Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Main Community Forum

Main Community Forum General Modeling & Photography Forum
Adult posts prohibited!>>Please Read Our GUIDELINES before posting!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Agents, Agencies, and other Vultures
Old 10-18-2005, 06:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 42194
Comments: 5
Send a message via AIM to Titan Send a message via Yahoo to Titan

Titan is offline IP: 207.200.116.195

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

I went to a meeting with a model agent today. Since I'm new in the Mid Michigan area, I thought I might do a bit of networking and accept her invitation to see her studio and what not.

I have a few girls that I've shot with that asked me about representation, and I told them that I'd see what I could find out.

I asked this agent 3 different times, if she charged for representation. Each time she said no.

3 times. No was her answer.

I look around her studio, and I'm not too impressed, I have after all been in Ralph Haseltine's studio, so it's gonna take a lot to impress me.

near the end we talk about representation.

I ask her what the process of representation is, and she says that in order to be represented, the model has to be listed on their website, since that's where most of their clients come from.

Sounds reasonable to me.

Most of my models have portfolios ready to go, shouldn't be a problem. I say.

RED FLAG!!! You could hear her mind switching gears.

She tells me that in order to be on their website, they have to be shot by their photographer.

RED FLAG 2!!!

Seeing where this was going I just ask her THE QUESTION,

And how much does that cost the model?

$450.00

Some how we went from no fee for representation, to 450.00 to be listed.

I this how all agencies work? Is 450.00 too much to ask to be listed or represented?