20" panel is because almost every panel under 20" is a 1280x1024 panel (15", 17", 19" - all the same resolution). Once you get over 19" you can get higher resolutions: 1680x1050, 1920x1200, 2560x1600 (careful - often requires an expensive video card), and even more (if you have $10k+ to spend, there are some scary options available - 4kx3k, anyone?)

Don't forget, you also have the option of going for multiple monitors - I like this option - I have Adobe Bridge open on one screen, and Photoshop on another. Can also be handy to have the Photoshop palettes on a different screen from the image (more image space!). The second screen does NOT have to be as expensive as the first if it is only holding palettes, etc - can use a comparatively cheap panel as a second screen without compromising on your ability to work.

Oh, and consider buying a screen calibration tool, too - they have become much more affordable in the last coupla years.

FWIW
  View Public Profile Find More Posts by CatCynic
 
Re: Monitors
Old 08-16-2006, 10:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Wrlss911Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Member GG#: 40667
Location: Cumming
Posts: 113
Comments: 0
My Mood:

Wrlss911Pro is offline IP: 72.145.184.187
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for the info!

Yeah, Huey is on my list. Top rated and only about $70-80!

Thanks again.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Wrlss911Pro Find More Posts by Wrlss911Pro
 
Re: Monitors
Old 08-16-2006, 10:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Evangelical Ne'er-do-well

 
ChipBulgin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42306
Location: Severna Park, MD
Posts: 482
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to ChipBulgin

ChipBulgin is offline IP: 68.55.197.148
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrlss911Pro
--snip--
I am also thinking about getting the Microtek i900 scanner, does anyone have any experience with Microtek scanners?

Thanks in advance!

Paul
They are pretty good as far as flat-bed scanners go, but I think Microtek has been surpassed by Epson in this department. What do you want to scan? If it's just 35mm consider a dedicated film scanner. If you want to scan multiple formats then a flatbed like the i900, Epson 4990/4990Pro or Epson V700/V750M-Pro will give you decent results at a comparatively inexpensive price.

-Chip
__________________
People who do stupid things with dangerous substances often die! -me
  View Public Profile Send a private message to ChipBulgin Find More Posts by ChipBulgin
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitors moscato_images Main Community Forum 1 06-14-2006 08:36 PM
Portrait Monitors RodB Tech Talk Forum 2 04-04-2005 03:33 PM
Color management between monitors and to Web issues Lmorales Tech Talk Forum 8 01-17-2005 07:53 PM
ViewSonic Monitors MikeV Tech Talk Forum 7 11-14-2004 08:56 AM
A Question About CRT Monitors Ed_Quigley Tech Talk Forum 2 09-30-2004 09:18 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93