Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Main Community Forum
 

Main Community Forum General Modeling & Photography Forum
Adult posts prohibited!>>Please Read Our GUIDELINES before posting!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Question here no pic
Old 02-05-2006, 10:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StanTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36777
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 568
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to StanTom

StanTom is offline IP: 24.239.87.117
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Went out today and stopped in the cord camera store , they had a sandisk 2gig CF card for $110 ( 121- 12 rebate
could not pass it up

I use the Lexar 80x gold professional 1gig cards
this is a Ultra II 2gig

Question; Which do YOU prefer , and any bad experiences with either ???

( since I got the Fuji S3 I THINK I lost about 3 out of 300 using my Lexars- when I looked at the folders on the computer they read 0 bytes )
I MIGHT have turned off the camera before it finished writing

ps. I have used these Lexars from the start in the D100 and never noticed any problems- formatted them first thing before using in the new camera-

  View Public Profile Send a private message to StanTom Find More Posts by StanTom
 
Re: Question here no pic
Old 02-05-2006, 10:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
tommymc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36369
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 273
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to tommymc

tommymc is offline IP: 205.188.116.196
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I shoot with the Lexar 80X and never had a missed shot. I think your right about shutting down your camera and not letting it finish writting.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to tommymc Visit tommymc's homepage! Find More Posts by tommymc
 
Re: Question here no pic
Old 02-05-2006, 10:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
J T Smith

 
jtsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35390
Location: Pittsfield
Posts: 882
Comments: 0

jtsmith is offline IP: 12.45.209.149
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

The S3 still writes before shutting down on the S3 when powering down.

J T



  View Public Profile Send a private message to jtsmith Visit jtsmith's homepage! Find More Posts by jtsmith
 
Re: Question here no pic
Old 02-05-2006, 11:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StanTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36777
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 568
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to StanTom

StanTom is offline IP: 24.239.87.117
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I kinda got to go with JT , the camera keeps writing even if you turn it off

BUT I might have turned it off and took the card out (oops) [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StanTom Find More Posts by StanTom
 
Re: Question here no pic
Old 02-05-2006, 11:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StanTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36777
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 568
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to StanTom

StanTom is offline IP: 24.239.87.117
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I tried it on purpose and the light stayed on , so it does finish writing

I might have opened up and removed the card before it was done(NOT going to test that out) , but I think it was the first number file each time not the last

If I pay attention next time I use more than one card and watch the numbers and one losses a file - it will get tossed before it has a chance to get worse !!

  View Public Profile Send a private message to StanTom Find More Posts by StanTom
 
Re: Question here no pic
Old 02-05-2006, 11:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
J T Smith

 
jtsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35390
Location: Pittsfield
Posts: 882
Comments: 0

jtsmith is offline IP: 12.45.209.149
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You open the back door and you will shut it down, yes.

J T
  View Public Profile Send a private message to jtsmith Visit jtsmith's homepage! Find More Posts by jtsmith
 
Re: Question here no pic
Old 02-06-2006, 12:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StanTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36777
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 568
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to StanTom

StanTom is offline IP: 24.239.87.117
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Don't remember if I did,I might have
But I am thinking it was more like one file three different times , even I can't be that absent minded ???
or can I ?
If it doesn't start taking those JT-esque headshots soon I am going to take it out back and shoot it ( I keep getting bad cameras )
[img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StanTom Find More Posts by StanTom
 
Rain on your parade...
Old 02-06-2006, 01:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
____________
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35406
Location: Bogus
Posts: 947
Comments: 0

Al_Nowak is offline IP: 68.77.111.33
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I don't mean to rain on your parade, and I may be the one all wet, but...

I seem to recall having seen a chart for the S2 and S3 CF card compatibility recently that indicated they couldn't use 2 Gig and above cards. I think that was on one of the Fuji sites, but won't swear to it. I do remember it catching my eye though... Probably something to do with the BIOS.

Have you loaded the card into your camera and checked to see if that extra gig is really available?

<center>

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Al_Nowak Find More Posts by Al_Nowak
 
Re: Rain on your parade...
Old 02-06-2006, 05:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StanTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36777
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 568
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to StanTom

StanTom is offline IP: 24.239.87.117
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Rain is better than snow !
I just threw it in , instead of 330 pics it shows 660
So I guess it works, just went to dpreview and it said the s2 and s3 work up to 4 gig

will fully test it out nest weekend
Thanks
Stan
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StanTom Find More Posts by StanTom
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tech question - Film - darkroom / in camera - HDR c_canade' Tech Talk Forum 2 05-15-2008 08:59 PM
Answer a Photo Question then leave a Photo Question? rolandogomez Main Community Forum 35 12-02-2007 07:00 PM
Answer to question on sensor size vs crop factor Brad Tech Talk Forum 17 01-02-2006 10:40 PM
A question on digital use due to JT's question jford Tech Talk Forum 11 12-03-2002 06:58 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93